We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Westin Maui is in a great location next to whaler's village (good shopping outdoor mall). There are many restaurants around too. The beach is narrow here, but beautiful. Walk south about 100meters and the beach sand gets wider and less crowded. Rooms are nice, but small.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit to Maui. Warmest aloha from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    1,048
    490
    287
    153
See reviews for
967
1,439
55
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Forget the room and you'll be just fine! We were in a premium deluxe ocean-view room. While the view was to die for, the room itself was just okay. The carpet was worn, the dresser was propped up with pieces of wood, but the bed was comfy and the bathroom clean. But who goes to Hawaii to stay inside? (Even honeymooners like us wanted to enjoy the sun, sand and surf). The pools are crowded with kids - adults, definitely plant yourself at the adults only pool (16+). The beach is gorgeous, but the Westin will charge you for chairs (even on top of the $30 a day resort fee). Save a few dollars, go to Boss Frogs and rent snorkel equipment for the week instead of paying the hotel $8 per snorkel piece per day. If you rent a car, and you should, you should also check out the local bays with excellent snorkeling. There's not much to see directly in front of the Westin ocean, but a quick walk down the boardwalk to the Sheraton, you'll see fish and turtles at Black Rock. Use your rental car to also explore the many restaurants around the island. Eating at Ono's, the Colonade and the Beach Bar gets old after a day. The Ono breakfast prices were pretty steep, but a few steps away, the Colonade offered egg sandwiches, smoothies, coffee, pastries and more. Do your research, the concierge will send you where they want, not where the food is best. The concierge will also sell you on going to visit their sister timeshare property. During our trip, there was construction going on, but it didn't really interrupt our vacation. The biggest inconvenience was the self parking lot constantly being full - but valet would take self parked cars at that time. Overall, most of the staff was friendly enough. Aside from turquoise blue water and endless ocean views, being close to Lahaina, Kahana, Kapalua and other towns was a huge plus!

Room Tip: Room in the main building was under construction, definitely opt for the beach tower, which overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Maui is truly a romantic getaway and offers diverse experiences as you had kindly shared. We look forward to your return and delighting you with our new resort enhancements and more island adventures. Warmest Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent 6 nights here with my wife and 4 kids, ages 19, 16, 14 and 5. Staff as a whole is VERY friendly and welcoming. My wife and I noticed it a LOT. If you don't want to spent a small fortune for the buffet breakfast, the coffee stand sells $7 breakfast sandwiches which were big and tasted good. The range of animals to admire and feed (huge Koi, pelicans, and a swan named Newman), pools with slides, as well as the beach kept my 5 year old (and the older kids for that matter) entertained. The older kids walked over to the shopping village next door to the hotel and shopped, ate and "hung out". We also walked to blackrock and snorkeled (quite good actually) and jumped off the rocks. We didn't do the luau (pricey, particular for all 6 of us to go).

They're remodeling but our rooms looked new. Modern, comfortable with nice bathrooms. Housekeeping staff very very nice. Free valet parking when self-park lot is full is a nice touch.

Only small nit was the restaurant by the pool was a little disappointing. Live music, but, honestly seriously lame. Like caricature lame, but I understand, they're trying. Interesting menu, but the kitchen seemed slow each time we ate there, cocktails are $10 but hey, I expected that (hot tip, the hotel gift shop sells liquor ;-> ).

Highlight of our stay was getting to know Pineapple Mike. Michael operates a stand near the coffee kiosk from early in the morning until just after noon (he has a pineapple and vanilla business). He's been at the Westin for over 25 years and is the nicest guy you'll meet in Maui. Every morning we'd chat with him, he introduced the kids to various animals and gave them food to feed them, and finally gave us a boatload of useful tips for our trip. He's the hotel's unofficial goodwill ambassador. Go introduce yourself to him, you won't regret it. He's not nice because he's trying to sell you something. He's nice because he's a nice guy, period.

Gym is nice and overlooks the pool area. We worked out 4 or 5 times and it was mostly empty.

Note - our flight home left at 9:30PM. Checkout is 12PM (which I think is very fair). The hotel gave us an hour to use a hospitality suite (a room with a Couch, TV and bathroom) in the late afternoon so we could shower up before heading to the airport. Consequently we got a lot more out of our last day there.

Looking forward to going back when the remodel is done.

Room Tip: If possible ask them NOT to put you in a room that's adjacent to the shopping village. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are delighted your family retreat was an enjoyable one and appreciate the special recognition extended to Pineapple Mike. He certainly exudes the warm spirit of Aloha and is a treasured member of our island Ohana (family). We look forward to your return and sharing our enhanced features.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audubon, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel was very pretty and you could always find a place on the beach. The worst part of the hotel is on the outside part of the ocean tower(try not to stay in a room facing Whalers Village). We were on the fourth floor on this side and it was the worst location to get away from the city life. We are from the city and even though it says ocean view I hated it. There is a parking lot and restaruants on that side so we awlays heard the food trucks backing up to the restaurants blowing their horns and it starts very early in the morning(5:30-6 am). Not to mention the a/c was so noisy we could not even hear the ocean at all. It's a beautiful complex but I will never stay here if I'm put over there again! We came on vacation to get away from the city noises and it felt like we were back in the city.DO NOT STAY IN THE OCEAN TOWER FACING WHALERS VILLAGE. The other problem was you could hear the guy in the next room going to the bathroom, as I'm sure they heard me. Walls are thin so you can hear your neighbors. So, it's tough to rate this hotel. The hotel is beautiful but certain rooms you have to stay away from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Mahalo for your valuable feedback. We are truly sorry that the noise from the neighboring shopping village prevented you from enjoying complete renewal during your stay with us. We look forward to providing a refreshing experience on your next visit. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overpriced. Staff really not terribly friendly. Far from town. If you are rich and can pay for a sea view go for it, our view of the car park was less inspiring. The maid service ran out of shower gel and shampoo. On the upside, our unit was comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view or enjoy the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Mahalo for your feedback. We will share your comments with our team for further improvements. In the meantime, we hope you were able to relax by our pools and enjoy the ocean views as well as take advantage of the complimentary shuttle service to Lahaina town. We await your return and creating an unforgettable experience. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just returned from The Westin Maui after a brilliant 5 nights. After having a blast in Waikiki we were worried Maui might disappoint but we were proved wrong within seconds of entering the hotel lobby. It was amazing to have an outdoor lobby with flamingos, koi and birds. We were allowed an early check in at 11am which was great. We spent 5 days swimming in those pools and down the water slides. The big water slide is so much fun! The outdoor landscaping was beautiful! The property itself is smaller compared to the other places on the beach but the layout and landscaping makes the area feel spacious. We also found the pool staff to be amazing. They were so friendly and the service was the best we've ever had. They were very genuine and not fake at all which was nice. They recognized us on several occasions and came to say hello. The location of this hotel is brilliant also. It is next to Whalers Village and all the activity seemed to center around us which we like. Next time we would rent a car though. Our friends hired a van and took us into Lahaina for dinner on our last night and it was a cool little town. We also realized there is a lot more to explore than just the area where we were staying. The car parking is also provided at the hotel in the resort charge. The beach area is also beautiful, probably the best spot on the whole beach. We set ourselves up everyday on a lounger that looked at the beach but was close by the pools so we got the best of both. Black Rock is about a 5 minute walk and they have snorkeling down there as well as the famous jump which the kids did. The accommodation was nice as well. We didn't spend much time in the room at all because we were down at the beach/pool area all day. They are renovating the main tower of the hotel which we were staying in. We didn't think our room was bad at all however a renovation is a good idea to lift the whole hotel. This hotel has something for everyone. There is peace up in the adults only pool and on the beach. It is busy in the pool areas because majority of guests are families, including us. We loved the energy in the main pools and all children were well behaved.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday. Although one of the most expensive stays we've had, we were incredibly impressed by The Westin Maui in all aspects. It is well worth becoming an SPG member since its free and we have accumulated points through spending we would normally do at the hotel anyway. We are planning to return to Maui next year and are coming back here again. Mahalo Westin :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your wonderful experiences during your recent stay with us. We look forward to sharing our enhancements that include new dining and guestroom renewal when you return. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Westin Maui is a gorgeous hotel with spectacular service. Easy to get to from the airport when traveling with a rental car. The property itself sits right on the best part of Kaanapali Beach. The Westin has an expansive part of the beach and the beach is never really crowded. Chair and umbrella rental available. The pool area is very large with several pools and a hot tub, a small water slide, and a large loopy fast water slide for kids and adults! Bar and food service available at pool. With such a large hotel, pool never felt crowded. Only drawback of the pool is there are so many lounge chairs that they wedge them inches apart and hard to move. We had to pull chairs out of the way so we did not have to sit within inches of strangers lounging in the sun. Activities desk near pool for adventure trip booking. Scuba instructor poolside for lesson and beach dives, Doug is great! The hotel property itself is beautiful. Open air lobby with ponds, waterfalls, swans, a duck and flamingos. So so pretty! Service was outstanding, anything you ask for, you get! Stayed in beach tower suite which was very clean and roomy. Unlike other reviews, our room was very clean and no stains! Beautiful view of beach from our 9th floor room. The only negative I could say about the Westin, was Kathy, our concierge. I felt she rushed us when looking for things to do and all she wanted to push was a 90 minute trip to the Westin Villas for a timeshare tour which we did not want to want precious vacation time to look at a timeshare we had no interest in. She booked it anyways when I said I don't think we want to do it. We did not go. We went to another concierge, Matt, who was not pushy and so helpful in talking with us on things to do and helped my husband immensely with planning a surprise vow renewal ceremony. Ask for Matt!! Will without a doubt stay at the Westin Maui!

Room Tip: Choose Beach Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Mahalo for your valuable feedback. We are thrilled to know Doug and Matt enhanced your stay with personal and instinctive services. We look forward to welcoming you back. Stay well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.