We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Vacation Paridise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise
1565 Kuuipo Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Lahaina B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Flower m
1 review
“A True Vacation Paridise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you want a feel-good and a good-feel of Lahaina, Wai ola is a great spot.

Wai Ola offers very comfortable accomodations with excellent and flexible configuration for large groups and or small groups. We were 10 people who took over the 4 private units that gave us access to the larger central living area.

Nestled a couple blocks from the shore and a few blocks further to Old Town Lahaina, the property offered a fel for Lahaina Residential living with the privacy and secluded feeling of a large villa.

The central location made it easy to choose your beach, choose your restaurant and choose your activity (with a little help from you're very wonderful hosts at Wai Ola). And much of it was a short bike-ride away.

Sure you can have the high-end luxury of the hotel chains, but then you wont have the cozy private group experience when you want to have an in-house family and friends BBQ (also available at Wai Ola).

Needless to say, Maui itself is so much much more than it's cracked up to be.
Aloha

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    9
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Well its the end of an era. We have stayed at Wai Ola with Kim & Jim since our honeymoon in 2008. We have returned to celebrate our anniversary every year since. The property is very quiet, and very clean. Its about a 10 minute drive from downtown Lahaina Town, or a 20 minute walk to the safeway market. My wife and I have stayed in every room there, this time around it was the Malanai Hideaway, the slanting roof was very cool, all wood covered, in general the rooms are about 5 times larger than normal hotel rooms, so there's plenty of room to spread out and nap in between day trips or beach excursions.
I always tell people to stay here for many reasons, Kim & Jim become like family to you after just one visit, they are so cool and relaxed, very welcoming. Also they give you: Wifi, beach towels, beach chairs, unbrellas, coolers, snorkel stuff, boogie boards, laundry facilities, all for FREE! Think about that the next time you check out of the big chain hotel and get sticker shocked by fees. Oh and Kim bakes goodies and leaves them in your room...ask for the Blueberry stuff its awesome!

Go local! They are located above Lahaina Town with great ocean views, a nice sized pool, 2 great large grills with burners and a hot tub. We chose this place in 2008 because of the reviews in TripAdvisor, we saved so much money. Plus Kim & Jim over the years have given us advice on Beaches, tourist spots WORTH going to, dining, shopping and sightseeing. They have become like family to us, so why is this our last year? My wife is pregnant and they are an adults only resort, which was another main reason we chose Wai Ola. However we joked that when we return, we shall camp out in the driveway in a van as to not break the rules. Our final night was a sad one, tears were shed, man hugs were given. We promised to return, even just to visit (and steal Kim's baked good of the day). This is the type of place you think doesn't exist anymore. Great customer service, clean rooms, safe area, and wonderful hosts. I suggest you stay here if you're considering a trip to Maui, go local and laugh at the people paying for resort fees just to park their rental car! Thank you TripAdvisor for bringing Kim & Jim into our live!

Rest assured we will go back and visit Kim and Jim soon.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is my favorite, all rooms are about 3 times as big as any hotel room Ive stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We loved staying at Wai Ola. The location (just north of Lahaina in West Maui) is perfect for its proximity to restaurants and attractions, and it's a good base for exploring the rest of the island. It's in a quiet residential neighborhood. We loved waking up to the sound of birds singing, and it was nice to have a relaxing place to return to at the end of a busy day. Jim and Kim were excellent hosts. They were available if we had questions about finding a good restaurant or beach, or if we needed suggestions on what to see or do. We made good use of the beach chairs and umbrellas they have for guests to use, and we especially enjoyed Kim's home-baked goodies. Mahalo, Jim and Kim. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Makai Suite was spacious and perfect for us, as it had no stairs. The Honeymoon Cottage was a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Really nice place to stay in Laihana. 5min ride to Downtown Laihana in a peacefull residential area. From 2d floor you can see the ocean. The Ocean is a couple of blocks away but enjoyable beach are a little further, no more than 5/10min by car.
Jim and Kim are really nice and helpful hosts. No breakfast possible but you can make you coffee in room and enjoy Kim's cake and treats while watching the ocean.
the swimming pool is nice too, but no view from this area.
They lend beach towels, umbrella, chairs, boggie boards, snorkel gears and really try to make your stay even nicer as it already is.
I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

We rented the entire property to accommodate an international family reunion - the halfway point between Sydney and New Jersey. 5 adults and 4 kids and Wai Ola provided the perfect balance of privacy and common areas. Jim, our host, answered all my questions before we arrived and we hit the ground running with all the local tips. Off the main tourist drag but close enough to all that makes Maui special. Truly a wonderful destination and if I ever return to Maui, I know where I'm staying.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Wai Ola was exactly what we needed for this family trip. My in laws were renewing their wedding vows and the entire family - including 4 children, took over Wai Ola for a week. The layout was perfect for 4 couples. We all had our own space with our own bathrooms and could gather in the large living room and pool area when we wanted. My husband and I were in the honeymoon cottage and had our own privacy without being far away from the rest of the family. Jim and Kim were always available if we needed them and even went out of their way to help when there was a snafu with a planned activity. We all enjoyed the spacious pool area and made use of the outdoors grills several times. Everything you'd find in a hotel room is here - shower necessities, hairdryers, coffee makers in the rooms, 2 of the rooms had small refrigerators and the other 2 had kitchen areas. We had access to laundry along with the necessary laundry supplies, there were pool toys and beach equipment for our use including chairs, umbrellas, beach towels, beach mats, and coolers. The only thing we had to do to is go grocery shopping which worked out wonderfully!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

We loved everything about the place. The multideck design gave everyone a great view of the ocean. The pool was beautiful. The location was excellent to get to all of the activities we had planned.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wai Ola Vacation Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ola Vacation Paradise

Address: 1565 Kuuipo Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an alternative to the hustle and bustle of the name brand resort hotels in Maui? Wai Ola Vacation Paradise is especially for romantic couples looking for a private, intimate vacation experience. Just four units with a maximum occupancy of two (adults only) per room gives a feeling of seclusion not found many places. So if it's your honeymoon, anniversary, or just a vacation without the kids, come check out Wai Ola Vacation Paradise. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wai Ola Vacation Paradise Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wai Ola Vacation Paradise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wai Ola Vacation Paradise to your Saves list