We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
The Villages, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I came here for a combination 25th anniversay and retirement trip and out entire stay was paid for by points we accumulated on an Amex Card so we have no complaints about the price for the room! The location of the hotel is excellent and the grounds are well manicured. Staff is very friendly and they even enforce the "adult pool" rule which is a change from all our other trips/cruises where staff just ignore violations. The luau at the resort is simply amazing and we would strongly suggest spending the extra few bucks for VIP seats which allow you early entrance and great seats and service. We were upgraded to a "garden view room" which also had a nice view of the ocean through the palm trees. This upgrade was most appreciated since our first room (we stayed in it one night) was "mountain view" which should really be called "parking lot view!" A lot of traffic below and horns blowing all night as people parked and beeped their horn to lock their car...not a good location! Parking was a nightmare as you literally had to squeeze in an out of your car after parking and at times the valets even parked your car in. There was also construction (think jackhammers and drills) going on during the day which only posed a problem one day when we wanted to take a nap after visiting the volcano for a sunrise. Problem solved by taking our nap at the adult pool so really not an issue but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,214
    963
    460
    269
    143
See reviews for
900
1284
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel has rude service, very dirty rooms and crappy food. The carpet in my room was FILTHY. The door to the bathroom hits the toilet. Our room service order was incorrect and poorly prepared - the only good part was the ahi tuna salad.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We truly regret missing the opportunity to create a memorable experience during your recent visit. Your feedback is important to us and we apologize for the inadvertent inconveniences. We trust you enjoyed all that Maui has to offer and look forward to indulging you with renewed comfort when you return. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here as part of a multi-island package deal and could not have been happier. We wish we could have spent more time here as it was just a great experience.
Although the $30 daily resort fee seemed reasonable, there were many returns for that $30 (internet service, spa discounts, continental breakfast, drinks, etc).
My reservations specified a king size bed (I'm taller than most) and when we showed up there were none available (we were booked in the 'mountain view' rooms) so the staff went to the back and returned with an upgrade in the 'ocean view' tower). We couldn't have been happier with the upgraded room.
I will say one negative thing about the room, the carpet looks like it might have been a bit worn as it was "bunching up" in a couple of places...didn't see any signs of damage, just looks like it may have stretched over the years and needs replacing.

Room Tip: The beach view tower is the one you want, unless you are looking to see the sun rise each day. View...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in February 2012 and had a fabulous time!!! Would stay here again!!! The staff were awesome! The spa was great!!! Nothing like having a pedicure done with the ocean right out the window! The breakfast buffet was delicious!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The hotel is located on the north area of Maui approximately 40 minutes from the airport. There is construction on the road leading north so it is possible it may take longer. Unless you plan to spend all your time at the hotel, I would recommend renting a car. On that note the westin parking lot has one of the narrowest stalls I have encountered. Don't rent a big car unless you plan to valet it. Parking was almost always an issue. Hotel has two buildings. One aligns east-west. So your view is either going to be ocean to the north, or pool/ocean area to the south. The other building is aligned north-south. So your view will either be of the ocean, or....of the parking lot. Ok this isn't quite true. You can see the mountains, and if you are on the north end of the building you won't see the parking lot. I think it's worth getting the ocean view if it isn't too much more, or at least asking to upgraded if possible (no fee?). The staff were all friendly, and I would say most the people on the island were. Pool area is very child friendly, you might loose them in one of the many pools they have but that's another issue. The beach in front of the property has great sand. The ocean has a sandy bottom that goes out quite a distance so swimming there is great. If you are a runner like myself, you can head north on the boardwalk for a 2.5 mile run(5 mile return) all on the board walk. If you head south you can run on boardwalk, beach trail, road, and sidewalk for as long as you want. The town south of Lahaina is 3.5 miles south(center area). There is water along the way if you don't want to run with it. Overall the hotel is quite nice, it does require a car, and Whales village next door won't keep you occupied enough for your entire trip. I think Maui requires exploring. There are so many nice beachs to check out. One issue I have with the set up is that they are actively trying to sell you time shares. We got a message on our phone saying that the concierge had a free gift for us. Well turned out to be a 50 cent bag with the westin name on it. They then tried to get us to sign up for a timeshare presentation. We did and that was three hours of my life I'll never get back. If you have the time to kill why not, but don't buy anything. They aren't super high sales but still, take your time to sleep on it before you make a decision. They did allow us that and after looking at it all it didn't make sense for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our kids loved playing in their pool and the slide. It has a good beach in front of it so they visit both often. The rooms are a bit dated. However, they are currently undergoing a remodel. Watch out for the sell on the vacation club. The concierge their kept trying to get us to sign up to visit their vacation club models.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and well cared for. The rooms on the other hand are well worn, but clean and comfortable. Check in took an extremely long time (5 hours) as their system stopped working. Sitting around waiting for a room took up a lot of our "beach time". The restaurants that are in walking distance are all wonderful. The staff is so friendly and nice and always willing to help with anything you need. Overall I will definitely be back to the Westin!! Well worth every $$. Thanks for the great memories and a very fun vacation.

Room Tip: The garden view is very pretty if you don't want to spend the $$ on a beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.