We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Whaler! It is at a fantastic location on Kaanapali beach, and is right next to the Whalers village. Our room had a great view of the ocean, and we loved having our breakfast out on the balcony. Our studio condo had a full kitchen, dishwasher, plates, silverware etc and a full size fridge. Wi-fi was free. There is a $12 per day parking charge.

The Kaanapali beach walk is fantastic! Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Wow! Twenty-eight hotel reviews is impressive. Your recommendation means a lot to my team and me. We strive to offer the best rooms at the best price for the best value which to me makes for a great vacation experience. Safe and happy travels to you and yours.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    224
    46
    32
    12
See reviews for
195
343
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Found our condo via VRBO. Fantastic condo with balcony overlooking the koi pond, swimming pool, the Kaanapali beach and could see Black Rock. Good location with a shopping center right next door along with several restaurants that had indoor and outdoor seating. There is a trolley that comes to the shopping center and will take you down to Lahaina's Front Street with more shopping and restaurants. We rented our snorkeling equipment for a week from Boss Frog's, which is down the street at the Lahaina Cannery Mall. When snorkeling at Black Rock and also at Napili Bay. At Black Rock, we saw colored fish, stingrays and the large sea turtles. Great spot and you can walk from the condo to Black Rock. As other people have posted, the best time to go to Haleakala volcano is probably the next day, after you arrive, since most people are still on their old time zone. It's not as painful to leave the condo at 3:00am. Take a blanket or a light jacket because it will be cold up there. If you take the road to Hana, make sure you leave no later than 7:00-7:30am. You will need to take a lunch with you. The condo let us use a cooler, so ask at the desk. Make sure you hike to the Waimoku Falls and to the 7 sacred pools. If you want to learn how to surf, sign up at the Royal Hawaiian Surf. They were great and also took their time with you. That was on my bucket list and I am past 55 years old. Great time. You are never too old! So go hang 10!

Room Tip: I went through VRBO to find the condo and spoke to the owner a couple of times and exchanged emails...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Whaler three times now. We love it each time. It is by far the best location in Ka’anapali Beach. We have now been in three different rooms and have been please with them all. Full kitchen, living room with King bed, free safe in room, free WiFi. Washer & Dryer on each floor. Plenty of parking. The day of checking in they arrive with fresh Pineapple, which is so so good! We have always purchased a garden view, but you can always get a great view of the ocean from your lanai. The grounds are beautiful, I am a photographer so I love it all the tropical plants etc. There is a very nice gym, a nice pool and the best part of the Ka’anapali beach is just steps from all rooms. All three of the rooms we have stayed in have been clean and upgraded with granite counters etc. I love when you pull out of the parking lot the attendant gives you a “Shaka Sign” AKA Hang Loose each time you leave. This is perfect for families needing a condo and the best location. At 8:30am each day they put out free fish food for the Koi fish, our daughter loved feeding them. The Whaler is right next to Whalers Village which has shopping and food. We can’t wait to come back to the Whaler! Aloha!

Room Tip: I would suggest building one or the north side of building two. The south side of building two can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha Nui for staying with us again and again. I would like to think we offer one of the best kept secrets to life in Maui. Reviews similar to yours remind us why our guests are the most important part of our days. So to all our loyal guests who are becoming parts of our ohana (family) and to those yet to discover the Whaler ~ we wish you a fond Aloha!

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here 29 Aug - 3 Sep and loved every minute of it. The Aston is amazing. Fantastic location and facilities and right next door to Whaler village for all your culinary needs. We had a fantastic ocean view and the kitchen was a bonus. I regularly do hotel inspections for a living and I would have to say this hotel ticks all the boxes. Only gripe would be the bathroom is is very small and the vanity area is too large - but having a walk in wardrobe was great. Lahina is only 10 mins away by taxi or take the local bus which runs nearly every 1/2 hour for only $2!
Also would advise don't book any tours at hotel - the girl who we booked through ( on a Saturday) heard our Aussie accents and immediately didn't want to know and couldn't have been less helpful - we wanted to do a trip around the Island and she booked us on the 'Road to Hana" which was terrible ( Grayline tours) - she also booked us lunch without asking us if we wanted it - didn't matter as it was served in a local health center car park, very little choice and by the time 1/2 the bus had been up most of the food on the tables had gone - no where else to buy food from - this was appalling and one of the worst tours I have ever undertaken and very over priced at $350+ for 2. The woman who booked this tour for us was all over the Americans who booked before us and those who were waiting after us.
Apart from this disappointing member of staff all the others we encountered were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha Down Under –

Honest feedback is really important to me. In fact, your review is also constructive and left us trying to figure out how this could happen as well as prevent it from happening again. Thank you for the vote on our rooms, location and love for our property. We promise to do better on the tour next time. Lastly, and perhaps more importantly, Aussies are some of the best guests: usually well-traveled, polite and easy to get along with. Had I known this happened during your stay, I would have invited you next door for a cold one to talk story and sort it out.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We loved our stay at the Whaler. It affords a wonderful location on Ka'anapali Beach.
Ka'anapali Beach is just lovely. Beautiful water, soft sand at your feet. A little to the right is "Black Rock" a good place to snorkel. You might find yourself swimming next to a sea turtle!
The Whaler is next door to Whalers Village. A shopping area that has restaurants , shops and a small grocery store. It was great to have it steps away. Our condo was spacious with wonderful views of the ocean and mountains. We found the front desk helpful especially Rod and Aimee. Concierge was helpful..though very busy. The grounds were well kept. We would recommend staying at the Whaler.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Aloha,
The team was excited to see their names mentioned in your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and found a love for the Whaler. We share your same sentiments with our location, units and service team. Thank you for the recommendation to others.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our third visit to Maui and third time staying at The Whaler. We always start our trip planning several months out to see what kind of deals we can get and The Whaler always ends up on the short list. What brings us back is the location and memories from previous stays. Being located on Ka'anapali Beach we can walk up the beach to Black Rock for snorkeling or take a quick ride to Lahaina for a stroll on Front Street. Also, being located right next to the Whaler's Village, you have several bars and restaurants close by for cocktails or dinner while watching the beautiful Maui sunset.

I can't expand much on what I put in my previous reviews fo The Whaler, but I'm sure we will return time and time again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Aloha Kakou,
I have a big smile from your headline, “Our go-to resort on Maui.” To me, this is like a favorite pillow, t-shirt or tried and true meal at a local restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was "a hundred years" since I had been to Maui. The room was great a studio for my daughter and I . But the best thing was Lisa the concierge/travel person. She booked all our wants/wishes and was so very helpful. We were there for storm flossie and she kept us updated as to our status with the tours. The Whaler is so central to everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Aloha Nui,
We are so glad you re-discovered Maui and the Whaler. Lisa and I discussed your review and we remember your patience with us as we managed through the storm preparation. Thank you for being our guest.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.