We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We arrived by our own transport and chose to park our own vehicle instead of valet. Easy parking. No problem.
my husband and I made our way to check in at the spg counter. This was fairly quick as the rest of the guests were using the other check in counters so we had no queue. We arrived around 3pm so our room was ready. We had paid for mountain view but I was hoping for an upgrade to beach side. No luck unless we wanted to pay another $100 p.n. We were already paying premium rates from Australia as the hotel has a high occupancy at this time.

Went to our room and it is spacious with king size bed. The shower and toilet are in a closed bathroom with the basin and mirror in the main area. A little odd but it works ok. If you have an early riser who wants to brush their teeth or shave whilst you are sleeping it could be annoying.

The balcony..ours does overlook the mountains but also the car park. I wasn't thrilled with this and did ask if there was another option without spending more.they could have moved us up higher if we had been prepared to wait another hour. However after spending over ten hours on a flight to arrive in Maui I decided the view was not that important as you don't spend all that long in your room.
This is a very friendly hotel and the service staff are excellent. All the concierge desk staff are great.our favorite was Kirk.nothing beats local knowledge. He helped us with places to eat guiding us to what he thought might be our style and for our drives to interesting destinations as we had hired a car. He went beyond the 'call of duty' and shared lots of knowledge.nothing was too much trouble.
There is a shuttle bus available at the hotel.

Breakfast was included in our package. I must say that we felt it is was ordinary. Not terrible. Just not up to other hotels and their buffet breakfasts that we have been to recently -(comparing to Athens grande britagne and Bali -royal beach seminyak or Sofitel hua hin,Thailand.
For a change of scenery there is reciprocal rights at the Sheraton. Literally a 5 min walk along the beach pathway. You can have their buffet breakfast also.very similar breakfast but lovely surrounds to have and then perhaps head down to the beach there..black rock. Swim with the fish or jump off the cliff.

Cleaning staff for the hotel rooms.:the rooms are clean but I think the staff could be a little better. I don't want to be picky but I don't think it's difficult to rehang the bathrobe.

The pools are clean and there is the adults only pool available. Sun lounges are a plenty but people do reserve them early. If you leave your lounge for more than an hour your towels will be removed. We have turned up at various times and haven't had a problem with finding some where to sit.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the property.
There were all ages here...young couples, young families, older couples. We think it would be great for all.
Position of the hotel is great. Close to lots of areas of interest and lahaina for nice eating places. Or just stroll to whalers next door for some shops and eateries.

Our biggest concern is how paper thin the walls to the rooms are. People's conversations can be heard easily. In the corridors the sound of flapping Sandles can even be heard. So if noises annoy you it could be a problem as there is little sound proofing. Most people are considerate but we thought worth mentioning in the review.

Wifi: it's free...well you actually pay for it in the daily resort fee!
We do think it is probably getting to the stage where the hotel needs a freshen up.

A really enjoyable time in Maui

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,048
    490
    287
    151
See reviews for
966
1,436
55
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We just got home August 7, 2014 from staying at Westin Maui Resort and Spa for 6 nights. I read a million reviews before I left about this resort and was very skeptical and afraid!! Many reviews were very negative about poor service, unclean rooms, and overall bad experience at this resort. I was impressed the moment we arrived with how friendly everyone was. We arrived too early to check in to our room so they kept our luggage for us until we could get a room, and called my cell phone when our rooms were ready. We had lunch at the only restaurant at the resort called Relish Burger, really good food even though it's expensive. When you travel to Hawaii, just get over the fact that everything is expensive!! It's ALL overpriced, but I have to say at least every single meal we had there was GREAT! Good food. The pools and grounds are beautiful, always clean and nice. Whaler's Village is literally right next door with a food court that has a pizza place, Subway, Mexican, and a burger place. Good food and reasonably priced. I live in Northern CA and this place was comparable to the prices we pay here. Great place to walk for lunch and they also have some breakfast items. Leilani's on the Beach is also a great place to eat, great fish tacos. We walked over here twice during our stay, again expensive, but get over it!

If you go into Lahaina, which you should because Westin has a free shuttle that goes over there every hour, eat at Mick Fleetwood's restaurant called Fleetwoods. Really good! Great wine list and food was excellent. Overall, we had a great stay at the Westin.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

First time in Maui I booked through Pleasant Holidays as I have done numerous times before and I usually choose the first hotel that they recommend and we couldn't have been happier! Hotel is about a 30min drive from the Airport, but it was well worth it, close to Lahaina where you can go shopping, or stay at the hotel and walk to Whalers Village. The Pool area was the highlight for our children, awesome waterslide and holding the talking white parrot and the pool was big enough so it didn't feel crowded, waterfalls made for nice pictures!
Concierge ladies were very friendly and helpful.
Fridge in the room and microwave and toaster by the little coffeeshop downstairs.
Can't wait to got here again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Aloha Austy25,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time. We, too, can't wait to see you again. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Enjoy the rest of you Summer.

Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

On our recent vacation in March 2014, my husband and I stayed at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa. What an absolutely beautiful hotel! This was or first trip to Maui and we were so glad we picked the Westin. The service was amazing, the rooms were roomy and spacious and the location of the hotel was perfect! Everything about our stay at the Westin was perfect and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Krista P,

Thank you so much for your sharing about your stay during this recent Spring. We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful time and that we were your resort destination for your first to trip to Maui. We can't wait to welcome you back for your second trip to Maui. Thank you for choosing us as your home away from home. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Beautiful hotel starting with lobby check-in and continuing to check-out. The lobby is beautiful with tropical fish, birds, flamingos, and swans. Comfortable rooms with friendly, helpful staff. Swimming pools for family and an adult pool with bar, if you do not want to enjoy the ocean on beautiful Kannapali Beach. Many restaurants within walking distance and Whaler's Village right next door for shopping. Many local vendors come to the weekly craft fair held on the beach with local/hand made items.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has a great view of gardens and partial ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: You have a choice of green or regular service. You can choose not to have daily cleaning/towel replacement and receive a coupon for use on the property. Two bottles of water are furnished daily and there is also a mini- fridge in the room.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

One of the best services Westin offers is a free night when you stay a certain number; when I see this offer, it basically will guarantee they will have me as a guest!

We booked an ocean room - and it was beyond worth it. Waking up to seeing Molokai, Lania, and Oahu far off in the distance waking up. The grounds were impeccable. In fact, the grounds were so lovely I really didn't want to leave the resort. From the manicured pool area, lush gardens.. everything was top notch. The pool bar may have been a bit TOO good... as my receipt for daiquiris were at an all time high!

The rooms were standard Westin rooms - the heavenly bed really is.. heavenly. Products all standard, plenty of room.

One of the interesting attributes to the resort is the banyan tree... if you wake up early enough, you can sit on your lanai and hear hundreds & hundreds of birds. It's amazing.

You're located about 5 minutes away from the tiniest airport you will ever experience; there's a complimentary airport shuttle to take you to/from.

Will be revisiting, for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
This could be the best tagline yet. We are so happy to hear that you had the perfect stay. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and with other travelers. We appreciate you choosing us as your home away from home. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing yet another perfect Westin Maui stay. A Hui Hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The lobby is what hits you first - it's an amazing open floor plan centered around a massive fountain carved out of what I believe is natural stone. The fountain itself has flamingos walking around amongst beautiful coi fish. The rooms were were lovely and recently renovated with plenty of space and beautiful balconies, incorporating the famously comfortable Westin bed. In our case, our room was situated on the Northern end of the northernmost tower of their property which allowed for unbelievable views of the beach and the island of Lanai at all times, in addition to the mountains leading right up to the beach.

Restaurants at the hotel were great, and (at least by our New Yorker standards, so take this with a grain of salt) pretty reasonably priced for a big resort like this. Whaler's Village, which is an outdoor shopping mall located directly next to the Westin along the beach, also had some fantastic options. For further options, we were able to take taxis and hotel courtesy shuttles over to Lahaina (about a 10-minute drive) for some further great restaurants and shopping.

The Westin also offers a huge number of activities for which they fully handle planning - everything from Scuba diving (un-certified beginners, like myself, are totally welcome), sunset catamaran cruises, to sunrise bike rides down the side of Haleakala (the main volcano on the island, rising 10,000 feet above sea level - an absolute must see while you're in Maui). When I say there is something here for everyone, I am honestly trying to think of someone that would not leave this place grinning from ear to ear and am drawing a serious blank. For adventurers and casual beach-goers alike, it is a phenomenal experience.

As some other reviews have mentioned, you can get a great discount rate here through a number of online vendors (precisely what we did). While this is a great option to use, just bear in mind that any changes in your reservations (room type at the hotel, flights, airport transfers, etc.) that are necessary might not be able to be done directly by you but rather would need to be done through that online agency (especially if you want to maintain your original discounted rates). This wasn't a problem for us necessarily, just another step in the process for any changes that might come up.

Of particular note, we were at this hotel during the first hurricane that has hit Hawaii directly in 22 years. The staff here handled everything with a huge degree of grace and tact considering the circumstances. One of their restaurants, Relish Burger Bistro, stayed open far later than any of the other restaurants in Whaler's Village or the surrounding resorts, allowing guests to get a great meal in right before the storm. What could have been a disheartening and deflating weather disaster toward the end of our week in Maui was turned into a weirdly pleasant capstone to an already fantastic trip.

All in all, the Westin was an amazing experience, and my fiancée and I are looking forward to coming back again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: Views on the North Side of the property tend to be best from what we have seen, giving you great vis...
See more room tips
Green Features: All cups and utensils that were used on the beach were noted as being fully biodegradable and they had neat informational signs as you went toward the beach of being respectful toward the reef and the wildlife in the area.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.