We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place! Treat yourself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Fabulous place! Treat yourself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 10 days in Nov 2012. This is a huge resort property with an ideal location, right on the beach at Blackrock point. The resort has a great atmosphere and all the staff were just super nice. The gym here is really good if you want to stay in shape. There are a couple of pools, but we found the childrens pool to be nice and quiet and plenty of shade. It's actually a lap pool around a small island and we pretty well had this to ourselves everyday. Snorkelling off the beach is great and we saw Eagle Rays, green turtles, morays, trumpet fish, coronet fish, and a host of others. The breakfast buffet is very good, but we ate dinner either in Whalers village just next door, or Lahaina town a couple of miles away. Checked out some of the other properties around there and the Sheraton was far away the nicest choice for us. We had an unspoiled ocean view room right on top of Blackrock point, super quiet, no disco and the whole resort is non-smoking. If you want to relax you won't go far wrong with this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha,

Mahalo! We appreciate you sharing your experience. We are excited to hear you were able to enjoy so much of what we have to offer our guests, and were able to enjoy snorkeling around Black Rock. We hope to welcome you back to our beautiful resort again soon!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    1,000
    392
    146
    97
See reviews for
615
1,583
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (660)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just finished a 10 day stay at this resort. Everything from the check-in to check-out was fantastic. We asked for and were given an oceanview room in building #4. Fabulous location if you want to be close to the action(pool/ocean). I can't say enough about the high level of service throughout this property. Claudia and Claudia (weird coincidence) were both so incredibly helpful and friendly at the poolside every day taking care of our every wish. They deserve a raise. Having been to Maui several times over the years, I can tell you it would be hard to top this location and high level of friendly service we encountered at the Sheraton Maui.
P.S. - Save your money on any snorkeling trip to molokini/turtle town as the variety and number of fish is awesome including the 2 giant sea turtles right out front at Black Rock.

If you love walking/jogging, this area is excellent for walking as there is a boardwalk along ka'anapali beach and you are walking distance to Whaler's Village, another awesome place to shop and eat.

The weather was awesome and thank goodness for those trade winds, which you can't live without.

Room Tip: There are 6 buildings. For being close to the pool and beach, ask for building 3 or 4. Others are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My husband and I celebrated our 11th anniversary October 22-29th at the Maui Sheraton. I feel like I am hard to please when it comes to hotel accomidations. I was not at all disappointed in this fabulously beautiful hotel. The staff was great and upgraded us to a suite upon arrival :) This hotel looks exactly like the photos! It is spotless and absolutely the most relaxing resort on Kannapali. I would most definetly stay here time and time again. This is a very relaxing resort, peaceful and quite. If you are looking for a little bit more entertainment I would recommend the Westin only because all of the bars and lounges close by 10 pm at the Sheraton. Really that's the only downside to this hotel. The Sheraton Maui was the perfect hotel to spend our anniversary and we are already booking our trip back next year!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful anniversary at our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our experience at the Sheraton Maui was wonderful. The easy check-in and a room upgrade were fabulous. As a Starwood member, we are allowed to ask for a room upgrade and if available, we can have it. We received an incredible ocean front room in building 4 that was close to the pool and the beach.
Snorkeling at black rock is really amazing as well. Our bellman Trevor was full of great advice and recommendations for restaurants. My only tiny complaint is the lighting in the bathroom is really low and I only wish they would make it brighter. Overall, we couldn't have been happier with the service and the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I've been to Maui many times. This is my fifth stay at the Sheraton. I've previously stayed at the Westin, Fairmont, Grand Wailea, Kaanapalii Beach Hotel, Hotel Hana and the Napili Kai. The Sheraton is my favorite. The location at Black Rock is probably one of the best spots on the whole island. The staff is friendly and helpful. Their breakfast buffet is not the best on Maui, but it has plenty of variety for everyone. The grounds are very peaceful and well maintained. The rooms could use some refreshing and sprucing up. There was some mold in our shower/bath, and I called housekeeping to clean it up. They cleaned some of it, but still left some behind. We have an ocean front room with beautiful views of Lanai and Molokai. It is in easy walking distance of the stores and restaurants at Whaler's Village. It has a well equipped gym. All in all, it is a good hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, ask for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AZ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Beautiful Property...best on Kaanapali. Pool is undersized and short on usual features seen at major resorts in this area. Amenities seem geared more for the older set. Not many kids seen.
Rooms have been renovated though beds seem somewhat warm and are in need of upgrading to expected Sheraton advertising standards.
Staff is overall very nice and friendly. They are quick to meet every need quickly. We were upgraded to a lovely room for our stay. Very relaxing with a beautiful view. EVELYN at the front desk is one of a kind when it comes to pleasing guests and meeting (exceeding) expectations. I have never met anyone in her position that does her job better. She is a gem!!!
Claudia, at the pool, is another gem for pleasing guests.
The fitness center is adequate. The restaurants are good.Free shuttle service to Lahaina is another plus.Lahaina parking is a hassle.
Much better property and service than it's sister property The Westin. Would recommend and will re-visit if possible. Had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Request Evelyn. Bldg 4,5,6 are best for views.Some sections of building 2 are good as well. Request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience and kind words. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be so friendly. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team!

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights here on our anniversary visit to Maui last month. First, I will say that this hotel is on a great beach. That's about it. We checked in optimistic, even when we got the "no King Beds available", as we had requested. But...for an extra fee, they can find one. I had read about that happening on here and politely said no thank you. The nice guy that helped us with our bags who was very friendly, told us about the area, if we needed him let us know etc. was pretty much the only friendly employee we came in contact with at this resort. Front desk staff, valet, even the guy who took care of the towels, wasn't friendly and almost rude. After checking in we got a message saying there was a welcome gathering in the lobby and a gift was waiting on us. I sent my husband while I took a shower and when he came back he was a bit irritated. When he went the lady from spg immediately wanted to know where his wife was. He told her I was in the shower and I had sent him to see what our gift was and that irritated her. She was rude, unprofessional and wasted his time. She gave him a tote and he left. As I said at the beginning, the beach is very nice. Chair and umbrella rentals aren't included, I don't remember the fee. As far as the room goes, it was fine. It hadn't been updated but was ok to sleep in. There are alot better options in the area. We checked into a different hotel in Wailea after our stay at the Sheraton and it was wonderful in every way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestExperienceTeam, Manager at Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our customer's happiness is our top priority, so we are disappointed to hear about the lack of customer service you experienced during your stay. We will be sure to share your feedback with our team and use it as a learning tool. We hope that you will give our resort another chance in the future.

Mahalo,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa

Address: 2605 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 508
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali Beach's Black Rock, is near Whalers Village and Kapalua-West Maui Airport. Our Hawaii hotel has a lagoon, a ballroom, and an Ocean Lawn for weddings and meetings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Maui Hotel Lahaina
Sheraton Maui Resort And Spa
Maui Sheraton
Sheraton Lahaina
Lahaina Sheraton
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.