We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Rated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Duvall, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over Rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Maui Westin Resort and Spa. The rooms were old and dirty. The food and drinks were way over priced, and we even had to pay for chairs and an umbrella if we sat in the sand on the beach. At the prices they charge one would think we were at a 4 star resort. Very dissappointed overall.

Room Tip: Get a view room. 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are truly sorry to learn that your Maui visit was not to your expectations. Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the future. in. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,079 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,227
    975
    462
    272
    143
See reviews for
913
1299
50
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Changzhou, China
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This place was amazing... the staff was great very attentive. food was a bit expensive but very good. the beach was amazing could see whales from the shore, this place is amazing and if you stay here make sure you do the Lu'au am excited to go back! Very easy to stay here with our one year old

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Mahalo for your glowing review. It was certainly our pleasure to be your “home away from home”. Thank you and we look forward to your future stay! Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The hotel's garden and pools are spectacular. Birds flocks on the tree during the dusk. Feels very tropical and natural. However, I have to say I was still a little disappointed when entered the standard room even I was already aware of the small size. Perhaps the hotel spent most of the money outside? Which kind of makes sense, because you are in Hawaii, why stay in the room? However, I still wish the room can be a little better. Now it's far away from decent. Parking space is very limited and small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Mahalo for your review and compliments. Your feedback is valuable to us and we have shared it with our team for further improvements. We look forward to delighting you with our new enhancements in the future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I just got back from 8 nights in the Westin Maui Resport & Spa. I had read the tips and we requested a high floor in the Beach complex. We arrived late at night and they apparently didn't have high rooms, so were given a room on the 4th floor, but it was a Premier Deluxe Ocean View room that had a king bed and a sofa (which is what we'd booked originally). It was large and we had a great view of the ocean and the sunset every night. The pool was noisy, but it was not bothersomenoise since the various waterfalls muffled the noises. The 5 pools are beautiful and the waterslide is wicked!! There's secret rocky grottos hidden below the waterfalls. There is an adult pool and hot tup. They also have little cabanas which can be used by anyone as long as they aren't already reserved. We sat in one (they are great when it's windy) and we watched whales all day long. I had researched ahead of time and learned that to have an umbrella and 2 deck chairs on the beach itself would be $37 per day. So I ordered a collapsible umbrella for $39.95 from portabrella.com ahead of time and used that with towels on the beach. Worked like a charm! The food and drinks were expensive, but that was to be expected. The day we left, our flight didn't leaveuntil 11pm, so we asked for an extended checkout (we got till 2pm at no extra charge) and then they held our luggage for us and let us use their pool - at the end of the day we booked 1/2 hour in their hospitality suite to shower and change at no charge. The hotel is next to the best shopping - beautiful clothes and gifts. There is also a lovely beachwalk and many restaurants right on the beach next to the hotel. Once a week there is a delightful craft fair right on the hotel property. I snorkeled every day and found several different kinds of beautiful fish within 20 feet off the beach in front of the hotel. I even swam with 2 turtles there one day! The better snorkeling is at Black Rock, a short walk (or swim) away. There are several free hourly shuttles that take you to Lahaina so you can shop or dine out. There are three resident parrots that talk and lots and lots of koi (and flamingoes, swans and ducks) in the huge lobby pond. And every morning and evening there are thousands of birds that gather in the trees over the pond - they are so loud you can hardly hear for about 1/2 an hour every day. It is remarkable (and neat). Yes, I would recommend this place, but it's not cheap.

Room Tip: Be sure to choose a room in the Beach building and be sure to get an ocean/pool view rather than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Westin Maui Resort & Spa for your tropical escape. We are delighted you enjoyed our resort and look forward to creating many memorable experiences upon your next romantic retreat. Warmest aloha from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place was first rate. A bit tired perhaps, but the staff and location make it a winner. Shirley with SPG was our personal concierge and any problems we had were ironed out immediately. Our upgrade was to an ocean front suite, closest to the beach in the entire hotel. The floor was lower then we would have liked, but we still had an amazing view of the beach, the water, the whales and Lanai and it didn't detract from our enjoyment of Maui and the facility at all.

The room was clean, huge, and the AC worked quietly and well, something you don't always find. The housekeeping staff did a great job, and the front desk along with SPG worked the magic of aloha to make us feel like ohana.

The facility itself was so beautiful, the best in Kaanapali. Great beach, pools, adult area, beach drink and food service. Designer shops had amazing salespeople, special kudos to Argentina at Martins and MacArthur for her excellent customer service skills and ability to separate us from our cash! Great products in that store, beautiful and as special as the staff.

We purchased art from shows set up within the grounds, great values all and the packaging for travel/shipment were first rate.

Sure Maui is expensive, and so is the Westin. If you're on a budget, stay elsewhere so you don't have to complain about the prices, maybe rent a condo for a couple bills a night. It is what it is...Westin quality and Westin prices. We have a high level of expectation with SPG and we were MORE then satisfied with our amazing vacation with the Westin. If you expect brand new rooms, go over to Wailea and stay at the Four Seasons for $400 a night more. You want a quality stay at a name with a great reputation, go Westin.

I can't think of a thing to complain about other then the small parking spaces, like the lot was built in a time when cars were really thin...but hey, if the lot was full, valet was free. No worries and the lot is right there by the front entrance too. Just don't rent a GMC Yukon! Mahalo Maui Westin for an unforgettable vacation with memories to last a life time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Mahalo for your generous review and high marks. We are truly pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations here at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. Our team will be delighted to know that their efforts did not go unnoticed. Thank you for being a loyal guest of Starwood. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and enjoyed every minute of it. It's close proximity to the shopping at Whaler's Village was ideal. The grounds were very well manicured, the service was great, and the rooms were fabulous. One thing... the self parking lot was quite small, but we managed to find an empty spot every night. The birds in the trees sort of kept me up the first night, but it was Hawaii and after awhile, I got used to it. It was kind of cute.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms have a wonderful view. During this time, we saw whales from our room. Quite amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spending our first week in Maui. I expect things to be expensive, but when you pay $30 daily resort fee, it's cheap to then charge $10 per chair at the beach / pool at the Westin and $37 for an umbrella. I understand charging for a reserved cabana, but charging for chairs seems too much.

Service is reactive. If you ask for something they will provide but there is no friendly proactive offer. They seem to be just doing a job vs having a service attitude.

Reset is kept up physically. No complains there. All is nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice. Balconies are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your feedback. As guest satisfaction is very important to us we have shared your review with our team. We hope to renew your confidence on your next island getaway. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.