We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel in Lahaina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel in Lahaina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My initial disappointment finding that the hotel was built in the 1980's and not in the 1880's was soon forgotten when I checked in to this gem of a hotel in Lahaina.

It is a faithful replica of an old sugar cane plantation property and has an unexpected old world charm and tranquillity echoing the heritage of the area. The staff were genuinely the most helpful and kind people at any hotel I've ever stayed and were only too happy to help or to provide information about the area. We had a problem with the toilet in the bathroom not working - the reception team had the problem fixed within an hour of being reported.

The rooms are quiet, very clean and well maintained, sharing the old world feel of the rest of the hotel but still with the modern facilities you expect from a hotel - flat screen tv, modern bathroom and super efficient air conditioning. The furnishing are all solid wood and bespoke for the room. The only down side was the bed was a little uncomfortable although everything was immaculately clean and we still had a good few nights sleep.

The public areas are peaceful and well maintained with an excellent pool and jacuzzi but as there are only 19 rooms, the facilities were hardly used so very quiet.

Breakfast is included with every room and was really good. Served in the gardens, the staff were again very friendly and helpful and the location is excellent. The reviews of the food are perhaps a little oversold - it's all heated in a microwave - but that shouldn't detract from what was a very good and substantial breakfast to set you up for the day. Eggs Benedict were great as was the French toast (good luck finishing them both as the portions are huge!)

Other facilities include plenty of free parking and free wi-fi.

The location is just a couple of minute's walk from the waterfront of the old town of Lahaina which has plenty of restaurants, bars, shops and art galleries and there are sunset cruises leaving the nearby harbour. Be warned all the restaurants are very expensive. I would recommend Fleetwoods restaurant which is two minutes walk from the hotel - the food is great and on the night we went we had the pleasure of meeting the great man Mick Fleetwood himself!

If you're looking for something a little cheaper, five minutes drive around the corner is a a Pizza Hut and Panda Express for a take-out or the Foodland supermarket does salads and sandwiches for a picnic on the beach to watch the sunset.

A little further afield are the main sights of the island but all are easily driveable in a day with the main airport being around 40 minutes drive away.

I would definitely stay here again when visiting Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    61
    14
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
177
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We chose to stay at the Plantation Inn on this visit to Maui because we wanted to be within walking distance to the shops, restaurants and activity of Lahaina. The Inn is quaint, clean, and comfortable, and serves a killer breakfast... but the absolute best part about staying there is it's proximity to all the activity in Lahaina. Cheeseburger In Paradise is a stones throw down the street! Downside is that you are in Maui and don't have an ocean view or a resort beach... but if you are planning on doing day trips and want a variety of evening options that are withing walking distance, you will LOVE the Plantation Inn.

Room Tip: Room 16 is upstairs facing the pool with a lanai. The room is very spacious with a king bed, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We've stayed in Maui before, but further out at Kaanapali in one of the resort hotels. This time we wanted to be able to go out for a meal and a couple of drinks without worrying about driving, so the plantation inn fitted the bill - being just a few minutes walk from Front Street, and what a lovely place to stay. Our room was large and airy, on the ground floor with a lovely lanai (clever use of beautiful plants and shrubs ensured privacy), beautifully furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful, but unobtrusive. Donna and Rose and the rest of the breakfast team made us feel very welcome in the morning. The pool was very clean and well taken care of and was a joy to swim in and laze around. We loved our time there and look forward to visiting again. Only one suggestion, tea and coffee making facilities in our room would have been great.

Room Tip: Lanai rooms are worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Plantation Inn at the beginning for 3 nights but decided to stay 3 more nights! It was such a beautiful place!
The room was big and nice! It was clean and decorated with taste.
The breakfast was pretty good too by the pool.
It is right in the center of Lahaina, so you can walk everywhere!!
The staff was nice, too!
Anyway, THE perfect place to stay!
I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This cozy inn is just a couple of blocks from Front Street in Lahaina, but miles away from the crowds and the noise. Ground floor rooms open up onto a little lanai with cushioned wicker seating, right off the pool area, with a beautiful view of blue skies and palm trees. Spacious and meticulously clean room included a small fridge and a safe. King size bed was a little soft for us, but we like a firmer mattress than most. The included breakfast has limited choices, but something for everyone; bagel and lox is always a safe choice. Staff was friendly and gracious, from the front desk to the breakfast server. The Plantation Inn is a refreshing alternative to all the commercial resort properties in Hawaii, but Ka'anapali Shores hotel is a sister property, and you can use their amenities for beach access and island activities. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: check the Inn's website for a map of where each room is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed 2 nights last week and was pretty pleased with this property. Room was clean, spacious and amenities pretty modern. Loved the bamboo style fixtures in the bathroom. Free breakfast in the morning was served out by pool under umbrellas. Good french toast and other selections served by really nice waitresses. For this location so close to busy Front street it was surprisingly quiet but the chirping birds started early every morning. As this property is located in a residential area, we even had a rooster for a wake up call in the mornings...but i think his crow was a bit early for a vacation! Service was great for check in and free parking was an added bonus! We would definitely stay here again and really loved that the property was close to most of our activities. We stayed on the second floor over looking the pool in room 18 and it was nice to enjoy the beautiful weather in the afternoon sitting out on our lanai with a nice cool drink ! ( would of loved having a coffee maker in the room, but coffee was available down in lobby by pool.)

Room Tip: Check on all hotel website discounters.....We found a good rate on book it.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Relax just off the busy spending path of Front Street at the Plantation Inn. A secluded palm tree-lined home away from home, guest rooms with king-sized beds and double doors lead out to a private patio and shared refreshing pool and hot tub. A French pool-side breakfast greets you each morning that is so good (try the French toast or the croque monsieur) it lures you to stay for dinner at Gerard's (located at the front of the Inn). Sit on the porch as the sun sets, listen to the birds and enjoy a glass or wine from their award-winning wine list (half bottles available for the solo traveller). Gerard prepares food so fine, you'll want to learn French cooking (try the rillettes de porc and the grilled rack of lamb). Breakfast is included in the room fee as well as $25/person credit towards your 3-course dinner at Gerard's. I'll most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Inn

Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic district of Lahaina, steps from the waterfront and all the excitement it holds, yet far enough to offer precious tranquility. This is the allure that The Plantation Inn offers. 19 rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished with its own custom interiors, housed in graceful turn-of-the-century charm and set against manicured gardens. This is the intimacy that is The Plantation Inn. Breakfast is included for all paying guests and served from 7:30 to 9:30 am in the tranquil poolside setting. Selections include Chef Gerard Reversade's gourmet French Toast, poached Eggs Basquaise, Gerard's special blend Mueslix along with homemade yogurt or a fresh bagel with salmon & cream cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.