We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional (as it was the last time)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Lulea, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional (as it was the last time)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to this gem in Lahaina. As always, we had a marvelous time and can't wait to go back to this lovely B&B and paradise island. Everything from the staff to the place itself made us feel very pleased, but I have to say that it was Donna who made our stay a little more pleasant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
177
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was very upset when the Lahaina Inn closed several years ago. I had enjoyed stays there several times. Thinking that the LI was still closed, I booked a room at The Plantation Inn. I couldn't have been happier with my decision. The rooms were much larger than those at LI, and the accommodations were lovely. Rooms had been recently renovated and decorated with lovely art work by island artists as well as other nice touches.The breakfast was wonderful...some of the best French Toast I've ever had. The Inn is connected to one of the best restaurants on Maui, but it's location on Lahainaluna St. allows you to walk to every other restaurant in the area as well as pretty much everything else in Lahaina. This will definitely be my Inn of choice when staying in Lahaina.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second level allow more privacy when you are sitting on the Lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, nc
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came to Hawaii for the Maui Classic and to visit National Parks. We stayed at 5 hotels and b&bs. This was the nicest. Our room was nice size and beautifully appointed. It is quiet at night. The breakfast is excellent. If I ever come back to Lahaina. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Lanai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have had several stays at this property and can say that the staff and atmosphere is wonderful. The rooms are starting to need updating as of a couple years ago. The on Site french restaurant is fantastic and you must have the frois gras, truly decadent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

While it is a small place, only a few rooms, it offers a nice pool to lounge, great breakfast in the morning and a nice restaurant to dine.
We like to stay here for a few nights to just relax. Located steps away from shopping and dining, you have everything you need, no need for a car. I usually get up early at sunrise and walk down to the shore where there is a place to get some coffee and bagels. Get to watch the boats leaving the harbor and sun come up.....beautiful, just beautiful. Read for awhile and then off to start another day in paradise

Rooms are theme furnished and clean. Good for quite relaxation, but I like to go to the big resorts after a couple of nights to enjoy the other side,

Worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEQUEA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First stop on our trip to Maui after loooong flights from Phila, PA. Too tired to follow up on reservations at their restaurant. Staff welcomed us in, even upgraded our room because of our anniversary. Breakfast was very good though one reject on the bland yogurt and granola (go for the french toast, much better choice). Inn is conveniently located in downtown Lahaina. Staff can/will make recommendations for excursions and dinner choices. Very comfortable room, pool looked very clean. Would recommend as very viable choice over big resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, great staff upon check-in enjoyed the property and room, but a little pricy and contact with the Manager Herb was a rude experience and his demeanor was to say the least very tactless. Upon check out I was advised by Herb that the property was an adult only property and that I should remember that for future stays and for the properties other returning guests. I was unaware that it was a adult only property and that nothing was said to me upon check-in, yes we had our 10 month baby with us and received only complements from the staff and other guests as to her behavior, but now I was being told to return but my child was not welcome. Really? We will not recommend this property and felt that it is over rated for the price and the treatment from its management staff; it’s a good thing that the staffs have better people skills then Herb the manager. My recommendation is that the organization send Herb to sensitivity training and that they continue his people skills training.

Room Tip: Do not recomend property,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Inn

Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic district of Lahaina, steps from the waterfront and all the excitement it holds, yet far enough to offer precious tranquility. This is the allure that The Plantation Inn offers. 19 rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished with its own custom interiors, housed in graceful turn-of-the-century charm and set against manicured gardens. This is the intimacy that is The Plantation Inn. Breakfast is included for all paying guests and served from 7:30 to 9:30 am in the tranquil poolside setting. Selections include Chef Gerard Reversade's gourmet French Toast, poached Eggs Basquaise, Gerard's special blend Mueslix along with homemade yogurt or a fresh bagel with salmon & cream cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.