We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 9 more sites!
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #23 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Wilmington, NC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tired hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Came for Maui Invitational and paid a bundle (about 2K for 5 nights) for the room. Arranged by Oahu Travel. Got mountainview, room dusty, smells of diesel fuel, dirty table on lanai, small bathroom. One nice feature is adult pool and hot tub at the pool. Cheap, worn dirty furnishings in the room. Breakfast buffet nice but pricey.

Room Tip: Pay for ocean view if you stay here but would advise to go elsewhere. Will not book with Oahu Trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,148
    926
    442
    262
    139
See reviews for
861
1218
46
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keflavik, Iceland
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This Westin is located at the best tourist part of Maui, it is showing signs of aging and they are kinda slower in renovation. The parking is really congested even for a mid sized car, checking was smooth not forgetting the welcome Lei. The rooms are good size, nice views if you are on upper floors. The lift is with a really annoying sound.
Lake with koi fish and black swan is nice, pools are small but clean. The beach walk is usually crowded. You do get a beach towel everyday and they do rent snorkeling/scuba gear there.
The hotel has a few shops and restaurants, we didn't tried the spa.
This Westin feels more like a business hotel so if the honeymooners are reviewing the hotel as the best.... I still don't know why...!
Next time I will definitely look for a more romantic place to stay in Maui.

Room Tip: Choose higher rooms but be ready for annoying lift sound...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin the last week in October while I attended a conference there. The property is beautiful with lush green space, multiple pools, and a broad sandy beach. The rooms are typical, average sized hotel rooms with a tiny balcony. We asked for a King bed but got 2 doubles...one of which became a repository for clothes, hats, and miscellaneous. Not perfect, but acceptable. As others have mentioned, we took advantage of the green initiative and used our vouchers for snacks at the restaurant. Be aware that if you choose this option, maids will not enter the room even to empty the garbage. They might consider garbage removal and a quick bathroom cleaning which doesn't interfere with the "green" approach.

Flamingos, ducks, and swans wade in the pond with waterfalls and huge koi. There is a waterslide and basketball net in the pool. There is also a hidden pool with jets under the waterfall passage to the next pool. Not heated, but fun. The beach had moderately high waves with a strong undertow when we were there so we stuck to the pools. Also, while lounges and shade are provided at the pool, You have to pay over $30 a day for lounges and umbrellas at the beach...kind of chintzy if you ask me.

Whaler's Village is right next door for shopping and restaurants. Happy Hour at Leilani's, $4 margaritas and appetizers...I strongly recommend the fish tacos. The shuttle into Lahaina was free and convenient. It drops you off at Hilo Hatties...one end of Front street, the main drag for galleries, shopping, and dining. Make sure you duck inside Hilo Hatties for your free shell lei.

All in all, a very positive experience at the Westin.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms face the mountain and the golf course. The views even from there are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

J ust got home from 5 days at the Westin Maui resort. Our stay was realxing and very enjoyable. First of all the grounds were spectaular and the pools a perfect temp. Lots of loungers available.
I was pleased when it was noticed that I was a platinum memeber and that the front desk tried so very hard to upgrade me but the resort was packed full. They later contacted me and said they could get me an ocean front room for the last 3 days so we took it. The efforts were appreciated. The rooms are on the small side but clean and efficient with a great Heavenly Bed. It's not a new Hotel and I understand they are also renovating now. I am a huge Westin fan as well as a Westin owner and SPG is the best points program by far. The location is perfect as its near everything but still very quiet. We will return

Room Tip: Higher Floors and Ocean view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm a SPG Platinum member, so we got an upgrade to an oceanview room, but I have to concur with other reviewers... The rooms are smallish in size.

Facilities:
You can tell this place may have been really hot about 20-30 years ago. It's been refurbished extensively, but there's only so much you can do. The pools are multiple and extensive. The shuttle to Lahaina is very convenient if you don't have a vehicle. The coffee in the room is terrible. My wife loved Bob, the dancing parrot.

Staff:
The staff is very accomodating and helpful. We had a personal concierge, Moni, who was very helpful, even though we didn't use any of his services. He even called me on my cell a week before our trip to introduce himself. He had a "welcome gift" for us and roped us to a "Facilities Tour" which turns out to be a Timeshare Presentation for SPG.

In-Room Experience:
Being a Westin property I would have thought they would have Starbucks or Seattle's Best in the room, but instead it was some Kona Hawaiian Roasted no name brand. Really nasty stuff. Balcony was kind of small and we had cigarette smoke waft in our room from a balcony below us.

Beach:
Very nice... The shoreline further north is littered with bolders which make the wave action dangerous when you are swimming.

Bonus:
This property has a "going green" program. If you skip room service, they give you 5 dollars in food and beverage or 500 SPG points. Very good idea.

Room Tip: Be a Gold/Platinum member. They are very accomodating and ask for an upgrade when you're at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Mahalo for sharing your experiences. We regret the room coffee was not to your liking as our visitors often request for local coffee. However, Colonnade Café by the resort’s koi pond gardens serves Starbucks specialty coffees for die-hard fans. Do take advantage of our suites with varied categories on your next visit as these come with larger living areas. We look forward to delighting you with our new upgrades upon your return. Warmest aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a fantastic stay! After researching for months, we decided to try the Westin Resort and Spa on Maui's west side. We were thrilled with our decision. It was everything we expected. As noted in other reviews, the reception staff at the reservation's desk is very cold. But the rest of the staff more than makes up for it. Ronzi, a service express attendant, was exceptional! He took extra care to make sure our family's vacation was a memorable one. If we have the opportunity to return, we will!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
We appreciate the special recognition extended to Ronzi and have shared your kind words with him and his team. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and until your next visit, stay well. Me ke aloha pumehana (with warmest aloha).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

First time family vacation in Maui and decided to stay at Westin. We really enjoyed our stay. Only a few hiccups when we checked in. It took a looooooong time, clearly they were under staff. It was a long line and only 2 people at the front desk. GM/Front Office Manager needs to look at their staff scheduling more carefully. It took us almost 1 hour to wait in line for checking in.

Other than that, all are good. Location is perfect! Amazing beach views. Hotel is located not far away from Lahaina downtown for shopping, dining and other activities. Pool kept my little boy busy for hours. Love the outdoor gym too (they have indoor gym, but I didn't use it).
Black Rock is great too, saw few sea turtles there. Awesome!!!

We love our Service Express Attendant Ron Acheta or "Ronzi"; he is knowledgeable, very nice and always very helpful and when asked, he told us where the local goes. He smiles from the belly and excel on what he does. He made Coconut Rose # 636 for me. Awww so sweet.
We will definitely come back!! In fact I just booked our trip for April 2013. Can't wait!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinMauiAmbassador, Manager at Westin Maui Resort And Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful vacation in Maui. Being in the heart of Ka’anapali Beach, our resort certainly offers guests endless ocean pursuits in addition to an aquatic playground. In fact, Conde Nast Traveler recently recognized the resort as one of eight hotels worldwide for having the Best Waterfall Pools. Naturally, resort associates like Ronzi add the personal touches to make our guests feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina
Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#22 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#23 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Starwood, Amex, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.