We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This resort was more than I could of asked for. Great location, great place to book excursions, best drinks, wonderful beach!!!. Everything you could of asked for was right there. The shuttle was great too that took you to Lahaina's Front Street and to the grocery store. At the Lahaina's gateway, if you walk up the hill there is a great place to eat. Star Noodle!!! This was great. We went 2 times. The hotel is like a 10 min walk for Black Rock where you can snorkel. I left my sunglasses at home and right at the hotel there where 3 places to buy Maui Jim's. When we go back we will def stay there again. The beach in front was never crowded! Several great places to eat in a 5 min walk. Whales Village right next door with tons of shopping and eating. Several times during the week at whalers village, they had dancing and singing!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Mahalo for your glowing review! We are delighted your island getaway was a perfect one. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,454
    1,107
    521
    302
    164
See reviews for
1,036
1,539
56
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (908)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The resort is beautiful, large and in a great location on the beach. However, our room was well worn (rust stains in the tub, bedspread had tears, chipped furniture, worn carpet.) The good news for future travelers is that they are renovating the rooms. (If you are going soon you may deal with noise.)

The report itself was lovely. Beautiful lobby and grounds. Helpful and pleasant employees. Plenty of chairs at the pool. Plenty of parking (and one night when we couldn't get self-parking they waived the fee for valet.) I traveled with my husband and we took advantage of the adult-only pool area and nearby bar. But there were plenty of families there and a large water slide for kids (it looked awesome!)

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room that is away from the construction - we could occasionally hear it eight f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We appreciate your kind comments on the resort’s perfect setting along legendary Ka’anapali Beach. We look forward to surprising you with enhanced features on your next visit. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We enjoyed the Westin Maui a lot as our first experience staying in Maui. The rooms are smallish, but you would expect that from a building that was built in the '60's. Our room was on the ocean side, and it was so dreamy to sit on the balcony and look out at the sea or take a nap with the door open, letting the sultry breeze fill the room. The reception area is important to my wife and me, and they get this right--the reception area is huge and open, letting in the warm breeze, with a flamingo pond and a waterfall as the backdrop and with musicians greeting you. We loved that they had an adult-only pool. One hundred yards up the beach is a mall full of shopping and dining opportunities, and a little further up the beach is a famous snorkeling point. You're also just a short drive from all the action in Lahaina. A big thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your review with us on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were staying in Maui and decided to use some starwood points we had saved up to use the pool and slide as well as beach access for our child and baby. I'd say the only thing that was good about this property was leaving. It feels cheesy upon checkin with a garish lobby. The room, even though upgraded was tiny and we found a big fat cockroach. They had water problems while we were there so when we showered blue stuff came out of the shower. While our little 9 month old was slipping they were sawing pipes which obviously woke the baby. The only good thing was that out 6 year old loved the water slide and the adult part of the pool is not bad. Beach access is also great and they do have umbrellas for rent and snorkel gear. Also,the hotel was nice enough to refund some of the starwood points because of the bad experience. All in all, I would never stay here since only one night was a bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
While the comfort and satisfaction of each and every guest is of the highest priority to us, we regret that your experience was less than satisfactory. We hope you will return to allow us to pamper you with our traditional service of excellence. Aloha and stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It is so relaxing & everyone is so welcoming! The rooms are comfortable & of course, the bedding is the BEST. Love listening to the ocean & sitting on the deck with our coffee each morning. The restaurants & staff are very good. We enjoy it all each time we stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for compliments. The combination of Westin’s renewing touches such as the iconic Heavenly Bed and Hawaii’s warm spirit of aloha is a winning one and we are delighted you enjoyed the amenities and excellent services. Warmest Aloha and we await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Westin overbooked their rooms so our room was downgraded. No refund or apology given. Staff was very friendly except the staff running the parking lot. They left a lot to be desired. They were rude and apparently some of them didn't know what they were doing. They were yelling at each other and at guests. It seemed like they didn't fit in with "aloha spirit". I wonder if the Westin Management team know this is a problem area in their hotel.

The amenities were great. The outside bar/cafe was over priced for the quality of food served.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your valuable feedback. While all of us are fully committed towards provide a renewing experiences for our guests, it is most regretted that your stay with us was not so. We hope to restore your faith upon your return. Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

From the moment we walked into the lobby, I knew it was going to be a wonderful stay. You walk into a large koi pond with flamingos, and swans (both black and white swans) and a beautiful waterfall. Suddenly the long plane ride to get here felt worth it. There is a pathway underneath the waterfall and you can get fun pictures underneath the waterfall. We were staying at this hotel because a close friend of ours was getting married here. They chose to get married underneath the waterfall. It was spectacular.

The service was wonderful. We had splurged a bit on this trip and paid for an oceanview room. The first room we were given (Room 275) was a fine room, but in my opinion, it had a partial oceanview room at best. I hate complaining about rooms, but the oceanview rooms were expensive, so I went back down to the lobby immediately upon checking in and explained that I was unhappy with the view and requested a room with a full ocean view or requested to be downgraded to another room and get reimbursed for the difference in the room since I had already paid for the room. Fortunately, the hotel had the ability that night to put us in a better room. They gave us room 829 and it was incredible. The first room was smaller, but I'd rather have a nice view than a larger room. It was fairly central in the main building and had an amazing oceanview with a view of two other islands and a balcony. Friends of ours stayed in Room 832, and they had an incredibly beautiful mountainview.

The beds and pillows were comfortable. The shower had fairly strong water pressure, which is a huge plus for me.

The hotel had several pools with waterfalls and even waterslides. I couldn't resist and had to go on one of the slides because it is not everyday you stay somewhere with a waterslide.

The award winning junior's mai tai at the one beach bar and restaurant down by the pools was delicious. Our friends tried several different mai tais from several different places and said this one was the best. I believed it as it was quite spectacular. We had several over the course of our stay. The service at the bar/restaurant area by the pool was great for drinks but the service kind of sucked when a bunch of us ate dinner there one night.

We attended the Thursday night luau during our stay. It was a lot of fun. The food was delicious, the entertainment was fun, and the drinks kept flowing.

We truly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it to other travels. We were very sad to leave and hope to return one day. It was a small slice of paradise.

Room Tip: If you want an oceanview, you do not want room 275 or rooms in that general vicinity as I think that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Ka’anapali Beach fronting the resort certainly presents mesmerizing ocean views and spectacular sunsets while West Maui Mountains forms a magnificent backdrop. We are delighted you and your friends were able to enjoy the distinctive views and appreciate your heartfelt praises. We look forward to your return visit and creating more refreshing moments. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.