We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Maui - central to Kaanapali and Lahaina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Maui - central to Kaanapali and Lahaina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My family and I - after much consideration - chose this hotel as our initiation into Maui. In fact, we had never been to Hawaii before prior to this trip.

As most Hawaii-travelers know, there are really two areas of Maui where one can stay at in resorts - Kaanapali (Northern Maui) and Wailea (Southern Maui). Wailea is a more expensive, touristy, golf-swinging area of Hawaii whilst Kaanapali is a more local approach as it is close to the cultural/historical town of Lahaina.

Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa is located right next to Black Rock which makes it ideal for those looking to snorkel and inspect reef/tropical underwater life. It's a nice beach although quite crowded to say the least. The hotel itself is nice, clean, and rife with friendly/helpful staff but it's a bit old-fashioned and basic. One of the best features of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa is there is a large area in the lobby filled with staff that can expertly plan and cater your days/adventures in Maui to however you so choose. We booked our horseback riding at Ironwood Ranch in Northern Maui through them and gratefully gained pointers from them about how to drive the infamous Road to Hana.

Needless to say, Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa was a great choice for us although my family and I weren't so enamored with it that we'd stay in it again - if we were to come back to Maui, we'd probably experiment with another hotel although Kaanapali/Lahaina was definitely a fantastic area.

P.S. Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa is also very close to the small Hawaiian island of Lanai - the staff can help book a ferry for you there where you can tour the island and swim in the Lanai dolphins!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,329
    1,015
    395
    147
    98
See reviews for
623
1,597
41
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room was a bit aged but comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly. I loved the ocean view that my room offered. I appreciated that this hotel is located at the end, which means there's less foot traffic from guests staying at other hotels. It's also great that this hotel is also family friendly and safe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a nice stay and enjoyed the location of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Overall impression- Great hotel! Great location! Great Beach!

Check in- easy, fast, helpful. We arrived in our rental car and used valet Because its included in your daily fee for the first day. We checked in and had a great experience. Knowledgeable staff, we had booked an ocean view room but after requesting to see its location on the resort map we opted to upgrade all the way! Ended up with deluxe ocean front room in building 6. They did not pressure us. I was the one who inquired. Valet was extremely helpful too. Very easy process. When they found out we were celebrating our 8th anniversary they got us a voucher for a complementary small bottle of champagne. Nice touch!

Room- building 6, room 6207. Amazing. Breathtaking. Fabulous. Room was tasteful, spacious and well equipped. Had microwave, fridge, balcony with large area for 2 chairs and table. Unobstructed view of water, two islands, and spectacular sunsets. I believe that your sq feet of your room depends on what you purchase, ours was the largest. And we felt it was a good size. I had read before on trip advisor that some guests were complaining about the distance to the food, beach, etc. you are on vacation. Enjoy it! The walk takes 5 min and there are beautiful grounds and views along the way.

Food- we bought the breakfast package before going so we had the breakfast buffet each morning. It was so good and had great choices for even the picky eater. I did see it was expensive to wait to buy your meal there. Save on it and see if your able to buy it before hand. We bought our travel package thru Costco.

Beach/snorkeling- from the sheraton to the Hyatt I walked and I never saw a better beach than in front of the sheraton. We snorkeled here too. Read it was the best place to go. It was great! Tip- rent from somewhere other than at the resort. We did maui dive co and spent $20 for a week where the hotel was $20 day!! Sand was so soft. A great change for us as east coasters! You do have to pay if u want want a chair on the beach.

Shopping and other dining- we walked to whalers village, food and shopping there. We the at hula grill, Leilani's and drove to star noodle (check out reviews- prices reasonable and a great dinner) no view. Front street was great. We ate at cool cat

Pool- nice. We didn't have to fight for a chair. Had some pool floats and lots of winding areas to explore at the pool.

Parking- we had our own parking lot if you were in building 6. I joked that even he parking lot had a 10 million dollar view

Checkout- easy. Used the remote on tv for it. Easy!


Enjoy. It's nice because its not 20 floors high and is spread out. It doesn't feel cramped like other mega hotels.

Room Tip: Building 6!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are very delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your room in our Moana building. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Kansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Overall a good hotel. I am a starwoods Gold member so this is why I choice the Sheraton. Great location and beach access. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were OK but the overall property was very nice. A little pricey, you can probably find a nice condo for cheaper

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback and for being a loyal SPG member. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our beautiful resort and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

A fabulous hotel in a great location at Black Rock. Stayed here for 5 nights in July 2013. Got upgraded to a deluxe ocean front room in Building 6 for a reasonable fee. A spacious room with the most beautiful ocean view, especially of an evening sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine watching the beautiful sunset. Only downside of this was the fairly long walk to the main area of the resort. Must also mention the super comfy bed.
A beautiful pool area, most loungers were taken early in the day, half the time no one was on them, only a towel. Something should be done about this, I know it happens at all resorts though.
Drank at poolside bar most nights whilst watching fabulous cliff diving ceremony.
Only 5 min walk along beachfront to Whalers Village, a lovely little shopping centre with lots of nice bars and restaurants. Also found the free shuttle to downtown Lahaina very handy.
All in all a great stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to our Moana building. We appreciate your feedback about our pool chairs and will share it with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back our resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

EXCELLENT friendly & very clean hotel... WELL kept!
We had a beautiful ocean garden & ocean front view...housekeeping was excellent
There is a mini fridge in the room as well as a microwave/counterspace
We brought our own cereal for the mornings/milk/bread etc...so that we could relax in peace and have breakfast
Patio was awesome in the morning over looking the ocean.
Never heard noise, it was peaceful & perfect!
Room service is extremely expensive.. I recommend getting take out sometimes and coming back to the room if you want to relax outside on the patio!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. It's great to hear how wonderful your stay was at our beautiful resort. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just finished 10 days at the Sheraton here and had a great time! Along the way we encountered a couple of issues but those would happen anywhere. The staff and location made up for any problems we may have met...which was very little. The staff was friendly and accommodating! The location was within walking distance to many shops and food in Whaler's Village, or the resort had shuttle service to Front Street in Lahaina. Thanks Sheraton for a great vacation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay and that our staff was friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.