We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations based on previous reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations based on previous reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I read all the reviews leading up to our trip. I have stayed at the Ritz in Kapalua and the Grand Wailea and Kea Lani in Wailea. We stayed at The Westin because I had a lot of SPG points and reluctantly based on reviews of other travelers. Is it a five-star hotel? No. Do rooms need updating...yes [and they are doing this now]. Can you live with the current state of the accomodation? Without a doubt. Service was great with the entire staff [valet, front desk, restaurants, house keeping and pool]. You can't beat the location with walks to restaurants off property, hotel shuttle service to other Starwood properties and Lahaina. Beach is outstanding and overall we were very pleased. We traveled without our children but they would have loved this hotel, the pools and waterfalls...and the Westin Kids program looked amazing. Great option. We didn't spend much time in the room but the bed was great and we did stay in one night due to early departure for Haleakala. We rented a movie and had room service and it was great. Likely the same people complaining about how terrible the state of this hotel is are the same travelers who fly to Maui only to sit by the pool for their entire stay....stop eating and drinking, get out of your room and go see the island. But if you are planning on spending every waking moment at the hotel or in your room...maybe invest in something more upscale.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that you had an amazing romantic retreat. For your next escape to Maui, we hope to welcome your children to enjoy our Westin Kids Club®, pools and activities. Malama pono (take care)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,432
    1,088
    512
    301
    160
See reviews for
1,011
1,518
56
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (890)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although I vacation in Maui twice a year, this is the first time I've stayed at the Westin Maui sine 2005, opting instead for the Westin Villas. I remember when this hotel was the Maui Surf. When Westin took it over they were limited by the room layout to do what they do best...So the room is what it is, smaller in the living and especially the bathroom areas. I understand they remodeling the rooms starting from top to bottom to give it a new look. Beware when requesting the top floors at the time of this writing as there could be a noise issue.
Now the positives: Great swimming area with an adult pool which has it's own bar. Good restaurants..Ono for small plate and Tropica for evening dining... Grab a table on the grass facing the ocean for an early bird special and sunset. Location, probably in my opinion, one of the best in the Kaanapali Resort area. Located next door to Whalers Village, it's just a short walk to shops and restaurants that populate area...Finally, GREAT STAFF. From Valet to Housekeeping to the front desk, I coudn't have been treated nicer.
I stayed four nights and can truely say I had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review and for selecting The Westin Maui Resort & Spa for your island getaway. We look forward to your next visit to Maui. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We've been here three times. First time 10 years ago... Awesome. But now it's showing wear and tear and needing updating. Location is great and service is good but generally needs an update everywhere. Rooms, pool, and etc are worn and not being kept up. Starwood...time to spend money on the hotel rather than trying to sell timeshares to anyone that has a pulse. Your lack of attention to the people paying the bills is starting to show.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your valuable experience with us. Rest assured that your comments have been shared with our team. We hope you will enjoy our enhancements in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I went to Maui in September and we could not have been more pleased with our stay at the Westin Maui Resort. Our room was on the 7th floor with an ocean view. We had a fabulous view in the morning and at sunset, but I can assure you that there is so much you will want to do that you will spend very little time in your room. The beds are heavenly! This resort is right on the beach with several other resorts/hotels nearby. There are several large pools, including a water slide at the Westin Maui Resort with great areas for families, but also an adult only area. There are waitresses by the pools to serve drinks and meals throughout the afternoon. Whalers Village (full of shops and restaurants) is a short walk away and there are FREE shuttles if you want to travel to Lahaina area shops. Meals can be more expensive; however, portions tend to be larger and many meals can be shared. Restaurants around the Westin all have Happy Hour specials on appetizers and drinks, which is a great way to save some money on food and drinks. There's always live music and a variety of activities available including snorkeling, scuba diving, sailing, surfing and paddle boarding. Again, we could not have been happier with our stay at the Westin Resort and are looking forward to going back in a few years. When you plan a trip to Maui, be sure to purchase a travel book to research attractions and restaurant recommendations ahead of time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Westin maui is a great place and my family loves it. The rooms are a little dated but they still have the heavenly beds and powerful showers - so no real complaints!! They have a lagoon type area where they have ostriches and other animals inlcuding some lovely talking parrots. The pool area has a waterslide which my kids just loved. Breakfast is expensive but the buffet has a superb selection where you can indulge and basically do your lunch session as well!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was our first visit to Kaanapali Beach and we chose the Westin Maui Resort because it was the most cost effective resort out of the 4 main large resorts (re: Westin, Marriot, Hyatt, Sheraton,etc;). We were made aware ahead of time about exhorbitant resort pricing and we weren't disappointed. Very pricy meals not only at the hotel but also Whalers Village restaurants and resort locations (Breakfast for 2 about $40.00/daily). Our room was clean (no insects) but with many miles on the carpet. (What do you expect at a beachfront resort with sandy feet coming into every room 24/7?). The $30.00/day resort fee covered our beach towels and 2 bottles of water per day placed in our little refridgerator. With the sliding door closed at night it was quiet. We were hardly in our rooms. Out every morning for long walks and changing into beach and pool attire in the afternoon. Considering the pricy nature of Kaanapali Beach resorts, the Westin was respectable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I really loved this hotel! The room had a few cosmetic issues, but nothing to complain about. The bed was very comfortable, and everything was clean. We booked on Priceline and got an amazing rate(you just don't know which resort before paying, so you take a gamble). My room was on the 2nd floor facing the pool/garden area. Lots of beautiful landscaping, flowers, waterfalls & birds overlooking the large Koi pond. Our room was close to the elevator (223), and I could hear it going up and down. If you open the patio door the waterfall drowns out this noise, and it was never a problem for us.
The parking was free, but filled up, then they would Valet you for free.
Some renovations are going on, the only evidence of this was an exterior construction elevator.
We ate the food buffet one morning and found it average. The servers out there were slow and on island time, but so was I, so it wasn't a problem.
Water slide is a must! Fun!
I love the location of the property, right next to all the great restaurants!

Room Tip: I would prefer a garden/beach room, but could be loud for some people. For my amazing rate I was ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.