We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice due to the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Think twice due to the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My relationship with this establishment is much alike the Whitney Houston classic, "Didn't we almost have it all" ... with the emphasis on the word almost. The gorgeous foryer, incorporation of nature into the lobby and common areas of the hotel and proximity to Whaler's Village are reasons enough alone to belt out praise. However, my voice would crack come chorus time due to the rampant deferred maintenance (carpet, wall paper, plumbing, etc.). A couple key notes of annoyance include:

- lack of full use of the facilities due to certain pools and areas being reserved for activities despite paying a daily $30 resort fee. If $30 is paid, full access should be a given (moreover, the expensive room rate should warrant full access)
- Selective rule enforcement: sometimes you can bring a cooler to the pool and sometimes you can't... this is even more obvious when two people next to eachother bring a cooler and only one gets reprimanded. Differentiated treatment is not acceptable - either there is a rule and it is enforced or it isn't
- Dirty: the carpet and wallpaper are grungy and desperately needs to be replaced

The resort felt deserving of a $250 price point, not a $390 price point after almost $60 a day with taxes and fees included.

Overall, not a bad place but you can do much better for the price. If I could only follow the advice of Cher and "turn back time", I'd be singing a different tune now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
While we would have preferred the song by Louis Armstrong “What A Wonderful World’, we are truly sorry we missed adding the colors of rainbow to your experiences. We sincerely appreciate your comments and will ensure necessary measures are taken to continue providing service levels that we traditionally renowned for. We look forward to your return and surprising you with our distinctive transformations. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    1,048
    490
    287
    153
See reviews for
967
1,439
55
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My interactions and stay at The Westin Maui was very mixed.
Before arrival I communicated via email to a 'Concierge Specialist' (Joni). She was so helpful, friendly and made sure I had all the information I needed and even followed up with the Spa at the resort for my massage booking. Her customer service skills were very impressive.
Once we arrived at The Westin, we never again received that level of customer service from the staff we dealt with. Housekeeping would leave their trolleys directly in front of our doors from 8am through to after 4pm most days, arrive at our door around 5pm to clean the room and leave white fluff and dust in the room from their "cleaning". We learnt to keep away from and cut a wide path from the concierge desk or we would be incessantly harangued into viewing timeshare properties (which we learnt is common in Hawaii) or joining hotel program rewards - and don't be fooled by being asked to pick up your free gifts from the concierge desk because its a sales pitch. And during checkout I tried to organise a late arriving package for me to be forwarded to another address (and preparing labeling and details, plus prepaying full cost of postage) but to no avail. The girl at the desk just didn't want to help and was no where as helpful as Joni was. I was so frustrated by the lack of customer service and behaviour of staff by this stage I just checked out and left without a backwards glance.
The grounds were beautiful and the pools were great! Especially the adult only pool. There was constant noise though, whether from the numerous waterfalls, hundreds of finches or children though it couldn't be helped. Unfortunate that it drowned out the sound of the beach.
Make sure you are aware of the cost of the buffets before you eat and be sure to be hungry as they are highly priced. Breakfast for 2 people was $70 (not including the tip or taxes).
Also, I was aware of the resort fee and knew the total costs, but I do wish they included the whole cost for all taxes/resort fees and taxes on resort fees on their website.

Room Tip: We made sure we had a ocean front view and it was terrible. You are better of with a garden view. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Words cannot express our regret for missing the opportunity to provide delightful experiences during your stay with us. We appreciate your kind recognition of our concierge Joni and would like to assure you that our associates are truly dedicated in providing a relaxing and renewing environment for our valued guests such as your goodself. Mahalo for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the islands of Hawaii soon. Malama pono (take care).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have been staying at the Westin for years and we always leave extremely happy. Grace at the front desk was amazing and extremely kind. She was over accommodating in getting us an early check in. Our 5 year old son loved the big slide. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Beach tower has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked my visit trough the SPG program and saves hundreds of dollars- highly recommend joining and then watching for the good deals, its free to join.

When I booked I let them know I was coming here for an important birthday and they upgraded us for free, I also had a birthday cake delivered to my door as a surprise, whic was lovely.

The concierge desk attendants are awesome, booked plenty of things for us and gave us heaps of advice. Have eaten at o'no and Tropica so far and both have been good.

The hotel is gorgeous, I haven't found anything to complain about the room or halls etc.. Maybe the parking, they need a little more self parking spaces.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are delighted with your recommendation of the free SPG membership program. As you mentioned, it is a great option to enjoy holiday getaways to exotic destinations such as Maui, Hawaii. And when you have a special occasion to celebrate, our Maui resort certainly delivers an experience unlike any other. While we are unfamiliar with the renovation information including cost mentioned in this review, we do have enhancements planned in the future in addition to a regular maintenance schedule. Your feedback is instrumental in our efforts to further improve and ensure our valued guests enjoy a well-deserving vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been staying at this location yearly for the last 10 years. We normally stay for 10 nights and go soon after April 15th. We especially like that the Westin hotel is a no smoking facility. The rooms facing the pool area and/or beach are the best. We love Lelani's Hula Pie at Whaler's around the corner. The staff are all friendly, and if you're lucky enough to get upgraded to a suite, you are in for a treat. The lobby area is beautiful. The pools are nice with a slide, cave,and waterfalls. We normally go to the adult pool to be away from all the kids.

Now here are the only cons of this resort:
1) When we first starting staying here, every lounge chair at the pool had nice cushions. Unfortunately, now you only get those if you spend the money on a cabana. It would be nice to have those cushions back, at least at the adult pool.
2) There could be more umbrellas at the pools. You have to get down there very early in the morning to get a chair under one. Even in April, the sun is strong and hot, but with an umbrella, it is very pleasant.
3) There should be a towel booth at the adult pool so you don't have to walk all the way around, which would be helpful for those of us who have walking issues.
4) Every hotel in Hawaii needs to start heating the pools. The Caribbean hotels heat the pools and are always nice to get in. The Westin pools are so cold, it's hard to stay in for any length of time. Even the ocean is warmer than the pools.

We talk about going to different locations, but we are always drawn to the Westin Maui. Sign up for Starwood points to get the benefits of that program. I warn you though, you may not want to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Excellent location, very good staff, great pool areas including one for adults only (less rigidly enforced than expected though) and beach. The food was typical hotel food at the breakfast, and the bar food was just that, bar food. The room was fine (beach tower, facing north) but the rooms overlook a parking lot on that side, and frankly the parking lot doesn't do much for me. Food trucks load and unload all day, and being on only the 4th floor it was a bit too close to the lot.

The pricing on food and drinks is also high, but typical for Hawaii locations. There are nearby options, from low cost to significant cost, and the cuisine locally varies in quality - we had good and bad meals, and probably could have predicted which were which.

We had some challenges with the first concierge not following up with anything, but the second did well for us. The activities desk was very helpful in booking, though we could have done it all ourselves, they affirmed some of our thoughts, and countered others, so worth spending some time talking with them.

The sunsets are amazing. It was a relaxing place to be, and I could have spent more time there. When I return to Maui this will be my choice, but I'll be more selective in room choices.

On checkout they asked if we had enjoyed our stay, and after hearing a yes, handed us a card reminding us to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Not sure if they do that if they hear a no, but they aren't offering anything in exchange, just a reminder card with contact information.

Room Tip: Don't pick the ocean view in the beach tower that faces north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here about 5 days in Mid-May.

Checkin: arrived late afternoon had no issues. But other user comments are true. Reception desk is so short staffed. Often just 1 or 2 person for a hotel of this size. Called the front desk a couple times from my room and they never answered. Literally the phone rang 50 times until the operator just said sorry no one is picking up. Fail.

Grounds: very nice compared to the other hotels. the pool is awesome, there is a water slide and let me tell you, it is a very fast water slide even adults will get a thrill out of it. 4 huge pools, this underground cave tunnel that has a secret pool inside it. 5 star here. Great Lobby area with the koi pond and parrots, flamingos, and other wild life. Can be a bit noisy.

Restaurant: Oho Grill, ate about 10 meals here and tried most things on the menu. Very good. Never felt ripped off. Portions were huge. Prices comparable to outside. say 20 for lunch 30 a person for dinner. You are in Maui afterall. The breakfast buffet is a little pricey around 30 but we made that more like a bunch to cover 2 meals. SPG has this kids eat for a flat 20 bucks a day. Not bad all things considered. All the dining is outdoors here and for us that got a little problematic when it was raining and super windy OR there are always birds everywhere trying to eat stuff off your table!

Rooms: We were in the Beach Tower (Beachfront?) This is the tower closest to the pool and the beach. Room was on the side facing Whalers Village and did have view of beach. This was on an SPG floor. As most people have said and to confirm, rooms are nothing special, like 3+ star hotel that was last updated in the 90s. Roof still had popcorn. That being said, you are here for the beach. Couple odd things, room did not have luggage stand even after requesting one, gave up after 2 days. No plastic bags for the ice bucket, and the phones were even older than the room. Did not seem superclean. Found a cockroach in the room and housekeeping graciously cleaned up the bathroom again. Generous with the towel, shampoo, etc. But yes, it is not a 5 star feeling. Dated, a little musty, and not the cleanest. Also, this is getting picky but little details like paint chips, doors being loose, etc. Just no where near 5 star.

Beds were comfy with the Heavenly Bed. Pillows were the opposite of heavenly. Please replace.

Facing the Whalers Village is not the best if you like to keep the door open. 1). about 6am delivery trucks come, glass bottles start getting recycled, you get the idea. 2) restaurants there have huge A/C units that are noisy 3) smell from restaurants, 2 and 3 are basically Leilani's on the Beach. If you close the door, it's all good. Found the sound insulation to be quite good.

Beach: perfect. Hotel, room to beach in 2 mins. Hotel is right on the beach and not set far back from the beach like some other hotels.

Concierge: not super helpful. But better staffed than front desk. at least 3-4 of them in the lobby vs 1-2 people at the front desk.

Other: Westin does nickel and dime for some small things. You would think at 400ish a night the little kids stuff would be free instead of charging $10 for an arts and craft.

Parking: pretty limited. free valet if self park lot is full which is often is. spaces are VERY VERY tight too.

Room Tip: Beach Tower try to face the inside (water park) The rooms facing the beach directly are all suites o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.