We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Westin Maui - excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Westin Maui - excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We arrived at the Westin for our anniversary. I asked if there were any upgrades and was given a fabulous room in the Beach Tower, 9th floor with a fantastic view of Kaanapali Beach! First off, the service at the hotel is consistently outstanding. I will try not to repeat other reviewers but there is no problem with the parking, they will valet for free when the lot is full. Everyone from the valet, to the housekeepers, to the pool/beach service and restaurant offered prompt, polite service consistently with every interaction. What a great staff at the Westin!

About the construction.. we heard nothing by the pool and it's a necessary evil if you want to have a nice hotel. We were told by our travel agent about it.. book with Pleasant Holiday's, they are up front, no surprises.

Just a couple constructive criticisms. We had a continental buffet included in our package. It was "served" to us! Not a buffet right? I'm sure it was "served" to us so that they could make sure their guests wouldn't take anything extra. This I found tacky. Set up a separate continental buffet section. We were served, cereal, a sticky mini muffin, one mini croissant, a fruit bowl that consisted of melon and one pineapple chunk. Not even allowed a slice of toast!!! We opted for the breakfast buffet $40 after the first day. I"m sure by offering lousy food this was their end game to get you to buy their upgraded breakfast.

The pool and the grounds are the nicest on Kaanapali Beach in my opinion. However, I don't understand with the size, the lack of shade umbrella's around the pool. There is maybe a couple dozen umbrellas for several hundred chairs. There is plenty of room for more too. The towel game starts at 6am, so be prepared to go save your spot if you want to stay near the pool. Personally, we loved the beach and bought the umbrella and chairs for $40/day and they had plenty. I felt it was well worth it but found 4:00 p.m. a little early to take everything away and close up shop though.

Overall, I give Westin Maui an excellent review. I would not stay anywhere else on Kaanapali Beach as they have the nicest pool, a great beach and excellent service. Know that starting at the Marriott, there is no beach to sit on from that point down to and including the Hyatt. Our first time at a Westin, we are usually stay at Marriott's or Hyatt's but I had researched about the beach. I will definitely add Westin to my list of choice hotels. A wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the beach tower, ocean view deluxe room facing the pools, high floor. You won't be disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    1,106
    521
    301
    163
See reviews for
1,034
1,538
56
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel for our honeymoon. Would not hesitate to stay here in the future. We stayed for our honeymoon. The best feature for us was the adult pool and bar. Since we went in September there weren't a bunch of kids, but the adult pool and hot tub were nice. The adult pool bar was also our favorite place to watch the sunset! And don't forget happy hour at both bars from 5p-6p! We did the breakfast buffet one day. It was pricey but the convenience was nice. The free bottle of champagne delivered to the room for our honeymoon was a nice touch. Our room was on the 6th floor and had a view of the mountains. Construction was taking place on Floor 8 and up between the hours of 9a-5p. Even though it was 2 floors up you could hear the vibration from drills and construction equipment. It didn't bother us too much since we weren't in the room during the day. However there was one day I wanted to take a nap but wasn't able to due to the construction noise. Even though our rooms was not one of the ones that had been renovated yet, it was still very nicely appointed, up to date, and not tired and abused looking. The king bed was super comfy! We enjoyed the little perks like the fridge in the room and two free bottles of water a day. I also loved the towel card system. Since there was a fee tied to lost beach towels, it prevented people from reserving chairs early in the morning. We never had a problem finding a chair at the pool! The only disappointment is that we were hoping for a room upgrade since it was our honeymoon, but didn't get one. Practically everyone at check-in was on their honeymoon or anniversary. Plus, there were a lot of rooms closed due to the renovations. While we were hoping for an ocean view, the view of the mountains was still really pretty. Aloha!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pebble Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am really not sure there is a rating high enough for this resort. It is beautiful! Perfect for families with young children; couples; honeymooners; friends....it is a joy for us to return year after year AND be remembered! Dawn, at Front Desk Registration for Starwood, goes out of her way to provide amazing service, upgrade in rooms and the spirit and warmth of a true local (and one of the may long time employees). We were fortunate enough to be given an upgrade to the 10th floor - BEACH FRONT! We enjoyed nightly sunsets on our balcony, early morning watching the boats align for a day of paragliding, sightseeing etc. My husband and I have returned to this resort every year for the past ten years and are already looking forward to our next trip. The grounds are beautifully maintained and pool AREAS provide more than enough room for all to relax and enjoy. Adult pool, poolside bar, childrens' pool area, and another pool for all in between. The poolside waitresses are wonderful - SO accommodating -again - after almost 1-1/2 years always remember my husband and I... Kesia, Maria, Lupe. Only change is they have "new management" for the pool towel service. Not good! they are pushing their products (Maui Jims and an organic tan lotion) each time you approach for towels. Yes they are nice but bring back the employees that have serviced that area for years. One young man w/ this 'new service' is known as "creepy lotion guy" as he makes the rounds mid afternoon to all pushing his lotions and potions. Bottom line - stay with what you had - it was a good thing. As for location - we drive in - park the car and walk to Whalers Village (5 minutes) for dinner every night. Also many wonderful restaurants in the other direction - 10 minute walk from the hotel. The Bellmen greet you with a warm and welcoming smile EACH time you walk in or out....WAY TO GO WESTIN ! Cannot say enough - change is not always good and the best thing you (management) can do is to recognize this -keep the good thing you have going. There has been a reason your employees have stayed for so many years and have LOVED their jobs. They show that in everything they do and take great pride in doing so - TRUE ALOHA spirit. (Nice new rooms too - Mahalo). Again - MANAGEMENT - TAKE NOTE - take care of what you have! See you in 8 months :-)

Room Tip: If you can get in the Beach Front Tower..9th or 10th floors - Amazing! Also the Ocean Views are lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A lovely hotel, great service and staff, clean and tidy rooms that are relatively modern and a good resort layout - location is great variety of restaurants and the buffet breakfast is awesome!! the whole resort has a feel of luxury and the 'adult' pool with bar and spa is a nice retreat from the family friendly areas of the resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Located in beautiful Kaanapali (Lahaina), we felt the Westin was the best resort in the area in terms of location and resort grounds. If you are in Kapalua or Wailea, it takes much longer to get to some of the popular sites in Maui. Best layouts of their pools with waterfalls and two slides (one small, the other much bigger and very fun -- a must do!), and best location to lay out in a chair and see the sunset while still being "in" the resort. The pool chairs furthest out are situated on the top of a slope which gives you a great vantage point to see the ocean and people watch those who walk the boardwalk (which we walked almost every night) along Kaanapali Beach. Whaler's Village is a couple minutes walk away and numerous restaurants close by without having to get into your car if desired. All hotel staff from front desk, guest services, servers, etc are very friendly and accommodating. We initially were given a room with a double bed (on our honeymoon, are you kidding?) but was given a room with a King bed the next night. The rooms with the double beds are a bit cramped, but have all the necessities. Our Premium Deluxe Ocean View had a view of the pools and the beach, was spacious (great layout of the bathroom) and clean, and re-stocked very well by the nice ladies of housekeeping. Since it was our honeymoon, we were offered a complimentary bottle of champagne by the hotel during out stay. Ate at Tropica (hotel's fine dining option) and the food was delicious. The burgers at Relish (hotel bar and restaurant) were decent but the drinks good. Great hotel for families and couples alike -- very fun yet relaxing, rooms are quiet (could not hear the hundreds of birds that like to congregate in the hotel's trees or the huge waterfall at the lobby's entrance), shuttle available to nearby hotels and downtown Lahaina, quick valet staff (they will park your car for free if self-parking is full). Even with the construction we had no issues with noise or interference -- can't wait to see the results of the renovation. Would definitely return for a stay and would recommend the resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the resort's pool have the nicest view, no matter if it is considered "ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent location, nice amenities - pools and grounds. However rooms are quite dated and small. There was renovation going on, so hopefully it would be better. Food in resort restaurants is ok, take couple steps to nearby plaza for better restaurants.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Westin on previous occasions and as before had a very relaxing stay.
Check in (&check out) was quick but the assistant who attended to me was marginally irritable for no reason or any rudeness on my part. Others in our group (of 9 seniors) felt the same. She must have been having a bad day. At other times I found the reservation & concierge desks quite obliging.
The location is great with Whalers’ Village, a shopping mall with many restaurants, being adjacent to the hotel. For more shopping, eating & entertainment venues, Lahaina Town is a couple of miles south. The Westin provides a free shuttle to Lahaina for hotel guests which services the Westin & Sheraton Hotels & the Westin Condos .
The hotel grounds are good. There are a number of pools including an adults only pool, all set in a tropical ‘rocky’ setting. There are a number of sheltering umbrellas but those lounges with umbrellas are occupied quite early in the day. The surroundings are very relaxing particularly the adult area. The Resort is virtually on the beach and there are many activities available. We were not bothered by children.
We were a group of 9 (senior) people staying in various levels of accommodation. One couple was unhappy that their Deluxe Ocean View room looked over the roofs of Whalers Village adjacent to the hotel; another couple was given a Deluxe room next to the lift. However the hotel swapped one of the rooms the same day and the other room was changed the following day. Our Deluxe Ocean View room was very spacious. It was clean, well equipped and well maintained. The bed was very comfortable – a Westin/Sheraton signature point. However, like everything in Maui it came at a price.
The hotel gym had a comprehensive though not exhaustive range of equipment to cater for resistance & cardio training. I found that I was able to maintain my exercise program quite easily by substituting the machines I am used to with alternatives available.
The hotel has a number of restaurants and a snack bar serving Starbucks coffee and other snacks including cereal in the morning. We dined at Relish. The food was quite good. Unfortunately the server wasn’t . She split a drink over the area where I was sitting though fortunately I was not in the seat at the time. When I returned a minute later the server replaced the drink but was in no hurry to clean up the mess, apologize or attempt to swab my bag to stop it from staining. I had to go to the bar and ask for water and a flannel to clean it and request her to return to the table to clean up the mess which she did with absorbent paper towels leaving me with a wet sticky seat; I had to ask her to bring water and toweling to properly clean up the sugary mess. It took a good half an hour for her to apologize;. she offered me a complimentary dink and offered to make good any damage to the bag. AWEFUL service and certainly not in keeping with the Westin Image.
We had breakfast included in the tariff. It was very good value in consideration of the extra charge ($10 for 2).
Overall, a most enjoyable stay and I would stay there again though it is not the most cost effective accommodation in the area.

Room Tip: The Deluxe Ocean view rooms (40sqm) are a comfortable size but not inexpensive. We had a pool facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.