We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concierge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Concierge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was our third stay at the Westin Resort and it was absolutely fabulous! What made this trip extra special for us was the amazing concierge. Specifically, one concierge named Matthew Keyser, was beyond phenomenal! From the first day he greeted us in the lobby, he guided us and helped us with our weekly itinerary. He assisted us on where to dine, what activities would be great for our kids, and he went above and beyond! You can tell that Matthew just loves what he does, and it shows! It was also my husband's birthday, and he made sure that a special cake was delivered to the room that day. Thank you Matt, and thank you Westin for making our family vacation the best it could ever be! We'll see you soon for sure:)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Your generous praises will certainly be shared with all. Thank you for recognizing Matthew and the concierge team. We are delighted your family getaway was perfect in every way and look forward to your return. Warmest aloha from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,362
    1,045
    489
    283
    151
See reviews for
964
1,430
55
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is one of the best and most relaxing hotels I have ever been too. The three diiferent pools and waterfalls are a very cool feature they have along with the outdoor lobby and koi pond.The landscaping is beautiful, perfect for a couples get away.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed our pools and the captivating scenery. We eagerly await your return to The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I realize they are going through renovations but that should have been done YEARS ago. The carpet was gross and the vents were covered with dust including the sprinkler head in the bathroom which made us feel really safe! The grounds are nice and service is okay but I would expect much better service from a resort. The lady at Starbuck's was too busy complaining about another employee to make my drink right and when I corrected her you could tell she was not happy. I would not choose this hotel again even with renovations. We stayed at a Marriott the last few nights and that is what service and cleanliness is about. I also don't mind paying for breakfast but a standard no frills breakfast buffet that is $60 for two people is absurd.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Your valuable feedback is much appreciated, thank you. Rest assured that we will look into the areas you mentioned as we believe in making each guest experience a memorable one. On your next trip to Maui, we hope you will enjoy our transformed guestrooms and services that reflect the warmth of Hawaiian hospitality. Malama pono (take care).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Celebrated our father's 80th birthday with the crew all going to Maui. Westin was ideal with its pools, on beach, next to shopping, and walk to black rock.

This was our second trip to Westin and being there in July made it MUCH more pleasant than March. The pools were much more refreshing in the 80 degree weather. The ocean was pleasant and we didn't need any wetsuits to stay in the water all day long.

The waitstaff were as always very good. Concierge and AMEX were helpful. Checkin was much improved staffing to balance the checkin load this time around.

Parking remains difficult with the renovations ongoing. Free valet when its full takes the edge off though.

Being Platinum we got free continental breakfast....There is NO other cold buffet that matches what this Westin has for its Platinums. Amazing.

The rooms are small if you're on the Ocean Tower. The management upgraded our father's room to the Presidential suite for the stay. Wow. Absolutely amazing.

Cabana rentals are very reasonable. Reserve at least 2 weeks ahead. $105 per day and includes water all day and pineapples at 1pm.

Room Tip: Request Beach Tower if you can. Reserve Cabanas at least 2 weeks before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are delighted you chose to stay with us to celebrate this memorable occasion. Thank you for sharing your enjoyable experiences and your continued loyalty as a valued SPG member. We await your return! Me ke aloha pumehana (warmest aloha)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My first choice in hotels is always Starwood Westin properties so it was a no-brainer for me to stay here for our "Babymoon". We expected to mostly lounge around the hotel property since I was 6 months pregnant and not able to partake in our usual excursions. This was by far one of the MOST disappointing and upsetting hotel experiences I've had.

Room #1 - We had requested a king bed but they put us in a room with two doubles and rather than a mountain view, it was a parking lot view on the 10th floor. All night long all we listened to were the sounds of the car alarms going off and what sounded like garbage trucks (or maintenance trucks) beeping and setting off more car alarms as they drove around. I asked the front desk if we could switch rooms because we could not get any sleep listening to car alarms all night long. It also did not feel like we were on a tropical island but rather in the middle of a big city. They told me they could not move us, did not even try to help us. I then had our travel agent call and they were able to get the hotel to switch our rooms.

Room #2 - No more car alarms going off, but this room seemed like it was the punishment room and they were putting us here because we had complained. No joke, it was the DIRTIEST, SMELLIEST ROOM I've ever stayed in. See photos for proof of that, however the photos don't do it justice. The bathroom smelled like urine, even after I had housecleaning come up to clean it. It did not have a Westin Heavenly shower head, but an old dirty, grimy, one. Everything was filthy, I did not want to touch or sit on the bed. The AC was broken so we had to have maintenance come fix it, then the bathtub was clogged so we had to call maintenance back to fix that. Within the first few hours I was in tears and so upset about our "babymoon". There was nothing relaxing about our last trip before the baby. I finally complained to the property manager and they gave us a third room.

Room #3 - Still not the best room, but after the first two it was fine to get us through the rest of the trip. The only complaints were stains and hair on the clean towels and a huge stain on the comforter, so I just did not use it for the rest of the trip. Pretty frustrating but at this point I was just trying to salvage what was left of our trip and make the best out of the few days we had left.

Overall the location of this property was good, close to the beach and lots of shops and restaurants. Pool area was decent, but the room situation ruined my trip. Never thought I could be so miserable in Hawaii! Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Words cannot express our regret for failing to make your babymoon a renewing experience. We look forward to connecting personally with you at yourmauiexperience@westin.com at your earliest convenience. Please know that the comfort and satisfaction of each and every guest is of utmost priority to us. We appreciate your feedback and will ensure necessary measures are taken to restore your confidence on your return visit. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I was very excited to stay at the Westin. I left extremely disappointed. The pool and beach were very good however. If you like large crowds and drunk tourists then you will love this resort. The pool is also great for kids. In addition the resort charges a $25 resort fee for internet, parking and water. It does not include valet. This practice in Maui needs to stop. The service in the hotel is extremely poor and many rooms (even those already updated) are sub-par. This is not what I anticipated from a Westin Resort. 2 stars only because of the pool. I felt like I was in Myrtle Beach and not Hawaii. Other resorts in Maui convince you that you are in a special place and on a beautiful island-not here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are truly sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. In addition to the award-winning pool and beach experiences, we do hope you were able to indulge in the various complimentary activities designed for guest renewal including cultural fun for all ages. Knowing summer is a popular season in tropical destinations such as Hawaii, we have secluded spots within the resort for quiet serenity, ranging from beautiful garden settings to cozy cabanas and adults-only pool area. We hope to share with you our new guestroom enhancements upon your return to the islands. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful grounds. Meticulous. Pool is clean. Beach is lovely. Service is slow, but they aim to please. Rennovations mean they are constantly improvingg. Nothing wrong with that. Love the valet service. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind understanding and feedback. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.