We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #23 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My family and I spent 5 nights at the Westin in Maui. I was worried about the rooms because of other people's comments, but we decided to stay anyway. We had 2 adults, a 15 and 9 year old in one room. The room had 2 double beds and a pull out couch. It was perfect! The hotel is fabulous!! Beautiful waterfall in lobby, flamingos, ducks, a gorgeous venue! Our room was great! We overlooked the pool and ocean. We loved this hotel and have stayed at many luxury hotels. The staff was amazing, and everyone was very friendly. My teenage daughter loved Whalers Village where you can eat, shop and enjoy amazing sunsets all within walking distance. The only downfall is the location is 1 hour and 20 mins from the airport, road to Hana and some other activities that we did on that side of the island. Still a great location and I would stay at the Westin again. I am so glad that I ignored the negative comments and stayed at the Westin!

Room Tip: Request a higher level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
We certainly enjoyed having you and your family with us and appreciate the glowing review. Until your return for yet another inspiring family getaway, warmest Aloha from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,146
    925
    442
    262
    139
See reviews for
861
1217
46
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (635)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was our first visit to the Island and we could not have been happier. The resort has a great location on Ka'anapali beach and has a lovely tropical feel. Cascading waterfalls, tropical lagoons and lush colorful plants everywhere. Be warned you will want to take a million pictures!! It was by far the nicest of all the resorts in Ka'anapali. All of the staff we encountered were very genuine and welcoming, especially Grace at the front desk and Faith at Ono's. The resort offers a complimentary shuttle to Lahaina, and an amazing breakfast buffet. We had a late flight out (10pm) as they were fully booked they could not extend a late check out but were kind enough to offer use of a hospitality suite later in the day so we could go the beach and refresh and shower before our flight home. That was truly appreciated as it allowed us to extend our stay in paradise just a few hour longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Your generous compliments are most heart-warming and certainly inspire our associates, thank you! We appreciate the special recognition extended to Grace from Front Desk and Faith from Ono Bar & Grill. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had the most wonderful start to our honeymoon here. The facilities were fabulous and the staff very friendly and accommodating. The adult only pool was great and the pool side service was prompt. The rooms were comfortable (albeit a little dated) and the beds super super comfy (as you would expect given it is a Westin). The staff very kindly upgraded us and gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne when they found out it was our honeymoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
What a delightful way to start your wedded bliss! Maui is truly romantic and we appreciate the opportunity to pamper you on your island getaway. Wishing you the very best and looking forward to celebrating your anniversaries in many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was our Honeymoon and worth splurging, resort was amazing , offered every possible amenity. Gorgeous beaches and rooms. Food & location awesome, only issue, rooms were tiny having not much room to spread out & hotel didnt do anything special even despite knowing was our honeymoon

Room Tip: High floor, Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

1st time in hawaii,my wife and 2 older kids(23,21). we arrived from ny at 9:30 pm hawaii time after an exhausting day of travel.we were zonked but were immediately struck by the lobby 'pool'. wow! flamingos,black swans and facinating fish hanging out together. we checked in and crashed.my wife and i had an ocean view room with a terrace that was lovely.i cant recall a better bed/pillow experience at any hotel and weve travelled.we stayed for 3 days. the main pool was fine with a great slide. the beach and walkway between the hotels were lovely with chairs/cabanas/hammocks along the way. we didnt spend extra on cabannas but the lounge chairs were fine. we did rent a car but while at the westin we used the free shuttle to get to lahaina (good tourist town with good restaurants,a great banyan tree complex,art galleries,movie theater).the whalers village is within easy walking distance of the hotel so you can skip the absurdly expensive breakfast at the hotel (though we did the hotel brkfst d 1 not knowing better). we didnt get to snorkel off black rock- the 'red flags'(warning for rough surf and swimming with poor coral visibility) were up each day. in fact that was the case the entire week of our trip, even at the fairmont, our next hotel,in the south, and in makena. our only good snorkling was with the molikini trilogy trip. overall great setting,lovely hotel-expensive of course with the almost universal for hawaii daily resort fee.but very relaxing intro to hawaii.

Room Tip: we loved ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here June 1-3, 2013 for two free nights on our points. Our first impression was a bummer because although it was 3 pm our room was not ready. We waited until 5 pm to finally be told our room was ready...it then took 40 minutes for our bags to be brought up. A bit irritated.

Because we have platinum status we were upgraded to an amazing view room. That was truly a highlight for us~ but even having the upgrade, this hotel is in desperate need of renovation. The carpet looks old and tired, the rooms need painting and the bed was definitely NOT heavenly. We have stayed at many other Westin, W and St Regis hotels with our SPG membership and this is not their best resort at all. I had the worst nights sleep on a very lumpy bed with old lumpy pillows. The service here is ok. It is a loud pool area and in general, Kaanapali/Lahaina is like Disneyland in Maui. If you are looking for peace and quiet then look elsewhere.

Now for the good~THE SPA was amazing!!! The spa staff was wonderful and the facilities are just beautiful looking out to the ocean. I had one of the best massages EVER by Dee. She has been there for a very long time and she is so professional. Her hands are very strong and she worked my knots out beyond belief. I have had some heavy stress I was carrying when I walked in and when I left I was so incredibly relaxed! We booked ahead of time and used some spa finder gift cards so we had a bit of a discount for the 80 minute deep tissue. And because we were Platinum we got an additional percentage off.

Breakfast was good and the price was not much more than looking for another restaurant thinking you are going to save money. Unless you just want coffee and a muffin elsewhere, it is worth staying put and eating there. Definitely eat dinner off site.

We would not come back to this resort mainly because we like Wailea better, but also because it needs a make over and better service.

Room Tip: High level room for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are delighted that your spa renewal provided the perfect relief during your Maui vacation. While the iconic Westin Heavenly Bed with its layers of comfort is greatly enjoyed by our guests, we are sorry you did not find it so. We have shared your additional feedback with our team and look forward to an opportunity to indulge you with enhanced features on your next visit to Maui. Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a great place for the money. We always felt at home. The rooms can be a bit on the broken/dingy side if you don't get the right room. This is a place that you need to just go ahead & pay for & not go on the cheap. I say this because we got to see the difference first hand when different groups in our parties had different sized rooms. The nicer rooms were GREAT - the lower priced rooms not so much.

But it's a great location - best part of the island. The pool is fantastic & we wore the heck out of the water slide. The staff is cool. The breakfast is always good - the bar/restaurant always a good time in the evenings. This was our second visit & I'm sure we'll stay here again. Just a really warm, friendly, safe-feeling environment.

Room Tip: Pay up for a bigger room with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.