We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reserve the Makai room for a fun/healthy holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise
Save
You added Wai Ola Vacation Paradise to your Saves list
1565 Kuuipo Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Leadville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Reserve the Makai room for a fun/healthy holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Stayed in the Makai for a weeklong getaway with my man, I love a holiday where I can eat and drink what I want and still lose weight! We stayed in the Makai room, a one bed room unit decorated Hawaiian style. The living room opens to the pool. With such easy access to the pool we swam almost everyday before or after our adventures. It has a great kitchenette with a full fridge, a blender (for mixed drinks and smoothies), and plenty of space to cook together. Everything but a stove, we used the grill outside to add salmon and steak to our salads. So fun and I came home slimmer and tanner!

Room Tip: Go for the Maikai room or the honeymoon cottage!
See more room tips
Green Features: Within walking distance of Lahaina town, so you don't need to waste gas.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    9
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
86
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Our family had a wonderful time staying at this beautiful home. We had 3 adult children and their wives and had plenty of room for the 8 of us. Private bedroom suites if they were looking to spend time away from the group -- and that amazing pool, patio, deck that called us to enjoy morning, noon, and night! Jim's helpful advice was much appreciated! If our adventures take us back to Maui, I know where I'm staying! Our family spent 6 days in paradise, and it started with Wai Ola! Can't say enough good things about it! Donna

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Awesome house with plenty of space, a lovely kitchen, space to bar-b-que by the pool, and sunset views from the porch. Great place to go with a group as there are nice big common areas, and also each room is set up as a studio if you want a little time to yourself. Each room has a different theme. My favorite rooms were either the Ku'uipo room with a japanese vibe and a view of sunset, or the honeymoon cottage with a Hawaiian theme and a private lanai. Also great place to come with extended family, plenty of space for kids to explore while adults relax.

Room Tip: Top floor great for teenagers to have their own space. Ku'uipo or Honeymoon for a romantic getaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portalban
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Jim and the cats are very nice and make you feel like at home. This is a very quiet and charming place to stay outside of the big hotels.
Jim has a lot of tips about Maui and gave us a lot of good adresses.
We really appreciated the last night to share a glas of wine and speak about lot of things.
We would absolute return here next time.
Thank you Jim and greetings from Switzerland !
Joel & Daniela

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 6 nights at Wai Ola. Our stay was perfect. The property is very clean and well kept and has all the equipment you can wish for, especially to have fun at the beach: beach chairs, coolers, snorkeling equipment, body boards... There is also an outside grill and cooking facility (stove, microwave) that can be freely used. The studio on the second floor that we had is spacious and has all you need (fridge, coffee machine, space to sit and eat, iron, hair drier...) with a nice view on the ocean. The best about our stay was the great host who would provide us with fresh fruit and savory cookies during our stay, answer all our questions and would just be very kind and attentive to our needs.

Green Features: Plastics, glass etc. are recycled. Rooms are equipped with real plates and glasses, forks and knifes. No use of plastics. Guests are kindly advised to save energy where possible.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent a week at Wai Ola in November and had a fantastic time. We would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a spacious, clean and quiet home base for a Maui vacation. We went as a family and had everything we needed to enjoy our visit. Because of our group size we rented the entire property and there wasn’t anything we wished we had on site that was not already provided. The young adults of our family were able to walk to the beach in minutes and all of us enjoyed the views of the ocean from the deck. And we were able to make great use of the pool during the times we were “home.” The location is so very convenient to downtown Lahaina, the Civic Center (if you like basketball) and all kinds of fun stuff up the coast toward Kapalua. Jim and Kim are perfect hosts and wonderful people. It’s obvious from the moment you meet them that it is very important to them that you have as much privacy as you want, and above all, that you have a great visit. Their warmth and hospitality made our trip even more special. We will never forget our trip to Wai Ola, and look forward to returning someday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

As per the accommodations, they were great. The suite we rented was clean, roomy, and comfortable. Having a full kitchen was extremely useful on the nights when we didn't feel like springing for a restaurant. The patio / pool area was especially nice; the neighbourhood was very quiet / dark it was easy to sit outside and look at the stars each evening.

As per Jim and Kim, you couldn't ask for nicer innkeepers. The recommendations they made for things to see / do / eat were always spot-on. If it weren't for Kim's suggestion, I don't think we would have found out about Star Noodle (another 5-star Lahaina attraction!). The goodies Kim baked for us every couple of days were extremely tasty and never failed to disappear post haste.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Wai Ola to anyone visiting Maui, and I fully plan to stay there every time I come back to Maui.

Thank you very much, Jim & Kim! We'll see you soon.

Steve MacDonald and Katrina Bligh

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wai Ola Vacation Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

Address: 1565 Kuuipo Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an alternative to the hustle and bustle of the name brand resort hotels in Maui? Wai Ola Vacation Paradise is especially for romantic couples looking for a private, intimate vacation experience. Just four units with a maximum occupancy of two (adults only) per room gives a feeling of seclusion not found many places. So if it's your honeymoon, anniversary, or just a vacation without the kids, come check out Wai Ola Vacation Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Ola Vacation Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.