We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Early Dec 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Early Dec 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

very nice facility and staff were friendly and courteous. Do not rent any car larger than a subcompact if you intend to use there parking facilities. We had a comapact and often could not find a place to park - those with the convertible 2 door Mustangs were basically the width of the parking space! Also get ready to be gouged on the pool cocktails, they are over $10 for a small plastic cup! Other than that a great place to stay.

Room Tip: any of the rooms ending in the 50's do not have a striaght shot view of the ocean and those on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to share your experience with us on Tripadvisor. We will certainly share and review your feedback for improvements with our team. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Maui and hope you will stay at Westin Maui Resort & Spa once again. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,048
    490
    287
    151
See reviews for
966
1,436
55
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We planned to spend four nights here and Westin is often our favorite hotel choice. However, we arrived after some wonderful and relaxing days in the Makena-Wailea area and this felt like walking into a Disney/family playground that was very crowded for our taste. We were constantly bumping into people around the pool and beach area...simply too many people for the grounds! And, they even have many rooms closed for renovations currently; cannot imagine when it is full!

The renovations are needed. This is one of the most worn Westin properties we have ever visited. Self-parking is also very difficult; there are not nearly enough spaces available.

Good news: the service was pretty good and the front desk was extremely understanding when we explained that the busy family scene just wasn't for us. They refunded us for the remainder nights and we checked out the next day to return to the Makena area for the duration of our trip.

If you have kids or like a lot of people around you may enjoy this location, but if you are looking for a restful Hawaiian experience, consider another choice.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms in the ocean tower have a nice view. The higher floors are better. The are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed Maui. As your feedback and patronage is important to us we have shared your experience with our team. While it is our commitment to provide instinctive and renewing experiences, we truly wish we had the opportunity to create a more memorable experience. We invite you to experience our improvements in the future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Westin Maui Resort & Spa from November 25th - December 1, 2012. We had read numerous reviews before our arrival and found they were very accurate. The lobby area is spectular with ponds, waterfalls, etc. The check in procedure went very quickly and we had a room on the 5th floor facing the pool area and ocean (it was a nice ocean view room). However, the room WAS small. To use the safe and refrigerator you had to get down on your knees (as they were located on the floor level). The heavenly bed was/is wonderful - and meets all the hype it has received. The room was clean when we arrived and housekeeping throughout our stay was excellent (we did leave a few dollars each day on the pillows for the housekeepers). The restaurants are OK - but be prepared for HI pricing (fairly high). The do have one excellent morning/early afternoon "take out" restaurant (the Colonnade Cafe) that offers Starbucks coffee and a few morning food treats (they have complimentary papers there as well). The resort provides excellent access to the beach areas and is located very close to Whaler's Village (great for the stores and restaurants located there). A few additional cons: There is extremely limited self parking. At the business center the "resort fee" covers ONLY 15 minutes of internet service daily (and be careful, the day means exactly 24 hours). After the 15 minutes there is a charge of $5.95 for each additional 15 minutes - or any part thereof. The concierge we spoke to said that if we didn't use the whole 15 minutes in a day and had signed off, we could come back and use the remainder later in that day. That was inaccurate information which we discovered, as once signed out the system starts a new 15 minute session when one signs back in. The check out took some time. When we left on December 1st, at approximately 11AM there was only one clerk servicing those of us waiting to check out. It took awhile before we moved up in the line. When we reviewed the bill we found a minor error (related to the internet charges). After investigation (some computer work) the clerk removed the inaccurate charges. There is a balance between the pros and cons - just be prepared.

Room Tip: Be careful where construction is ongoing. Also, when facing the ocean (either ocean view or ocean f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor as it allows us to continuously improve our services. Your feedback is very important to us and we have shared them with our leadership team. We look forward to your return. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just back from a long overdue and fantastic vacation - our fourth time to Maui and first time at Westin - and we will be back. Great room with ocean view and daily sunsets - very welcoming and helpful staff - FANTASTIC pool complex and the waiters around the pool really kept up with our needs. The beach is the best on Maui - Love the hotel location - close to the town of Lahaina and walking next door to the great Whaler's Village complex for shopping, restaurants and bars for close by options. Really enjoyed our experience here and will be back for Maui trip #5!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Ocean view - worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words on the resorts facilities and service excellence. We will be sure to share your outstanding review with our team and look forward to delighting you on your next island escape. Warmest aloha from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for a week at the end of a long trip and had the most relaxing time! We did have to change rooms a few times as it was so noisy on the mountain facing side- when I asked if I could pay money to move over to an ocean facing room they ignored me and placed us in another noisy room- we had to move 3 times but by the last time we were stoked!
Overall the experience was lovely the staff were generally great and the adult pool was heaven!! The beach at sunset was the absolute highlight!!
I highly recommend you ask for a quiet ocean facing room and pay the extra money when booking!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to have found the right accommodations to provide a renewing experience for you at the Westin Maui Resort & Spa and to know our staff provided you with excellent service. Our sunsets are truly magnificent and we would hope to welcome you back in the near future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My daughter and I arrived on 11/17 for a trip to Maui but also for the Maui Invitiational. Check in was through our group which was a very rushed process.
The daily cleaning service was very limited as dirty glasses were left throughout our stay and a room service tray was not removed at all. They made the bed and left the tray on the clean bed linens.
Multiple times I had to go back down and get keys that would work and one night it took three trips down.
Our last day there we were asked to move from the bar area due to dinner set up and the restaurant was not full at that time (4:30 PM).
I didnt choose this property but will not go back.
This was my 6th trip to Maui and typically stay in Wailea and the service and quality is top notch there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mahalo for your candid review. Please accept our sincere apologies for not providing you with a renewing Westin experience. By no means did we intend to disappoint as we truly strive to create positive and lasting memories for our guests. We are concerned about the events you mentioned and have shared them with our management team for improvements as clearly this not representative of our standards. Again, we sincerely apologize and thank you for this opportunity to enhance our services. We do wish to welcome you and your wonderful family back in the future. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mckinney, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a long Thanksgiving vacation November 22, 2012 - November 28, 2012. Upon check in we were greated with shell leis and didn't have to wait but a few minutes for a check in agent. We were upgraded to the Beach Tower with an ocean view. The room was very large, so was the bathroom, with dual vanities. I assume this is a newer, upgraded tower because the room and goods in the room were very modern.
The pool area looked fun, but we didn't use it very often, as we prefer the beach. You can turn in towel keys for beach towels and take them for the day, as we enjoyed going to the quieter, secluded beaches, dozens within 20 minutes of the resort (head north on 30). We even rented snorkel gear for $15 per day and took this with us. The beach at the resort was very nice, and not crowded at all. The pools were way more crowded.
We dined at On'O and Tropica twice, as well as the Beach Bar. We had dinner at Sheraton as well and were able to charge this to our room. Whaler's Village is next door with several shops and restaurants to choose from. Lahaina is a short 5 - 10 minute drive south with several dining and shopping options on Front Street. Our favorite meal was at Merriman's in Kapalua...make reservations and make sure you're there for the sunset!
We also went to Wailele, the hotel's Luau. It was all you can eat and drink, well worth it with an awesome fire dance.
The staff was very friendly and all seemed like they were having fun while on the job. We can't wait to go back to The Westin.

Room Tip: Book a room in the Beach Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Mahalo for your 5-star review! We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate you for recognizing our efforts in creating an unforgettable experience for all our guests from the rooms to the Wailele Luau. Again, thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back for another renewing experience. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#19 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.