We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Vacation Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Maui Resort And Spa to your Saves list
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5th Night Free
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our Favorite Vacation Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Having benefited numerous times from Trip Advisor, I felt it was about time I contributed. My wife and I have been married 36 years, with Maui being our absolute favorite vacation spot. Maui is our home away from home. The Westin Maui Resort has been our getaway destination over ten times, We absolutely love the Westin. Even though we own a time share from the Westin as well, we just can't keep away from the Resort and Spa, it just feels right. The staff makes us feel at home. I would especially like to acknowledge Ms. Rebecca Dean, who is an anchor at the front desk. She is the face of the Westin to us, always warm, helpful and friendly. Rebecca makes us feel like her Hawaiian family. If you are looking for a hotel that has the "Aloha Spirit," look no further, this is the place.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors and facing the ocean have always been our favorites, quiet with a bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    1,106
    521
    301
    164
See reviews for
1,034
1,538
56
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Super location and very comfortable beds! The Westin staff is excellent and we really enjoyed using the pool as well as lounging on the beach nearby. Their restaurant, Tropica serves up excellent food with a commanding view of maui's famed glorious sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We had a great week long stay at this resort. We were booked for a garden view room in the main part of the hotel that's above the lobby, and we were not happy with it. It looked and smelled like a college dorm room, and had a horrible layout. The bathroom door blocked access to the bedroom, and there was a box fridge just thrown in the corner. The view was of the waterfalls and garden, which was fine. We complained and were upgraded to a deluxe ocean view. WOW, what a difference. You wouldn't know it was the same hotel. The room was renovated and modern. The view was amazing. We were happy from there on. As of October 2011, the hotel informed me they are starting to renovate that smaller tower in 2012. So keep your fingers crossed.

The pool choices are endless. They even have an adult pool for those of us who don't want to listen to screaming kids all day. And there was even a poolside bar at the adult pool. Jackpot!

The beach was small, as the tide has washed away a lot of their sand. But there is still plenty of room to not have to be close to other people. They rent a pair of wood chairs and an umbrella for $30 a day, or you can get the more comfortable wide recliner chairs for $10 each a day. We did that and we were much happier. I think the people on the wood chairs were jealous.

We spent an afternoon at the spa, and that was amazing. It's blows away any spa you've ever been to. You will pay for it though, as with anything on the island.

Location is excellent, only 2 minutes from Lahaina. You are 45 min from the airport, but everything is. There is a one lane highway all the way to the hotel, but the drive is spectacular. We took 100 photos just on the drive from the airport to the hotel to check in. The hotel is directly next to the whalers village, which has a handful of restaurants. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and the buffet is the way to go. If you order a la carte, then you are going to spend more than just doing the buffet.

Don't pay any companies to take you on a snorkel trip. Walk yourselves down the beach about 300 yards and snorkel at Black Rock in front of the Sheraton. It's free, and the best snorkeling you will find on the island. The water is calm, because the giant rock blocks the big waves. My wife was struggling to swim when we did a test run in front of the hotel. We saw sea turtles and lots of fish. There is a great natural reef over there.

Rent a Jeep or convertible and don't bother valeting. They have free self parking that you are already paying for in your "resort fee". For internet, connect to the business center or lobby wireless, and don't bother paying for the "faster" room internet. They limit the speed on the "free wifi" for the rooms. It was sad how slow it was. I connected to the business center from the 9th floor and got 7MB down and 1MB up.

The housekeeping staff was very good at their jobs. We had a very sweet lady on the 9th floor that kept our room immaculate. We did our best to keep it organized, and she did such a great job. Don't forget to tip your housekeeping if you are happy with their services. That goes for any staff on property. They are working hard to keep you happy. The rest of the hotel staff really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The concierge was so helpful. We got some great tricks and tips from them.

If you intend to do any amount of driving on the island, go to the GyPSy Guide stand in Lahaina and rent the GPS unit they have. Google it to find them. It tracks where you are and gives you history, tips, places to see, places to avoid, and basically gives you a tour of the entire island based on where YOU want to go. You can rent by the day or week, i believe. We only got it for one day towards the end of our stay, and I wish I had it the whole week. It was great. Eliminates the need for any maps or books about the island. We brought $100 worth of books with us to Hana, and we didn't open one of them, because the GPS guide knew it all. It told us which waterfalls weren't that impressive, and where we could pull off. It let both of us keep our eyes on all the sites.

So overall, go stay at the Westin Maui, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My husband, granddaughter and I stayed in an ocean view room at the resort.
The grounds and maid service were excellent.
The pools and front lobby waterfall are amazing.
The only problem we encountered was with the free photography service. the photographer took excellent pictures but our picture was not ready before we left as promised. She did mail it begrudgingly but it took forever.

Room Tip: Higher ocean view room were quiet and provided an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

It was my first visit to Maui, and I always stay at Westin hotels because they do not dissapoint (and I'm a Starwoods girl!) The Westin Maui exceeded all expectations I had, The room was amazing, everyone was very friendly and the property was beautiful not to mention right on the beach which made it even better! But the highlight of the trip was the great guys that work at Onos restaurant! I was vacationing with my friends so of course we wanted to have a great time and we did because of Junior and his amazing Mai Tai's! By far the best Mai Tai I have ever had! And Junior was awesome, he was nice, fun and friendly which made Onos the nighlty spot for my friends and I! Also I have to say the food was great!!! And the servers excellent especially Derek and Sam! They were so friendly and fun and leant to an amazing atmosphere at Onos! Overall I had such an amazing time! I will for sure go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This is our third trip to the Westin. Each time we return our trips just keep getting better and better. On our recent trip we were greeted by WILL McNabb in the valet/bellman area. We actually met Will on our first trip and look forward to seeing him again when we return. He's the most accommodating, professional, friendly and knowledgeable person. The Westin is lucky to have such a genuinely nice guy working for them! At the front desk, Dawn checked us in. She is so friendly and sweet and made sure we were 100% happy with our room location. Not only is she prompt, she was great in providing us recommendations for restaurants at the Westin as well as in the area. Dawn Rocks! Every other employee (including Regina our housecleaner, Edith at the pool area snack shack) were very professional and had true Aloha spirit. Our room was very clean and the beds comfortable. The pool is perfect for families - there is a small waterslide for younger kids and a larger slide for the older kids/adults. They even had waterslide races each morning at 9am. There is also an adult pool. The hotel is located right on the beach, which makes pool/beach hopping simple. The Westin location is also convenient to Whalers Village (right next door), which has great restaurants and shops. We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I found the service to be excellent overall with the exception of the front desk. The front desk was understaffed and very disorganized. Everyone else was great, from the waiters and waitresses, housekeeping, and the valets. The pools and grounds are beautiful. The food at the Tropica restaurant was delicious and the view was breathtaking. The rooms do need to be updated and the Whaler's Village side is very noisy. If you're looking for peace and quiet, this probably isn't the hotel for you. If you enjoy a lot of activity and being conveniently located to shopping and restaurants you may enjoy staying here. As another reviewer mentioned, I have never heard so many chirping birds in my life. The good news is the noise in temporary, only in the evening when they go in the trees to roost.

The Westin has some very nice touches such as providing workout clothes, free of charge. Delivering a birthday cake to your room. Free water and a free tote bag.

The beach is beautiful and literally just steps away from your hotel. Snorkeling is close by at Black Rock and you can rent equipment inexpensively at the Maui Dive and Surf shack along the way.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the Whaler's village side for a more quiet stay and also insist on getting a room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Maui Resort And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Maui Resort And Spa

Address: 2365 Ka'anapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#18 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Maui Resort And Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 759
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali is located along a breathtaking stretch of the gorgeous, white-sand Ka'anapali Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Maui Resort And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Maui Resort And Hotel Lahaina
Westin Maui Hotel
Westin Lahaina
Westin Maui Resort Spa
Lahaina Westin
Westin Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Maui Resort And Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.