We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free/Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, CO
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very comfortable beds, spacious rooms, beautiful beach minutes from the room. We enjoyed snorkeling right off the beach. We saw many whales playing from the beach too!
Stop at Costco (right next to the airport) get flats of water, sandwich stuff, box of assorted yogurts, snacks, wine/beer, sodas & some fruit. (We were traveling with a large gathering of friends & family so were lucky to have plenty of mini fridges to stock ) The hotel is not an inexpensive place to eat/drink, one yogurt is 4.00 off the lobby Starbucks cart. We enjoyed several home made lunches on the beach & several out & about when we were sight seeing, always a nice dinner out too.
The staff is very friendly & accommodating. The bellhops had no problem bringing all the supplies up as well.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,310
    989
    383
    145
    96
See reviews for
611
1,563
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had a chance to stay at the Sheraton in Maui in May of 2012. This was our third visit to Maui. On prior visits, we stayed at the Ritz in Kapalua and the Four Seaons in Wailea. We chose the Sheraton this time to see what a less expensive option (at least compared to the Ritz and Four Seasons would be like). There is a folksier feel to the Sheraton. It does not feel like a sleek corporate operation. You got the sense the staff had been there a long time and it felt like a family.

The room we had was clean; nothing super fancy but nothing to complain about. We had a chance to tour the hotel grounds. Getting rooms on the higher portions of the expansive grounds definitely would offer better views. We had a ground level rooms near the parking garage which we found to be very convenient. The best part about the Sheraton is the beach. Unlike the beach at the Ritz, you can actually swim in it and for some reason the water also felt warmer than in Wailea in front of the Four Seasons. The views from the beach are spectacular. We rented an umbrella on the beach for $25/day. The gazebo was $40 or $45/day. (Can't recall the exact cost) We reserved the gazebos we wanted on the very first day. I would recommend you do the same. My wife enjoyed the gazebos. I liked the beach umbrellas and chairs much better.

The Sheraton also offers the advantage of being able to walk to other venues. The Whaler's Village was fun for shopping and dining and it's within walking distance.

We had the buffet breakfast included in our Expedia package. The food was good. It wasn't quite up to the standards of the Ritz (which had Japanese food) or the Four Seaons (more variety and better quality) but couldn't complain. We did not partake of any other meals at the Sheraton. CJ's is right around the corner and offers a very affordable option for all three meals. And Lahaina is right down the road. And there are several four star offerings nearby. We tried Merriman's Kapalua and I would highly recommend that. Was not too impressed with the Banyan Tree at teh Ritz. The Feast at Lele is definitely the luau to go to rather than the Old Lahaina Luau. And Hula Grill is a must visit.

Overall, I would say the Sheraton is a good value. It's not the Ritz or the Four Seasons obviously but then you get what you pay for right?

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a room on the buildings on the Black Rock itself. They had spectacula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sheraton Maui Feb 25-March 5, 2013. The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful. I loved the open air concept and the way the pool wound around the grounds like a river. I am used to a more all-inclusive idea and we were a little surprised at some of the on-resort prices. We never did end up eating at the hotel restaurants, and also were surprised that you couldn't just find a chair on the beach.....they made you pay to rent any of the chairs that were along the beach or moveable to shade areas. All in all, that was the only disappointment. I would say that the service and staff were average with their customer service, but the hotel itself was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our resort grounds and location so much. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great beach, could be a good hotel. Best part - very clean. Pool bars - need better customer focus. Beach chairs a rip off - $45 a day. Rooms vary - be careful when booking in. Check first.
Hawaii is a lovely place but becoming a place to con visitors. Resort charges - everywhere. Car hire - v expensive. Nowhere to get decaf coffee after 10.30am. Mai Tai bar closes at 4pm ????

Try the Westin next door - when it is not being renovated!!!!

Room Tip: Go and see before signing in. Older buildings on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed our locaiton. We apologize for the level of customer service you experienced as that is not typical. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Maui before this trip. My friends had recommended that I stay near Kaanapali beach and the Black Rock. I wasn't disappointed.

The room we booked was an ocean front room which was a good choice. I wouldn't want to stay at a hotel like this on a great beach and not be able to enjoy the view as much as possible. The room was clean and the staff thoroughly cleaned the room everyday of our 5 night stay. We were always well stocked with towels, bath soap, shampoo, etc. The bed was comfortable and inviting. The only disappointment was the balcony. It was very small. There was only one chair and a small table. My wife and I had to open the door and slide extra chair in the room over to sit together. We were unable to close the door with both chairs outside as it was impossible to fit them both on the small balcony. We were on the 6th floor of building 3. It appeared that the higher up floors had smaller balconies.

With Black Rock right outside our window, we always had easy access to the beach and snorkeling. We actually got to get up close and personal with the sea turtle that often visits Black Rock. It is a must do if you visit this beach.

One of the biggest drawbacks of the hotel was hidden charges. There was a resort fee of $30 per day charged at check out which I was made aware of before booking but it's something to keep in mind. Also the restaurants and shops are unusually expensive even by Maui standards. Take the time to walk to Whalers village and visit the ABC store or the other restaurants there instead. Hula Grill, CJ's Diner and Castaway Cafe all had great food, were walking distance away, better atmosphere and reasonable pricing. WiFi was free but bandwidth limited unless you wanted to pay more. Using the Link cafe to print our boarding passes almost cost me $4 per sheet until I realized that I could print black and white for free. Valet parking was free but just for the first night only. Be cautious so as not to needlessly throw your money away.

Room Tip: Get a room with an ocean view. It's worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to swim with the turtles around black rock. We will be sure to review your feedback with our team. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The botanical grounds, the music the staff made this a perfect evening. We listened to a one man band that wowed us. Ate some delish nachos, Yay! No fish in them! The winding brightly lit pool was very inviting with private little coves throughout the curving pool. Our waitress was so nice, attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking a moment to share your kind words about your experience at our resort. We are excited to hear you enjoyed a wonderful evening at our Cliff Dive Bar. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel sits on a really nice beach that is easy to access unlike some other beachfront hotels. It is a large, spread out property that can be be a bit overwhelming at times. If your room is close to the beach you have quite a hike or a walk and an elevator ride. The check-in was painless and everyone was really nice. However the gentleman who saw us to our room explained that there was no internet access in the rooms after renovation. We were shocked. When we got in the room we found there was internet. And it is fast enough to stream movies! So maybe the training of staff on the accommodations needs to be more detailed.

Parking was a breeze. You are only charged an additional $5 a night for valet parking here (in addition to the "resort fee" of $30 a night). Unlike the Fairmont in Wailea, where we stayed last year, who charged an additional $20 for valet (oh please, give me a break!..Kind of summed up that entire property for us..) The rooms are quite small but nicely done. Hope you don't have a lot of luggage! Nicely equipped but small.

Dining options seem limited. Cafe is only open in the morning for breakfast. During the day it is room service or poolside. Food we had a couple of times was ok at best. We were with a group and they catered 2 functions and we had a couple of meals there outside of the business meetings. Room service was very good and speedy.

Grounds are ok. Nothing really exceptional garden wise. Smaller pool area than some hotels. Cabana type seating by the pool or on the beach is extra. Seems like a number of things are extra which is curious when you are being charged a resort fee....The nickle and diming of large resorts gets so tiresome in this respect. The spa was nice and I had a good facial there. The rooms are partially open to the outside which can be nice or not depending how many people and children are poolside. Can be noisy and distracting when you are seeking bliss!

Staff in all areas was just outstanding. Everyone was always so pleasant and helpful. That was what really stood out for us. This was in marked contrast to the Fairmont (again) from last year. In all a pleasant stay. We have been to Maui with a group the last three years and this was probably our second favorite hotel. The first was the Hyatt near here (smaller rooms but beautiful grounds and service). And dead last was the Fairmont (large dated rooms, ok grounds, great pools, horrible service, poorly maintained grounds and buildings). It's all a matter of taste....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time so share your experience and feedback with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We will be sure to refresh all associates about our inclusions for guests. Thank you for letting us know. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again sometime soon.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.