We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, best views- here's how to pick a room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Leominster, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best location, best views- here's how to pick a room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our 28th trip to Hawaii, our 25th anniversary. We've stayed in unit 1202 before, and loved the views, so we booked it again even though our daughters did not accompany us this time. This unit has improved each time we have been here since 2010, this time with all new bedroom furniture that was very comfortable.

What's unique about the north facing stack at the Whaler ( units ending on 02-24)? The floors above the 6th have an unobstructed view because the KBH hotel next door isn't very high. This means even the bedrooms have ocean views. There is also a front ocean view from the 02 stack. The top floor (1202 and any 12th floor unit on the property) has higher ceilings especially on the lanai's.

The north stack high floors, therefore, have the only unobstructed views both ocean side on the entire beach. All the other hotels and condos on Kaanapali Beach have views that include your neighbors, which decreases the privacy of the lanai. this link shows you where the rooms are http://www.vacation-maui.com/Whaler/Whaler_Sitemap.php

The service at the beach cabana is great, bellmen and front desk are friendly, and the grounds improve every time we are there. We've already booked another trip in June.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    197
    43
    31
    11
See reviews for
164
285
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded on arrival to a one bedroom unit (we booked through the hotel). The unit was very clean, the decor was good, and the kitchen had everything we needed. The free wifi was reliable and very handy. Most importantly, the bed was huge and incredibly comfortable.

From our first floor balcony we had good views of the perfectly maintained courtyard gardens, the ocean, and islands in the distance. The complex is next door to Whalers Village which has some nice shops and three wonderful restaurants.

The hotel pool kiosk and the equipment rental providers on Ka'anapali Beach all seem to open at 8am, so if you like to go out earlier it might be worth getting your towels the afternoon before. Stand-up paddle board rental is cheaper at the nieghbouring kiosk closer to black rock ($25 an hour vs $35), but they will need a credit card for security.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Aloha Nui –

Thank you for the information and positive review. I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay with Aston at the Whaler. As mentioned, the location is incredible. Further, there is no additional daily resort fee for internet or pool towels; providing great value for the stay.

Mahalo
Hal


Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed at the Whaler (tower 2, unit 764). The complex is extremely well maintained and the staff very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The grounds are kept immaculately, and the pool is very nice and close to the beach. The rooms offer wifi that actually works consistently with a very strong signal. Much appreciated when you're from Canada. The complex is located next to Whalers Village, a very expensive and "trinkety" shopping centre that also contains an ABC store and three excellent restaurants. a taxi into Lahaina costs $20. Parking costs $12 per day, and when you check in, you're given towel cards which you exchange at the pool for big, fluffly beach towels. We rented through vrbo, and although our studio unit was nice, super quiet with gorgeous views of the mountains, the ocean and Black Rock (inside court exposure), the bed was old and uncomfortable, and the polyester linen and lumpy, hard pillows were awful. Would definitely return but maybe look closer at owners pictures of beds. Loved it overall.

Room Tip: Recommend north court exposure in south tower (2) for all day shade, no noise and best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

The whaler is a great place to stay! We stayed in the ground floor unit #108 that we found on VRBO. The owner is very attentive and accommodating and she allowed us check in early so we could start our vacation as soon as we landed! The condo is amazing with a great ocean view. The ground floor was so was convenient we were literally steps from the BBQs, pool, and beach! We took advantage of having a full kitchen and this place is completely equipped for what ever you need! We will definitely be going back and stay there!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was a million dollar updated condo. I did not want to leave. ! Comfy beds amazing showers and kitchens. Staff was incredible! The beach staff was the most friendly, rent a cabana or loungers and get the best smiles!! Beach amazing, views amazing, staff amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha Kakou,

Wow, I am definitely going to forward your review to the owner of the unit as well as post your comments so the staff can see the results of their hard work. The unit is incredible and the location too. We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo nui

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey BC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a nice relaxing time at this hotel almost a little to quiet for us though .This hotel is great if you want a place to go and relax and do nothing ,but unfortunately they don't offer anything else , I am giving this hotel a very good rating simply because I was warned before we went that it was like that , unfortunately I had already purchased tickets . Tips ,if you PRE rent your car make sure they add collision ,and upgrade your car at the same time (collision was $26 per day), it will be expensive if you add the two items when you get there,(Hotel charged us $12.50 per day parking) Stop at Costco and load up when you arrive. We were disappointed to find out that if you wanted to use a beach chair it would cost you $12.00 a day per chair or $45 for two chairs and an umbrella ,I think these items should be included (free) its just silly. We won't be going back to this hotel , we are going to stay with the all inclusives ,you just get allot more for your money .

Room Tip: Do not book a garden view as the neighboring restaurant is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha and Thank You for your kind review.
Quiet, relaxation and doing nothing sounds like a perfect place for some travelers. As a condotel, The Whaler is simple beach front living at its best! The all-inclusive may seem like a better value until you consider the cost to eat out and the daily amenity fees versus the fully stocked kitchen in the condo and free wifi. Safe future travels to you and your family.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bay area, ca
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

After reading some reviews and learning that the units are individually owned, I was nervous about what we would get when we arrived. I booked a package through Costco and went with a studio garden room to save money. I sent an email to the address I found on the Aston Whaler web siite. I requested a newly updated unit. Aston replied back and said they would forward their message to the Whaler resort. I never got a reply back so wasn't sure if my message was received. Anyway, when we arrived, I was a bit disappointed that we were assigned a ground floor room. We asked for an upper floor but was told studio gardens are only on the first floor. However, our room was pretty nice. It looks like it was recently updated. The bathroom/shower was beautifully tiled. We had marble countertops and stainless steel appliances in the kitchen. The decor was tastefully done...island theme but not over the top. Plus, we actually had a garden view! You never know what you'll get when you book a "garden view". As one reviewer commented, they ended up with a view of the parking lot. We were very fortunate. Either we got lucky or someone at the Whaler received my request and purposefully assigned us a newly updated room! Some people on here griped that they were disappointed because they were on their honeymoon, and I suspect expected something flashier. This resort is perfect for families and yes we did see a lot of "older guests"...I suspect retirees. Nothing wrong with that. However, if you're on your honeymoon and want something fancy, perhaps stay at another resort. At times, we did worry my 6 year old was making too much noise in the pool, but no one seemed to mind and everyone seemed pretty friendly. There were other families there with smaller children. The staff is pretty friendly. Check-in and check-out was quick and efficient. The housekeeping staff were always very pleasant. The location is awesome: gorgeous beach, right next door to the Whaler Shopping Village, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Aloha Top Contributor,
You have an impressive review history and I value your opinion. Upon reflection with my own travels, your review of Aston at The Whaler on is spot on! Our rental program strives to provide great rooms, friendly and pleasant staff in a superb location. We may not be able to respond immediately to every request; however, we are listening and do pay close attention to meet everyone’s individual needs.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
Whaler
The Whaler Maui
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.