We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and very quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plantation Inn

Save Saved
You added Plantation Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
Burlington, Iowa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service and very quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed here the last 4 days of our trip. Nice quiet location, in the heart of downtown. Never heard any noise from the busy Front St. Loved the closeness of downtown, walked down each day. Room was very nice, small bathroom but clean. Nice comfortable bed and loved the little lanai off of our room right to the pool and eating area. Breakfast was good, my favorite was the homemade yogurt/granola. If any complaint that I have is all the lights on at night shining into our room. Spoke with the manager about this on our check out day, he said they are looking into shades for these rooms. Other than that we have no complaints. We would definitely stay here again. Did not eat at Gerrard's the on site restaurant, but plan to next time, they do give you a $50 coupon to try at the restaurant

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    58
    12
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
162
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for part of our honeymoon on Maui in Dec 2011.

It was a good price point for what was offered. The Lanai room we booked was a good size and well maintained. Our only complaint was that the washroom was a bit on the tiny side. We loved the "plantation style" decor, and the attention to details. The lanai was lovely but didn't offer much privacy. The bed was comfortable enough. The left a bottle of champagne for us to celebrate, which was a nice touch. There is free wifi and free parking.

I would recommend a 1st floor room, as the lanai would open straight out onto the pool and deck chairs. We were on the 2nd floor, and had to lug our belongings up the 2 flights of stairs as there is no elevator. If you're not able bodied, request the ground floor. The pool and hot tub was lovely. As it's an adult preferred B&B, there were no children running around so the atmosphere is quite tranquil.

The location was great, near where all the action is by the water and Front Street, but a block or two away in a residential area so that there was peace and quiet during the night.

Breakfast was good. The french toast was very different to what I've had before; so decadent! The savory options were tasty. The fruit option was disappointing. Seeing as we were in a tropical location, we were hoping for some pineapple, papaya, etc. We got orange slices.

They also have a washer and dryer on site, beach towels you can borrow, and a French restaurant (discount if you're staying). They are also connected to a sister property (Kaanapali Beach Hotel) where you can take advantage of the Hawaiian activities and shows offered as well as use of their beach (we saw turtles!)

Overall, a wonderful time. When we go back to Maui, hopefully we can stay at the Plantation Inn again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for a week in September 2011. We couldn't have been happier. The room was spacious and well maintained, location was great, staff was friendly, and breakfast was good. When we return to Maui, we will be staying at the Plantation Inn.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Plantation Inn for our honeymoon in December, 2011. There is much to love about the place. First, the location is perfect. It was a short walk to Front Street, where all the action is, but tucked into a quiet residential neighborhood, which gave us restful nights. The staff was friendly and helpful. They always greeted us with smiles, and gave us clear, informative advice. Finally, the breakfasts really were something special. My wife prefers salty breakfasts, so she ate the croque monsieur almost every morning, and loved it. I tried all of the offerings, and the french toast was the best I've ever eaten. Yum!
There were a couple of small things that kept this from being an excellent stay. The lanai did not offer any privacy. Fresh fruit was served with breakfast every morning, but 3 of the five morning, this was orange wedges. We were vacationing on a tropical island. I was expecting more. Finally, the wifi was spotty at best. When it worked, it was very slow. I know you don't go to Hawaii to sit on the computer, but my wife and I do like to read the news in the mornings and evenings, and we couldn't do that because we couldn't connect to the internet in our room. It was frustrating for the price.
All in all, I would recommend a stay at the Plantation Inn, but don't expect 5-Star luxury.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

we got stuck in a lower-end room here so i was bummed when we arrived, but then i started realizing how great this place was anyway. the pool and jacuzzi are always empty and quiet and PRIVATE. NO CROWDS DURING CHRISTMAS, which is AMAZING. they have a washer and dryer (for lots of quarters), which is great on a long trip like we are on. but we just had the free breakfast included for the cost of the room and OMG!! ive really in my life never had a better breakfast. unreal!! the french toast is something out of this world and the eggs flourentine-thing was like a $30 plate and so amazingly delish! even the toast was something straight out of a culinary magazine.
im bummed because i skipped breakfast the first day (bad move on my part).
stay here. we've been in the Hawaiian islands for almost a month now and this is one of the best places we've stayed hands down! ALOHA!!!

Room Tip: get a downstairs room by the pool so you don't have to lug your luggage upstairs and you get to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Just got back from yet another fabulous stay at the Plantation Inn in downtown Lahaina. This was our 3rd stay in the past 2 years and each time it just gets better. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite for our 3 night stay, this is the 2nd visit in a row that we were upgraded from a 'Lanai' category room which are also beautiful. The property is very well located right in the heart of the town with access to all the best restaurants and shops, no need to drive anywhere in the evenings. They have a wonderful little interior courtyard with a pool and a hot tub. It's an adults only encouraged property which makes for a very peaceful and enjoyable few days for both parents looking for a break from their own and couples looking for romance. Parking and a wonderful breakfast is also included in the rate as is a wonderful complimentary selection of movies to watch from the comfort of your room if you feel like chilling out in the evenings. They also have a wonderful very high-end French restaurant on-site called Gerard's which is considered one of the finest dining venues on the island. All in all, perfection for a very competitive price. We can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

We had another great stay at the Plantation Inn. Where else can you spend an entire day by the pool and be the only guests there? That was surprising since the Inn was full. Everyone must have been visiting the fabulous restaurants and shops that are just steps away. The Inn is amazingly quiet even though it is in the heart of downtown Lahaina. The serenity is probably due in large part to its 'no children' policy. With the free Wi-Fi, parking, and breakfast, we decided that we were probably saving at least $50 per day compared to the large resorts. The rooms have also been recently updated. We love the 'rain' showerhead, but what hasn't changed is the mini-fridge where you can keep your chilled cocktails for lounging by the pool. We miss it already, and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are good if you want to go back and forth from the pool, but top floor rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plantation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Inn

Address: 174 Lahainaluna Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Plantation Inn 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historic district of Lahaina, steps from the waterfront and all the excitement it holds, yet far enough to offer precious tranquility. This is the allure that The Plantation Inn offers. 19 rooms and suites, each uniquely furnished with its own custom interiors, housed in graceful turn-of-the-century charm and set against manicured gardens. This is the intimacy that is The Plantation Inn. Breakfast is included for all paying guests and served from 7:30 to 9:30 am in the tranquil poolside setting. Selections include Chef Gerard Reversade's gourmet French Toast, poached Eggs Basquaise, Gerard's special blend Mueslix along with homemade yogurt or a fresh bagel with salmon & cream cheese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Plantation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hotel Lahaina
Plantation Inn Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plantation Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.