We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whaler, even better than we expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tannum Sands, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The Whaler, even better than we expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We selected this condo off the internet thinking it best met the requirements of all 4 couples in our group. What we found was something much better, everyone was happy and wished they had spent more time here than Honolulu. The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily with everything a good size from the patio to the fridge to the robe, it was the best bed we have had - ever! The whole complex was very well maintained, cleaned and the gardens immaculate and the bbq's a bonus. The beach and pool were both great and serviced by a hut with towels etc and the ocean is so clear, only the beach has a step descent so watch little children. The Shopping Village next door has restaurants, take-aways and the usual ABC store and if that doesn't meet your needs there is a bus service outside to both north (the Sea House Restaurant at Napili was just great for a sunset dinner) and south (stopping at Safeways if you need groceries or Lahaina for restaurants or the very good Ualena show). Kaanapali is a great destination in itself, but for Molikini snorkelling, Haleakala bike rides or the road to Hana - you will need a rental and again the Whaler's parking is under the complex and good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are side on which give you a view of both the beach and the golf courses to the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Down Under,
Mahalo Nui (Thank You very much) for taking your time to review our gem property, Aston at the Whaler. We pride ourselves on taking care of the property and our guests. Spacious clean rooms on a fantastic beach and next to shopping and restaurants sums up part of the experience here. We hope to see more Aussies here because you are all good people. Here is a helpful website to find us again in the future. http://www.whalerkaanapali.com

A Hui Hou (Until we meet again)

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    248
    50
    34
    12
See reviews for
209
378
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 664 which we reserved through VRBO. The condo was wonderful-beautiful ocean and mountain views, spotlessly clean and well stocked, comfy bed. The Whaler itself it very nice with beautiful landscaping, pool and hot tub, and great location near everything on beach. The staff were very helpful and nice, especially the concierge- Lisa- who went above and beyond to help us deal with a problem we had with our Thrifty rental car. Thrifty had given us a car that immediately got a flat tire even though we only drove it on paved roads from the airport to the hotel. Thrifty refused to help us and we had to take the car to the tire shop ourselves for repairs, but We really appreciated Lisa calling them for us to try and fix the problem, and for referring us to a reputable local repair shop.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Excellent area. Great beach location. Next to whaler village. Excellent restaurants at whaler village. Best cheap food court with Nikki's for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Menus larger than restaurants. Best vegi pizza ever, specially for dieters. No grease on pizza but lots of vegetables and crisp medium crust. Excellent homemade type food. Also subway and a Mexican type shops. ABC also there.

Condo also near the westin hotel and easy walk to Sheraton. Sheraton has best beach next to black rock. Also most crowded with kids.

The ocean views from whaler among best. Two buildings are farther enough away from each other to get great views especially inside courtyard. Even side over whaler seems to be sufficiently open especially in upper floors. Hotels have more space between them than in Waikiki.

Studio is large enough for two adults. A third adult would be a little tight. Kitchen is size of small one bedroom unit in Miami. Full stove, microwave, dishwasher. Full counter top facing kitchenette table.

Beds in studio are mostly Murphy bed king near full size balcony. At first checking was afraid of Murphy with mattress on a wooden breadboard. Low to grown and there was exposed wood edge on corners. Wanted a full bed, but realized day after we checked in that it took up less room and it was actually easier to get up from bed and utilized the bed much the same height of couch. Mattress really comfortable compared to box spring. And we are in our late 60's with arthritis. Also view from bed was spectacular of ocean. We stayed in room 1164 right in middle of building facing inside court in bldg two.

One problem is with door locks and cards. Seemed to be a problem with many of door locks.. They seemed to be corrosive from moisture and often licks needed to be replaced. Staff was excellent however and they had maintenance constantly changing the lock internal computer mechanism. Towel cards were given. No problem getting beach towels. Not many working beach chairs or umbrellas compared to other hotels and condos on beach. Not a beach to lay on beach. Too windy and current change for beach laying. However little secret we found that our condo had free wonderful lounge chairs in an inside courtyard with large trees around. Really needed that in summer unless you want to fry. Most family members were around pool. Small old fashioned pool, but beach water is cleaner than a bath. Pool water was cleaned every morning but with amount of kids in it, safer in ocean water. Some good snorkeling at black rock. More danger of being kicked by flippers there than shark attack. Of course there were two shark attacks at southern beach by tiger Sharks. One death. We went three weeks after a hurricane hit area. Still churned up and rip tides at beginning of stay. Not Caribbean waters. Warm in summer.

Room Tip: Even if you deal with a hotel and air Travel site, Call hotel one week beforehand and ask for a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Nui,

I really enjoyed reading your informative review because an honest opinion matters – Thank you so much! In the same context, I want to take this opportunity to tell our guests a few more points: first, our prayers and hearts go out to the young lady and her family who suffered the bite. Hawaii has responded by conducting a new study on shark behavior. We all want to feel safe in the waters. Next, the unit size comparison is helpful as is the bed concern. Studios are approximately 650 sq ft which is quite large. In our experience, the wall bed serves as a great option for saving space in the units. These mattresses make for a great night sleep. We appreciate the feedback in how we attend to problems. In the case of the door locks being a challenge, it sounds like the trade winds were really blowing during your visit. The beach is usually perfect to lie on. In fact when the trades stop, it can get pretty warm so we love when the weather is a perfect balance. Last, your room tip is great. We definitely do our best to meet everyone’s requests and on the odd chance we do not, I have asked my team to inform me.

We hope to see you again. Thank you for trusting us with your vacation.

Mahalo

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Part hotel, part condo, this hybrid room concept is terrific. My suite came equipped with a 3-sectioned bathroom, a kitchen finished in granite with new appliances, 3shelves of reading material, a HUGE bed and a nicely sized dining/sitting area and a terrace with a view of the bay. Free WiFi, daily newspaper, Original artwork and laundry facilities on-site, with detergent included, made my day. Small pet peeve: my room was fully prepaid 3 months in advance but they still wanted a credit card deposit. For what? That policy drives me crazy. Otherwise, a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Wow! Another senior reviewer with a very good rating. We must have the best guests on the planet. I am so happy you loved your room and services. Maybe we all have pet peeves: mine is when smokers throw cigarette butts out the car window.

To help explain why we take a $100 deposit at check in, it is to authorize for charging privileges to the following: on site spa, long distance phone calling, pool kiosk, concierge desk. These services can all be charged to your room and for the convenience to our guests.
Thank you for being our guest. We hope you come back soon.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is one of the best places that we have stayed on the 3 islands that we have visited. We were here last year, and not only was the room equally as great, our room this year was even close to the ocean. The staff is still among the very best when it comes to professionalism and friendliness. They really know how to treat you like ohana (family). The room is so spacicious and the view.....the view of the beach and Pacific are way beyond words. We went to Costco to get our supplies and we took advantage of the kitchen in the room. We took advantage of the beach walk, just outside of the Whaler and just took a nice stroll along the ocean side. Next door, you could take in some nice shopping at the Whaler's Village. Stay at the Whaler and you will really have some Maui comfort. Definitely staying here again. Oh, there are tennis rackets and tennis balls so you could play on their courts.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the 9th to 12th floors.......great ocean view with no distractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha and Thank you for your great review of Aston at the Whaler. Your comments about our staff are truly gracious. As a senior contributor, I really value your opinion. Wow! Twenty five helpful votes is tremendous.

We look forward to your return and intend to make your third visit even better than your previous visits.

Malama Pono (Take Care)
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Oh my, this was by far the most beautiful condo I have ever stayed in. Where do I begin...Janell, owner, is absolutely wonderful to work with, she is honest and helpful. The view from the wrap around lanai is spectacular, the interior is furnished with taste and style. The kitchen is amazing and so much fun to use as you stand and look out to the Pacific as you cook. The bedrooms, complete with comfy beds and a bathroom you don't want to leave. You will enjoy all the accents that make you feel welcome in his magical place.
We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Whaler is a beautiful set of condominiums on the north end of Kaanapali Beach. We stayed for a week in a 1-bedroom 2 bathroom ocean view unit. Our stay exceeded our expectations by far. It is a wonderful place to relax. We reserved through the website and requested the highest floor possible and best view possible. We got both! On the top (12th) floor of Tower 2 facing south. Each tower (and side) has its ups and downs. We loved facing south on Tower 2 because it faced the Whaler's Village, which is only 2 floors. So we had a vast unimpeded view of Kaanapali beach and the island of Lanai from our large balcony. We did have to get used to the AC units and the smells coming off the restaurants, but that was easy because the view was great. Inside facing units will look onto the well tended grounds and gardens, but probably get some pool noise. North side of Tower 1 faces Black Rock and some additional hotels. Regardless, you'll love it.

Our unit was beautifully furnished with a great kitchen and open dining and living areas. A separate bedroom and bathroom were through the door. The Whaler also has a number of propane grills on the property and a nice pool. After a week in hectic Waikiki, this was the exact opposite speed. Relax and go at your own pace. We took the $2 bus to Lahaina to shop (go to Foodland or Safeway), stocked up, and never ate at a restaurant the entire week. We used the grills 5 nights and everyone cooking was laid back and friendly.

Staff were warm and helpful. Our housekeeping was excellent.

The Whaler is the perfect place to relax and vacation at your own pace. They have everything you need to do it yourself and really unwind.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Aloha Kakou,

Thank you for this amazing review of our property and service. This really is heaven on earth. Your review is very helpful and honest. BBQ on the beach, $2 bus rides, plenty of ocean views, relaxation and real island living. I can’t wait until you come back again.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.