We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major Anniversary” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #22 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Major Anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved absolutely everything about this hotel, especially the rooms. When we arrived, the only room available at our price point was one with two double beds. We spent the first night in this room and the second day we were upgraded to a king bed room on a high-level floor with an unobstructed ocean view room for a upgrade charge. The deal was still great given the amenities of the room. The room was smaller than the double bedroom but had an unobstructed view of the ocean and the beach from the room and from the balcony. The balconies are huge and a large glass sliding door opens nearly 60% to make you feel like you have a larger room connecting into the balcony. We often kept this door open to allow for the ocean breeze and the ocean sounds to enter the room. The hotel is on the best beach in Maui and is on the best corner of the best beach in Maui. It is next to Black rock which is known for its, waters, an awesome snorkeling. We saw a variety of fish, sea turtles, and at one point we saw the rare monk seal who climbed up on short to sleep on the beach. It was an amazing trip. I agree with other reviewers that the food at the hotel can be expensive. However, this is true of all the resorts on the side of the beach since it caters to tourists. The way we helped manage this was by eating at the poolside bar, walking less than five minutes to Whalers village where there is a food court and other restaurants, or driving less than five minutes to Lahaina downtown. We also made a stop at the local Safeway grocery store and stocked up on snacks for the room as well as noodles that we could heat with the hot water from the coffee maker. Most of the rooms have a refrigerator and wireless Internet. I believe only the suites have a microwave. Overall, I expected it to be expensive as it is an expensive part of the island and with that I was able to come up with a plan to save money whenever possible. The room and the staff were amazing and we would definitely stay here again. The property is quite large and thus at times it can be a long walk from your car to your room. However, I feel that this made this resort feel less crowded than other resorts that we visited while we were walking along the beach.
I will admit that the upgrade of the room made the entire experience 10 times better than the initial budget room that we signed up for. The advantage of upgrading at the hotel is that you can get the higher level room for a lower price assuming it is available. However, you run the risk that if there are no rooms available you will have to stay with your lower budget room. Despite that even this room was still nice overall. It is the best location in Kaanapali in my opinion.

Room Tip: As mentioned by other the resort food is expensive. We ate at the pool bar which was Maui resonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful anniversary, and that you enjoyed your room upgrade as much as you did. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,792 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,262
    944
    361
    135
    90
See reviews for
573
1502
40
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first trip to the Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa and we were delighted with our experience. We paid for an Ocean View upgrade for the two nights we were there and it was totally worth it. We were in building/tower 4 on the 5th floor and overlooked both the pool and ocean. We arrived too late for dinner, but enjoyed their buffet breakfast the next morning, including made-to-order omlettes. The buffet variety was excellent but was more than we wanted to pay for what we can eat, but most items on their menu were equally expensive. Tip: Some guests accomodations included breakfast coupons which were definitely a huge savings. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The large lanai included a table and two chairs with views to die for. The lanais aren't the most private but we enjoyed talking with our neighbors who had been repeat visitors. The $30 daily resort fee includes in-room wi-fi; our connection was consistent and the reception was strong. The resort fee also includes the valet parking for the first night which was priceless because the distance to the rooms can be lengthy from the self-parking area. If you need TV, there were many channels to select from in comparison to other places we've stayed. Staff were friendly, knowledgable and accomodating and the grounds clean and well maintained. Hosting events is very common for these resorts so be prepared to share resort space or check ahead of time to avoid conflicts. If the pool isn't available, I suggest snorkeling the Black Rock area. We swam with schools of fish, heard whales sing, and enjoyed a turtle making a dive from the surface. Sub-compact and compact cars are definitely easier to park in the tight parking spaces available in most of the West Maui area. It's a beautiful place to relax and unwind with much Aloha.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay at our resort. We will be sure to share your kind words with our team and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, just a short walk along the beach to get to Whaler's Village with great shopping, some fast food and a few nicer restaurants. The beach is crowded, but that's because it's so beautiful. Saw giant sea turtles very close to shore numerous times. Very close to Lahaina city center and many more activities.

We had an ocean view room, which had stunning views (we were on the 5th floor). Unfortunately, our balcony was tiny and had no chairs/table, although our reservation indicated it would have both. But we could open up the door and let the fresh air in which was lovely.

We paid for the morning buffet. It is pricey, but wow, the varieties of fresh fruit and muffins/breads, cooked foods was wonderful. Sitting on the restaurant patio eating a big breakfast was a great way to start the day, and we often didn't need to eat much for the lunch meal as we were so filled up at breakfast.

The pools were cold (not heated) so we didn't swim much (it wasn't really hot when we were there). The hot tub was very, very hot and felt great. The staff was accommodating and helpful (except for the first morning when we went to the buffet - the night clerk hadn't given us our buffet coupons - and the hostess there was rude enough that some other guests mentioned it to us the next day). The property is absolutely stunning.

The rest of the staff, especially the breakfast waiters/waitresses and housekeeping, were very friendly and made our stay very nice.

Room Tip: We were on the end on the 5th floor, and our balcony was the smallest of any we saw in any of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time so share your experience and feedback with us. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the lack of customer service by the hostess and will be sure to follow up with our F&B team on this matter. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sheraton and had another wonderful experience. We always book the Deluxe Ocean Front - you are in building 6 which is hike from the other facilities but has the most amazing views and is so quiet. One of the other big advantages is the small gated parking lot that you have to use your key to access. That means that you can always find a spot and it is close to the building.

We found things to be much the same as previous years - comfortable, well maintained accommodations with a great location. No complaints at all about the resort or its condition. The resort was very full and overall it never felt crowded - expect by the pool and on the beach. Further comments on this below.

Our maid service this year was outstanding. The first day she figured out our schedule and always made a point of having our room done by the time we came back from a walk and breakfast. Sweet, friendly and did a great job. Everyone we encountered throughout our stay was terrific.

The only other complaint has to do with cabanas - both at the pool and on the beach. They used to have some of the cabanas by the pool on the grass but that area is now roped off. Those cabanas are not on the edge of the pool and take up the space of a significant number of chairs. I understand these are prime spots but the pool area gets pretty crowded already and this has further limited the number of chairs available.

On the beach - the attendants would put the large cabanas at the front edge of the sand which means that the view for anyone not using one of those was completely blocked. It was a very busy time on the beach and made the process of finding a decent spot more difficult. Would it be that bad to move them back just a bit so there is room for people on the sand and people in the big cabanas? I know they are managed by 3rd parties so there is probably little the Sheraton can do about these.

Overall it is a great place. I would stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the walk - Building 6 is a special experience due to the view and how quiet th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your experience and feedback from your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation and enjoyed the location of your room in our Moana building. We appreciate you sharing your feedback about the cabanas and will be sure to share it with our team. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

First of all, everything was so expensive. We only ate at the Sheraton Maui one time. There were only a handful of diners the night we arrived; however, we decided to eat in their restaurant that evening since we were tired. The prices were on the high end and the quality of the food was rather middle of the road. We also found some of the staff indifferent at best. After paying their "resort fee," we still had to pay another $5 a day plus tip for valet parking. The valets were very pleasant and quick, though. Two in our party had trouble walking so when we were put in the last building, we were really not happy. Having said that, the view from our balcony was simply amazing and well worth the cost of the ocean view room. We enjoyed whale watching every morning from our balcony. Would I stay there again, I just don't know.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your ocean view room and were able to watch the whales from your balcony. We appreciate your feedback about the quality of food and pricing, and will be sure to share it with our management team. We hope to welcome you back to our resort again in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Yes, you heard it right: We saw several WHALES "bursting" from our ocean view during our stay in Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa in Maui. We came during the whale seasons, the first week of February. The Hotel service is excellent, and the best part of the service is the Bell Boy/Valet parking because they are very knowledgeable about great places to visit and eat and for outdoor activities (snorkeling, etc) and weather. They take pride in their job and they are very helpful and always offer the direction or information about specific places. These people are amazing!!!

Brian, the hotel managers, also super nice by accommodating our special requests for our anniversary. Thank you Brian, you really made our stay in Maui memorable. Our room is very clean and well maintained, and the view are the BEST.

Did I forget to mention that you can almost see several green sea turtles every day in Black Rock area? You heard it right!! I saw these green sea turtles everyday when I snorkeled in Black Rock area.

Overall, this is the best trip that I ever had in my life, and all the credits went to Sheraton and Avis rental car (they gave me an upgrade to a nice car).
Thank you to all the staffs at Sheraton Maui Resort and Spa. You made our stay in Maui so wonderful and memorable :-)

Sincerely,
Ricky H

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking a few moments to share your experience from you stay with us. We are excited to hear how wonderful your stay was and how much you enjoyed the whales and turtles. We will be sure to share your kind words with our staff. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to spend our honeymoon in maui,hawaii and we choose Sheraton resort through a deal with priceline. The resort is beautiful and has the best amenities.Very close to the Whaler's village.The beach area right in front of the resort is crowded but is very clean and beautiful.We could see the fishes very close to the shore here.The resort is well maintained and the bar here is amazing.The staff is friendly and we even got a free upgrade to a partial ocean view room.The pool in the resort is very clean and well designed.Overall a beautiful place to stay and we loved it here. Our stay was for a total of nine days.I highly recommend this resort if anyone wishes to spend a lavish vacation.

Room Tip: Take a room with higher floor.Partial ocean view is also as good as the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Starwood, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.