We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
asheville, nc
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“This was the best place we stayed on our trip to Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We came to Hawaii for the Maui Classic and to visit National Parks. We stayed at 5 hotels and b&bs. This was the nicest. Our room was nice size and beautifully appointed. It is quiet at night. The breakfast is excellent. If I ever come back to Lahaina. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: We had Lanai room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
177
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have had several stays at this property and can say that the staff and atmosphere is wonderful. The rooms are starting to need updating as of a couple years ago. The on Site french restaurant is fantastic and you must have the frois gras, truly decadent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trabuco Canyon, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

While it is a small place, only a few rooms, it offers a nice pool to lounge, great breakfast in the morning and a nice restaurant to dine.
We like to stay here for a few nights to just relax. Located steps away from shopping and dining, you have everything you need, no need for a car. I usually get up early at sunrise and walk down to the shore where there is a place to get some coffee and bagels. Get to watch the boats leaving the harbor and sun come up.....beautiful, just beautiful. Read for awhile and then off to start another day in paradise

Rooms are theme furnished and clean. Good for quite relaxation, but I like to go to the big resorts after a couple of nights to enjoy the other side,

Worth checking out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEQUEA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

First stop on our trip to Maui after loooong flights from Phila, PA. Too tired to follow up on reservations at their restaurant. Staff welcomed us in, even upgraded our room because of our anniversary. Breakfast was very good though one reject on the bland yogurt and granola (go for the french toast, much better choice). Inn is conveniently located in downtown Lahaina. Staff can/will make recommendations for excursions and dinner choices. Very comfortable room, pool looked very clean. Would recommend as very viable choice over big resorts.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed for 1 night, great staff upon check-in enjoyed the property and room, but a little pricy and contact with the Manager Herb was a rude experience and his demeanor was to say the least very tactless. Upon check out I was advised by Herb that the property was an adult only property and that I should remember that for future stays and for the properties other returning guests. I was unaware that it was a adult only property and that nothing was said to me upon check-in, yes we had our 10 month baby with us and received only complements from the staff and other guests as to her behavior, but now I was being told to return but my child was not welcome. Really? We will not recommend this property and felt that it is over rated for the price and the treatment from its management staff; it’s a good thing that the staffs have better people skills then Herb the manager. My recommendation is that the organization send Herb to sensitivity training and that they continue his people skills training.

Room Tip: Do not recomend property,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here five nights in lanai room 16 above the pool.

Room service was excellent and seemed to have a sixth sense about when we were leaving. We'd go out for breakfast and come back to a spotless room and fresh towels. We had high hopes of eating breakfast here but gave up after day two of inedible food and rude service. We did ask the reservation assistant before hand if they could accommodate vegetarian and lactose free and they assured us it was no problem...but that was far from the case. Horrible breakfast. Staff were extremely rude, laughably so actually, we escaped to our room in awe of their lecture about "fixed menu means fixed menu, so you can order your eggs poached or poached, which do you want?"

That said, this location is incredible and there are some fantsastic spots to eat nearby. Try Lahaina Coolers for breakfast or lunch and Lahaina Grill for dinner...amazing food and service at both. The plantation inn cost us 191pn, which was reasonable considering we could walk to everything including the docs where our snorkeling tours left from.


So, we probably won't stay here again and if we do we will prepare ourselves by lowering our expectations before arriving.

Also noteworthy is that the Internet is free because it doesn't work. Free parking is a big bonus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I really have come to love the relaxing atmosphere of this property. Unlike large hotels, the ambiance is very relaxing and the breakfast prepared by the restaurant Gerard's on site is delicious! Recommend walking along Front Street in Lahaina after the great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Inn

Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic district of Lahaina, steps from the waterfront and all the excitement it holds, yet far enough to offer precious tranquility. This is the allure that The Plantation Inn offers. 19 rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished with its own custom interiors, housed in graceful turn-of-the-century charm and set against manicured gardens. This is the intimacy that is The Plantation Inn. Breakfast is included for all paying guests and served from 7:30 to 9:30 am in the tranquil poolside setting. Selections include Chef Gerard Reversade's gourmet French Toast, poached Eggs Basquaise, Gerard's special blend Mueslix along with homemade yogurt or a fresh bagel with salmon & cream cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.