We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Sheraton location has the best area of the Kaanapali beach in my opinion with wide open spaces. We enjoyed most of the amenities and the self parking garage was convenient. The only thing I found lacking was the breakfast buffett, order off the menu.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of our resort and your stay. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    987
    383
    145
    96
See reviews for
611
1,562
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and location good but value not there expected more for the money. Do not eat there plenty of good restaurants very close by that do not charge an arm and a leg. Go to CJ's in the fairway shops off Kakka Dr or walk down to Whalers Village. For the money should have stayed at the Westin even closer to Whalers Village and nicer hotel better pools for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay. We are happy you enjoyed the location of our resort. We appreciate your feedback and will review it with our team. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The resort has a great location. We stayed on the SPG level up on the the cliff. Even though the room was a little far from the main resort area, the lanai opened up into an excellent view of the pacific and lanai islands etc. As soon as we entered the resort we were greeted by the amazing ocean breeze! It was very refreshing.The theme continued through the breezeways of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a moment to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Moana building on Black Rock. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
672 reviews 672 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
1,358 helpful votes 1,358 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just completed a 1 night stay here. We actually rented a condo on the beach on the South side of the island in Wailea and it was fabulous but we also enjoy Kaanapali so we booked a few nights in hotels in Kaanapali so the kids could enjoy the pools here. (Going to the beach everyday can get old when you have 2 toddlers).

We stayed 2 nights at the Westin and had such a fabulous time towards the end of our trip we wanted to spend another night so we could enjoy the area some more. The Westin was totally booked so we decided to book the Sheraton. There was plenty of availability and I'm a Platinum SPG member so I used some points. I found it a bargain to book a room with only 16,000 points.

I booked a normal room but with the Platinum status they upgraded me to an ocean view room. We got a room on the ground floor which made it really convenient as we were barely in the room and it made it easy going to the pool/beach. If you do Maui right, you will barely be in your hotel room. Just to shower/sleep.

The beds were comfortable enough and the staff was friendly. However, they really need to change their towels. They were HORRIBLE and falling apart. The beach towels they give out are 100 times better. They really should address this issue as the towels are in poor shape (at least the ones in our room).

Checking in was a breeze. We arrived early in the morning and were expecting our room wouldn't be ready but they upgraded us as mentioned. They gave us the keys and we checked in and just went to the pool. Their pool area is ok. Just a small area to play for the kids. They have a VERY tiny slide. But really this pool isn't that fun for young kids compared to the Westin that has the big water slide that our kids loved.

The grounds are really HUGE and beautiful with tons of palm trees and lots of grass. They have a fish pond around the restaurant area that is very beautiful (see photo that I took).

Like most hotels in the area, they have a daily "resort fee" which was around $30 per night. It covered the self parking as well as free Internet access with it. They also have valet parking which is free (just tip the guys).

The last day we stored our bags and enjoyed the pool and beach. We inquired if they had a guest suite that we could shower and change after using the pool. They said they don't have a hospitality suite (unlike the Westin which allowed us to use a suite to shower/change as Platinum SPG member). But they did offer the gym to shower/change after our day at the beach. They gave me a key to the fitness area but to be honest we didn't use it and just drove home.

All in all it's a nice property. It's not as convenient as the Westin location wise as it's at the end of the beach. So Whaler's Village is a longer walk. But all in all it's a fine property with friendly service. (They just need to replace their guest room towels).

If you are an SPG member it's a bargain to redeem miles and they seemed to have endless availability.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort and enjoyed Ka'anapali. We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to review it with our team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have taken our kids to Maui 4 times and stayed at the Sheraton 3 times and the Westin once. We love the Sheraton. However, having had two other great rooms with great views then getting an "Ocean View Deluxe" that only had a tiny view if you stood at the end of the balcony was a disappointment. I believe this was room 2411. I was not happy but they changed us to a beautiful "Ocean View Deluxe" room the next day. We tend to eat breakfast and lunch in the room every day so we probably spend more time in our room than the normal person. That is why it was so important to me to have a nice room with a view. This is why we go to Hawaii.

Yes, as others mentioned the towel situation was not good in terms of wanting a towel around 4:00 and they had run out. I don't understand how that could not be better coordinated but it didn't ruin my trip.

The grounds are beautiful and it was full but never felt crowded, maybe on the beach.

We were also there when the alarm was pulled at 4:30 am. It is not fun waking up and running around the room trying to figure out where your clothes are. As another reviewer mentioned we didn't really hear what the problem was (probably a teenager pulling the alarm?) but we did receive a note under the door apologizing and a message left on the phone. I'm sure it could happen to anyone but it did give me a mini heart attack and I wondered if a Tsunami was coming.

I'm still missing Maui and the Sheraton. We love it and will return. It's not a high end hotel but definitely worth it for us to stay there.

Room Tip: We rented an umbrella and two chairs from Snorkel Bobs for $35 a week. We didn't have to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our front desk team was able to get you into a room of your liking. We apologize for the small inconveniences you experienced and will be sure to review them with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort for your next Maui vacation.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family (incl 3 adult kids) stayed for 5 days and loved the resort. Rooms were good, restaurants fine and several other restaurants and shops are within walking distance. Only oddity is the fitness centre which has ok equipment but is really hard to find , hidden away at the back of one of the buildings on an upper floor.

We'd stay here again without hesitation when we return to Maui.

Room Tip: Go for rooms with a view they are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the location of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa.

We are a family, two adults in their early 30s with a 2.5 year old boy. We're from Australia and were looking to escape our winter here.

I was a little bit concerned after reading mixed reviews about the Sheraton in Maui but we used SPG points to book a suite and I am so pleased that we chose the hotel. We stayed 6 nights and wish we had stayed longer.

Our checkin was probably the worst experience, we had been awake for the best part of 34 hours and wanted an early check-in (requested when we booked). Unfortunately, it wasn't provided and we were told we would be called once our room was ready, we weren't. Eventually we were able to check in after 3pm.

We were assigned room 2305 which was a junior suite with an oceanview and pool view. The suite had two large rooms (one living and one bedroom), a walk in closet, a large bathroom and a large balcony with seats, table and a lounge. The decor was pleasant and I loved the size of the room as it meant our two year old wasn't cramped, we could store our luggage and stroller in the large cupboard and the view was lovely.

I think the room may have been refurbished recently which was great.

We found the service at the hotel great. The valet service was usually quick, the cleaners were fairly thorough and room service was fine.

A few people have commented that they couldn't get pool towels but we never had an issue. The pool was great fun with our son, it never seemed crowded although it was a bit cold at times.

The beach was lovely and we didn't find it too crowded.

We ate at Teppanyaki Dan which we found great, having said that we didn't pay for it, we were provided a voucher as part of the timeshare presentation we went to (be warned, if you get a message saying you have a gift that's the timeshare invitation). We had breakfast at the restaurant twice and were quite happy with that. Most days we just ate from the Starbucks cart and had breakfast and coffee on our balcony.

We visited the gym once and it seemed very well appointed. We didn't use the spa (we were very relaxed at the hotel so we didn't seem to need a treatment).

We loved our time at the resort.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your junior suite. We look forward to welcoming you back again for your next Maui vacation.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.