We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We celebrated our 30th anniversary at the Sheraton Maui. The location of the property is perfect for snorkeling. We were very pleased with the staff. If I had to give the hotel any advice, I would say they should provide a better route to walk from building 6 to the pool and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful stay at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    1,077
    421
    164
    114
See reviews for
674
1,694
46
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (730)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd time staying at the Sheraton Maui! It by far has the largest beach area in Kaanapali. The grounds are beautifully maintained, always room at the pool, concierge is very helpful, maid service is consistent, and just a short walk to Whalers Village, about 10 minutes. Our favorite part is that everything is in walking distance, yet Sheraton sits at the end of the strip of hotels, so the property remains quiet at night. The shuttle service is very handy when visiting Lahaina, especially if you are attending a luau that offers unlimited cocktails! We visit all of the hotels in this general vicinity each year to try new restaurants, and we agree each year that Sheraton Maui is still #1. You cannot go wrong with this property, I promise you. We look forward to our 4th stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our second honeymoon and loved every minute. The location is prime. The beach right outside our room was great for snorkeling (which we love) and many times I didn't even have to go very far to be greeted by sea turtles.

Nearby they have a lot of great dining and a shopping center that the hotel's shuttle will take you to for free.

The staff was friendly and welcoming. At check-in, we were offered complimentary champagne to celebrate our honeymoon. Nice treat.

Bottom line: The hotel is perfect if you want a great, relaxing location to hang out at the beach and the pool. It's not pretentious and is great for both families and couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We've been to Maui before but never at this resort, and we will definitely return here again. Our stay was wonderful! Yes, it was expensive, but worth it for a resort/spa on Maui, which is already more expensive than most places we've been simply because it is Maui. The resort fee is noted upfront on booking, so I don't know what the gripe is about for others complaining about the daily fee (do your research, folks!). Everything costs more here, which we found out when shopping anywhere on the island. But if you are going to Maui's northwestern shores, this is the place to stay.
Our reception was warm, friendly, and helpful about the amenities here. The concierge desk was helpful and stayed on question when asked. About the timeshare--just say no firmly, and they leave you alone (at least they did for us). The Black Rock Restaurant at the resort was superb--their dinners rated as well as others in the same category, if not better, and the service was outstanding at all our meals (which were many). We were there for ten days, and each day was a pleasure. The grounds were lovely and well kept. We only saw maintenance crews late at night. The pool was magnificent, and I am a swimmer who usually prefers the ocean (which was terrific and right on the property's edge). We rented a cabana twice and had a great time on the shore, too. Black Rock is right on the north side of the property, and nightly you can watch the diving ceremony from the bar grills on the ocean edge. We also went to the luau on the property and it was our favorite of the three luaus we attended with this trip.

The only issue, which is minor, was that the maid forgot to refill our room coffee supply twice when her substitute was there. Our regular maid found out and gave us triple the amount of coffee supplies to make up for it. How can one complain about that?

Overall we were thrilled with the experience here at the Sheraton and would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone. We definitely enjoyed our stay and will return again.

But if you are looking to save money on Maui, this may not be the place for you. It is expensive, but not anymore than other resorts we checked out here. As a resort/spa in Maui, near Lahaina (you can easily walk to Whaler's Village for excellent shopping), it is top-notch and by far a nicer property than anything nearby. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I am extremely disappointed in this hotel as I have previously had excellent experiences at Starwood properties in Hawaii including the Royal Hawaiian and the Sheraton Waikiki. Where do I start.. this hotel is clearly trading on its location.

Apart from a lovely girl at check and the house keeping the customer service is non existent. As a customer you are treated more like an ATM with the hotel charging for everything including water, you are called every day from the Starwood Vacation time share sellers telling you to come down and get a "free gift" which is a ploy for wasting your vacation time trying to get you to part with even more money. Activities such as "stand up paddle board lessons" are literally 5 minute dry land demonstrations and then you can "hire a board for $35 an hour", yoga lessons are $10 per participant. The pool is freezing and there are not enough beds and shade for all of the customers staying there. Worst of all the hotel for some unknown reason (even though I had paid upfront to stay there) took almost double the amount of money that we owed for the remainder of the stay (resort fees etc) meaning for the last 4 days of our trip we were out by close to $1,000 and couldn't afford to do anything which we had planned.The hotel does not advise in writing or verbally that they do this. We tried to work out a refund first with Grace and then with Michael and both could not do this, advising that they could not provide a cash refund..why not? they took our cash on a visa debit card which we then couldn't use for the rest of the trip!! We spent close to three hours of our vacation with three separate staff members trying to sort out the hotels' mistake to no avail. When I suggested they might provide a free meal or drinks for the night as we could now no longer buy them ourselves I was told they couldn't do this...We are now back from our trip and have still not received our "refund".

I recommend paying some additional money to stay at the Four Seasons (with all the add ups at the Sheraton you might as well) or going to the Kanaapali Beach Hotel down the road for half the price with some beautiful grounds and amazing service. We experienced both when we dined and drank at these other hotels.

The Sheraton Maui really needs to address this double/triple authorisation issue as it can ruin vacationers stay, they also really need to empower staff to treat customers well and be able to solve their problems in an efficient way.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and for the misunderstanding you experienced with your debit card. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I are regular Maui visitors and stay at Sheraton Maui once or twice a year for the past several years. Location at Black Rock is the best there is - great beach, nice pool, and easy access to other areas at Kaanapali. Rooms are good. The property is older and some rooms are quite small, but all have the same look and feel. Things I love about Sheraton Maui: location, access to beach walk, cocktail service and food service at the pool, decent breakfast buffet, access to Lahaina, valet staff is always good for local recommendations. Once you get here, you don't really need a car as you can walk to other areas on Kaanapali and/or there is regular shuttle service into two areas of Lahaina. Things that bug me about Sheraton Maui: Birds at breakfast are annoying - some waitstaff are more diligent about covering plates with crumbs but the birds are really aggressive. Food service at the pool gets old after a couple of days - not sure why they don't have a daily special salad and daily sandwich special to mix it up. It's fairly easy to walk to Whaler's Village (try the Mexican restaurant at the Whaler's Village food court as they make delicious sandwiches). Menu at the main restaurant also gets old after a couple of days, but Whaler's Village has several nice options, as well as other resorts. Paper wrist bracelets at the pool are annoying - notate my room number and stop bugging me. Chaise lounges at the pool are always saved with beach towels...for hours at a time. Why doesn't the pool staff get aggressive with removing the towels after no one there for an hour? It's not rocket science.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experiences and feedback. We are pleased to hear you are regular Maui visitors and enjoy our property. We will be sure to review your feedback with out team and share it with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort on your next Maui vacation.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned home from a 7 day family vacation in Maui. Could not be happier with our hotel experience at the Sheraton Maui. We upgraded to a Ohana Suite upon our arrival and it was a very nice room with plenty of space for my family of 4 (almost 700 square foot). Our room was also conveniently located close to the pool and close to the parking garage (which is nice if you self-park). The room was clean and had 2 TVs. The only thing more that I could have asked for was larger beds. They only offered 1 king bed or 2 full size beds. We chose 2 full size beds, which was a bit cramped for our tastes. 2 queen size beds would have been a better option.

PROS:
Located directly in front of Black Rock beach (perfect for snorkeling and beach activites)
Located within easy walking distance to Whaler's Village (lots of shopping/good restaurants)
Located next door to a nice golf course (didn't try it tho)
Located within a 10 minute drive to downtown Lahaina (even more shopping/good restaruants)
Beautiful Pool (great for kids)
Large room (the Ohana Suite room is roomy and has a large balcony!)
Offers a Luau on Mon., Wed. and Fri. evenings (went to a different luau that was already booked)

CONS:
2 full size beds are cramped for a family of 4 (including 2 teenagers)

Bottom line is that you can't go wrong with this hotel choice. I definitely recommend staying on this side of Maui (near Lahaina) b/c it usually has good weather and plenty of good beaches/restaurants/shops.

Room Tip: The Ohana Suite costs more, but its worth it for the extra room and to be conveniently located next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the convenience of the Ohana Suite. We appreciate your honest feedback and will be sure to review it with the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.