We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for snorkeling!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #20 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location for snorkeling!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband, my 4-year-old, and I stayed here for almost a week this winter, and we really enjoyed our time. The Sheraton is ideally located if you love--or even want to just try out--snorkeling. There are so many beautiful fish, and even a couple of turtles to see at Black Rock. Although the water was not always placid and smooth, it was calm most days. On days the ocean wasn't calm, our daughter preferred the pool, although I have to agree with some of the other reviewers--it was a little cold for me!
We tried to take advantage of some of the resort's activities while there, and we were grateful for the exposure we had to scuba, Hawaiian crafts and hula dancing. The instructors were all friendly and helpful, and their presence was a big bonus for us.
I would have preferred to have queen or king beds in the room instead of the double ones, but the room was neat and always cleaned.
Overall, our Maui vacation was very pleasant and relaxing, and I'm thankful that the Sheraton was part of it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,206
    897
    347
    127
    82
See reviews for
535
1437
39
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our third visit to the Sheraton Maui. We come back for the resort atmosphere, the excellent beach and the nice comfortable pool. We have stayed in oceanfront, and executive suites and found all comfortable and the higher end suites to be outstanding for views and features such as lanais, views and bathroom features. We have not dined in the restaurants except for breakfast which is ample and with a wide variety or choices. We really like the Black Rock location for snorkeling and a excellent protected beach expereince.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at the Sheraton we were greeted by the Valet and we were told the valet parking was free the first night, so we took advantage. Although we did self parking after that as it was included in the resort fee.
We were also greeted with a shell necklace. That was a nice touch. Our room that we requested was not available but two nights later they put us in a wonderful ocean view suite. We enjoyed the grounds and thought it was nicer than the Westin because the grounds were more spacious. Loved the ceremony at sunset of the torch lighting. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We were treated nicely and loved that everything is so conveniently located near the Resort. Even the whale-watching tour was within walking distance. We didn't eat at the resort. We found food a better value at other places.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Excellent place for each member of our family. Clean pools and towels at all times.Friendly and helpful Personnel which it made our vacation full of Aloha. Location is excellent, We were close to great shops, restaurants and water activities. We enjoyed every single meal including our luau night.Mahalo!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha,

We are delighted to hear you and your family had an wonderful stay at our resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I had an excellent experience at this resort. Upon check-in they upgraded us to an "ocean view" suite which was perfectly situated close to the pool/beach/outdoor bar as well as to the hotel restaurants and lobby. We were given complimentary boxes of chocolate, champagne, and water. If you are a Starwood member they also had a 2 for 1 breakfast buffet special for the first few days which was definitely worth it. One drawback which seems to be how most if all not all hotels conduct business is that to get beach chairs they charge $12.50 apiece and beach cabanas are $45 for the day. Chairs by the pool are complimentary. The daily $31.25 mandatory resort charge covers the WIFI and parking. The hotel is a short walk from Whaler's Village which is a big plus as you have to drive to many places in Maui. It is also right next to Black Rock so you will see a lot of snorkelers/scuba divers and of course turtles! We were even able to see whales from our location on the beach!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite (room 1101) which is on the ground floor. I would recommend this room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found this to be an absolutely dreamy property.
Room: very large and spacious - we were on this trip as part of a Globus tour and the included room was very comfortable and large. Bathroom tub is kind of small and old but adequate. Looks like most rooms have fabulous views - ours had a view of the ocean. Bed was super comfy.

Food: we had the buffet breakfast included and it is a super breakfast w/many items - eggs, french toast, yoghurts, fruit, etc. The food in the rest of the resort was overpriced and not so great - we ordered fish tacos and fish skewers at the Cliff Diver Bar - food was very bland - ordered guacamole and sour cream on the side and this helped. Also - very, very overpriced! ($17 for fish skewers with no side.) I'd recommend walking the short stroll (10 mins) to Whaler's Village where there are more options and they are more reasonably priced.

Property: it is gorgeous, right on the ocean - there is a pool that meanders thru the property and is beautiful. We never had a problem finding a pool chair (travelled in Jan/Feb) or room in the pool to swim. Also, it is a short skip to the ocean so you can swim there and then find a chair by the pool if you don't like lying on the sand. It is very well laid out so you never feel crowded. You can pick up a towel at the towel stand by the pool - very convenient, although they do run out of towels by end of day.

Service: all staff we encountered were very friendly and courteous.
I'd highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I had never been to Maui and decided to come for my birthday. I booked the room before I looked at the reviews here and got worried, but my worries were laid to rest when I got there. The grounds and property were beautiful and well kept. The staff was friendly, especially the bell desk and valet. My room was in building 3 facing the tennis courts. It did have double beds, which are not my preference, but the room was large and very adequate. It was just like every other business hotel that I have stayed in. The room was clean and the shower was excellent. This is not a luxury hotel, so if you want A grade service, then don't stay here, but don't trash it. It is what it is. The beach was amazing and not very crowded (it was raining a bit)

The only reason that I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I feel that the hotel needs better dining options on property and the double beds. The rooms are large enough to fit 2 queens and the chain should consider replacing the doubles.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your birthday trip at our resort, and appreciate your honest feedback. We will be sure to share it with our team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Sheraton Maui Hotel
Sheraton Maui
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina
Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, Tingo, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.