We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great property at a fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #25 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a great property at a fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at this property and enjoyed every minute of it. It's close proximity to the shopping at Whaler's Village was ideal. The grounds were very well manicured, the service was great, and the rooms were fabulous. One thing... the self parking lot was quite small, but we managed to find an empty spot every night. The birds in the trees sort of kept me up the first night, but it was Hawaii and after awhile, I got used to it. It was kind of cute.

Room Tip: The oceanview rooms have a wonderful view. During this time, we saw whales from our room. Quite amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,050 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,214
    963
    460
    270
    143
See reviews for
901
1284
49
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
austin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spending our first week in Maui. I expect things to be expensive, but when you pay $30 daily resort fee, it's cheap to then charge $10 per chair at the beach / pool at the Westin and $37 for an umbrella. I understand charging for a reserved cabana, but charging for chairs seems too much.

Service is reactive. If you ask for something they will provide but there is no friendly proactive offer. They seem to be just doing a job vs having a service attitude.

Reset is kept up physically. No complains there. All is nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view is nice. Balconies are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your feedback. As guest satisfaction is very important to us we have shared your review with our team. We hope to renew your confidence on your next island getaway. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at the westin maui. Beautiful common areas and pool. Location cannot be beat. Kaanapali has multiple resorts in close proximity along the beach along with great shopping and restaurants at Whaler's village. Lahaina is very close, and the hotel offers a convenient shuttle. Like most high-end resorts the costs for food and drinks are very high, and they charge a pesky mandatory resort fee.
This trip the rooms definitely seemed dated. They were renovating a section, so hopefully in the future they will live up to standards as there are so many four and five star resorts in competition in Hawaii.
Concierge and on-site activities desk from American Express very helpful. Front desk often under-staffed.

Room Tip: seemed to have a shortage of rooms with king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not much included here ontop of an extra $30 a night fee if you want to sit on the beach with a chair and umbrella well that will cost 40 bucks. A drink at the bar is well over 13 bucks which some could argue is not bad but it seems a little ridiculous even given the prices on Maui. Great adult only pool and service was amazing. Not enough parking for self park so get ready to pay an extra $18 for valet. Great beach for swimming, snorkelling even whale watching.

Room Tip: We rented a 1 bedroom condo for first part of the week across the greet from beach which was a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Owner at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Mahalo for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to know you enjoyed the water activities surrounding our resort. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Westin Resorts and Spa is a wonderful hotel on Kaanapali Beach. As you walk into the lobby, you see a wonder pond and waterfull. The pond has flamingos, birds, and fish. There are multiple swimming pools, bars, and a couple of water slides. One of the pools and bars are adults only. The resort has multiple restaurants, shops, and many conciege desks to assist you with activities. The resort if very family friendly though I did not feel overwhelm by kids running around. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. I really have no issues with this resort aside from some construction noice during day as it looked like they were repairing a number of balconies. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra Verde, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This resort drastically needs a major refresh! The outdoor space (pools, beach) is lovely, but the guest rooms are tired and dated ... and even a bit tattered. I was very disappointed especially given the usual high standards of Westin properties. The staff was inconsistent ... the front desk folks were less than helpful to the point of being unfriendly. If this hotel wasn't located in paradise, I'd say stay away at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. As it is never easy to hear, we truly appreciate and value our guests’ comments which enable us to continuously improve. We hope to surprise and delight you with our enhancements in the future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel was part of a fabulous Pleasant Holiday package that includes airfare and convertible car. We are first timers in Maui and we picked the hotel based on the number of pools (5) and pictures of the lobby. Check-in was a breeze; the lobby was very beautiful - with flamingos, swans and koi fishes to greet you. The room (415) faced the waterfall in the lobby and bits of the pool and beach. We were happy with the view. Nazzy in the Ono breakfast buffet was an excellent server and we were always delighted to be seated in his area. The room is dated but the bed was fantastic; double shower heads were functioning properly; we don't have any complaints about the room. Linens were changed daily and 2 bottled waters are delivered daily as well.

We didn't have any problems with pool chairs; as there were lots available. My only problem with the adult pool area is the pool staff's apparent disregard for adult pool rules, specifically, allowing children in there. There were 3 adults in the pool with their toddlers. I approached Brad hanging out by the jacuzzi area watching this unfold before his eyes. I asked Brad if I'm the only one seeing children in the pool. I demanded that he say something to the family because there are 4 other pools that cater to children. He said that he can't say anything anymore because they're already in the pool (???!!!) and he would only say something when they get out. I was flabbergasted at his response and nonchalance. I approached the lady drink server and she said she too has received complaints about this and will flag the adult in the pool. And she did. No thanks to you, Brad, you're a disappointment.

We ordered room service one night and were impressed with the service and presentation.

Our flight out of Maui was late in the evening and we were glad that Westin Maui has a hospitality suite that is complimentary- even after you chek out around noon, they"ll allow you 30 mins to shower and freshen up in there. It's stocked with toiletries, ironing board and all shapes and sizes of towels.

Everywhere in Maui is pricey so be prepared to shell out $$$ for food and souvenirs. There is a Safeway grocery about a mile away.

Also parking at the hotel can b a challenge after 7pm, plus the parking slots are so narrow, it's too easy to ding the car next to you when you open your door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to have been a part of your first trip to Hawaii. While we are delighted to know you found our rooms and service experience memorable, we apologize for the less than perfect experience you received at the pool. Rest assured that your valuable feedback has been shared with our team. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another tropical getaway. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#20 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.