We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location on Maui, and we are headed back next month!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best location on Maui, and we are headed back next month!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We simply love the Whaler. We stayed last December to get away from the cold weather at home, and have already booked again for next month! It is very reasonably priced. The reviews pretty much say it all: Lovely grounds to wander about and enjoy the solitude (they use battery operated weed wackers and other quiet equipment, which in itself is impressive), fantastic beach, great shopping and dining at next door Whalers Village, or at a number of other restaurants just a short walk down the beach. The beach has never been crowded for us, and only (rarely) are there a few beach umbrellas or whatever set up on the beach in front of the Whaler. The little rental shack (snorkel equipment, boogie boards, sunglasses, lotion, etc.) is handy and most importantly non-intrusive - easy to just walk past and ignore when you are not to be a customer at that particular time, or are just picking up/returning the complementary Whaler beach towels. Staff was friendly and helpful too - and not just with what they are selling/renting. The condos are large, with excellent kitchens to save some money (for the big nights out) and to save time relaxing with a meal on the lanai at your own leisurely pace, and dressed way down :). Several good supermarkets both in Lanai town and just a bit north, if you want to see some other scenery. We found we could easily and comfortably cook a decent meal in this kitchen, and there are propane grills and eating areas near the beach in front of each tower, which get a lot of use and is a nice way to argue with other guests as to which of you left the worst weather to come and stay at the Whaler. Front desk staff (Aston, a class act!) were friendly, helpful, and efficient. Daily room service was excellent, and it was nice to come back to a fresh condo every day. Self service laundry on each floor, so you can travel light. Room accommodations were excellent in our unit - it was a "premium", and had a fantastically comfortable bed, new and "shiny" kitchen and bathrooms, and great wired and wifi internet service - we were able to stay in touch a bit, and thus stay longer at the Whaler than if we had to dash home quickly to attend to things better left unattended for a while. Our unit had an excellent ocean/courtyard view and we could listen to the waves all night as we slept. I don't know the layout well enough to know which floors/units have which views, but read the room tips and ask when you book. I know I want courtyard, as close to the water as possible, mid height. We find the Whaler to be a great base of operations to wander the entire island during our stay, or when we just want to head into Lahaina town now and then for shopping, dining, and exploring. Or, when we just want to hang around the Whaler and its grounds and the fantastic Kaanapali beach.

Room Tip: I don't know the layout well enough to know which floors/units have which views, but read the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    224
    46
    32
    12
See reviews for
195
343
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a ground floor 2 bedroom apartment in Tower 1 overlooking the beach.
I would highly recommend this apartment as it was very spacious, well laid out and had a modern kitchen with absolutely everything we needed. The staff we encountered at front desk, beach hut for towels and rental gear plus the tour desk were all fantastic. We would definitely come back here again.
The resort is on one of the best parts of the beach (compared to Westin/Marriott/Hyatt which are further south) and an easy walk to Black Rock for snorkelling and right next to the Whalers Village for shopping and restaurants.
We were in apartment 102 which we loved , the only drawbacks were that a/ the decor was very dated - shag pile carpet, mirrored walls and old fashioned furniture and b/ ground floor meant we could not leave any of the sliding doors open during the night for fresh air, however it did give us easy access in and out of the apartment for quick swims.

There are BBQ areas at the front of both towers which are well patronised.

We probably paid too much for this resort ($944 pn via an Australian wholesaler) as we met a numbers of owners during our stay who rent out via VRBO or similar and it appears we could have saved at least 1/3rd (if not more) of what we paid by booking this way.
You should be aware though that the plus of booking through the wholesaler or resort is that you get the service if anything goes wrong. Our wi-fi dropped out twice and they fixed immediately for us, we had maids cleaning our room (and kitchen) every day etc. This is a big plus for me when on holidays!
We heard a visitor complaining that he rented direct and his unit was unclean and he and his partner had to clean themselves. There are pros and cons for each booking option.

The Whaler is a great 3.5 star condo and based on location and size of the units we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Tower 1 is away from the noise of the Whalers Village. We had apartment 102 which is ground floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed at Aston Whaler on Kaanapali Beach in April 2013. Staff were exceptionally nice to us from the moment we drove on to facility grounds to the time we left. Our daughter and her husband stayed nearby and were so impressed with the entire Aston Whaler experience, they spent most of their vacation visiting us.
Cleaning staff paid close "attention to detail" from our first day to our last day. The kitchen
was immaculate and all the cleaning supplies and little extras made us feel right at home. A very well stocked Safeway store is nearby and parking was a breeze in a large covered parking garage. Guest parking is adjacent to the Whaler and had lots of space for visitors.
The pool area is kept immaculate and the swimming pool is very clean and inviting. At night the pool is lighted with multicolor lighting. The grounds are kept up every day by a whole team of garden and maintenance staff. Staff immediately respond to requests for assistance. The unit we had was very quiet. We enjoyed borrowing DVD movies from the front desk staff. Right next door is a shopping mall and lots of excellent restaurants. The beach was very well maintained. There is a wonderful gym and sauna. Hotel management were very courteous and assisted us with all our questions regarding our Maui vacation. On a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being tops, Aston at the Whaler is an 11! ES Seattle, Washington

Room Tip: Pick which building you would like, either close to shopping mall and restaurants or secluded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We had a studio ocean view room on the sixth floor and were pleasantly surprised by the extent of our view and the facilities in our room. Being next door to the whalers village was also very convenient would definitely stay there again

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This review will be like a blog, the rating as of today is Excellent based on our upgraded Studio (the size, clean, granite, SS appliances, large balcony, etc) with a great ocean view, the grounds are well groomed, the pool looks fantastic (haven't tried it) lots of chairs and loungers, we are on day 2 of our vacation. BBQ our steaks last night, had a little vino (maybe more then a little) everything was great. Stay tuned, as I will give an update every couple of days. Then you have a true review from a very particular traveler! Mahalo

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I guess I expect better service. Here is my story.

We checked in on a Sat., after completing a 7 day cruise around the Islands. Sunday morning we wanted to do the laundry so we went to the coin operated machine on our floor. The cost of $1.50 to wash and $1.50 to dry was OK, So we put our first load in the washer. The machines only accepts quarters. The sign indicated that change machines were located on the LL levels of Towers I & II. I went to the LL of my tower and the machine was out of change. I went to the other tower and the machine was not working.

At this point, I had a load of wet clothes and no quarters. So I went to the front desk. - NO Luck , No quarters available and no help from your staff. I was told by the front desk, that I could go somewhere and get change or wait till Monday when the machines would be serviced.

Considering they have 12 floors in each tower and about 21 unites per floor, I am surprised that the front desk would not keep an emergency bag of quarters to cover their guests if the change machines run out or break. That would be the best service possible.

Now, I paid $470 per night. There are a lot of resorts in the area charging about the same rates and providing about the same level of service and amenities. It is expected that all things will go right and the service level will be good. What makes one great and better than the others is in the small details.

The rooms was clean, the view was great. The bed was OK, it could have been better. The kitchen was properly equipped, etc, etc, Now what do you think we will remember the most from our stay. Yep, running around trying to get quarters on a day I wanted to lay around and relax.

I sent an email to the manager and never receives a response.

Look around, there are many places that want your business and will go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Bring your own quarters if you plan to wash your clothes while staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Aloha,

In basic terms, we failed to provide service to you. You are absolutely right – small details matter. On behalf of my team, I apologize. We are better than this and it saddens me to know we did not handle your concern well. I expect to improve and perhaps one day we might get a chance to show you and others that we understand the meaning of hospitality.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked online directly with hotel and Stayed here with my brother August 2013 - I expected more I guess! Booked a 1bdrm/2 bath but they gave us 1 bdrm/1 bath with a big roach on kitchen counter (saw it on 5th day). Was the roach from next door? However, it is a quiet room with partial ocean view! WiFi only in livingrm/kitchn. I cannot say that the room was clean because of roach problem!!! Reported to front desk... Maybe staying in a different smaller hotel would make my first trip to Maui better?! The hotel is next to Kaanapali Whalers Village, walked to shops and restaurants, nightly entertainment at village is good! Great snorkeling at nearby Napili Bay! Even saw a lot of sea turtles on rocks feeding by beach, and one beached itself and people watched and had its pics taken :-) Also saw sea turtles swimming near beach in front of Whaler! Lots of them feeding on rocks at Black Rock!!!

Road to Hana - almost all waterfalls were dried up, beautiful drive though and a lot of wonderful 'Kodak' moments! An all day drive! Maui is beautiful! Mahalo Nui Loa!

Do I recommend this hotel? NO!!!! Yes because of one big roach!

Hauoli Makahiki Hou

Room Tip: Room without roaches!?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Aloha,
I believe your concerns are absolutely valid and your first trip to Maui should have been better. Pest control is a priority for us and every good hotel in Hawaii has a program like ours to reduce the chance of seeing pests. I hope you find your ideal accommodations in the future and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.