We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Citrus Heights, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

All of the Whaler units I could see have wall to wall, floor to ceiling windows which is great for hearing the ocean. Before going I read we should stay in Tower 1 to avoid noise from the Whaler mall and to get 6th floor or higher. I called and found they could only note it on the reservation but not guarantee it. We arrived to find we were in Tower 2, 3rd floor. I asked if we could get a room in Tower 1 close to the ocean. Rod was very nice and found #607 (1bd/2ba) for 2 nights and then we'd move to another unit. The unit was updated & nicely furnished with a comfortable bed. At home we have ceiling fans in all our rooms and asked if we could find a unit with fans. This unit didn't have fans but Rod found a fan for us to use.

On move day we saw #356 (1bd/1ba) Tower 2 (inside courtyard/3rd floor). It was nicely updated with living room fan but no bedroom fan. Shower and toilet were in a small, separate room from vanity area. The unit had a stereo & nice sized TV, but the breeze wasn't as good as Tower 1. We decided to look at a Tower 1 unit (1bd/2ba, inside courtyard/10th floor). It was updated and very classy, had bedroom and living room fans, comfortable bed, and met our needs for the rest of the trip. We liked the room so much we don't want to share the unit #. Hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Be sure you can walk down the stairs for whatever floor you stay on. We had a fire alarm and had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Kakou –
Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review. As a Senior Contributor, I value your feedback even more. Yes, all the units are unique. We have strict standards to be a part of the in-house rental program with Aston. There really is a perfect room for everyone. We will always help and do our best to find your selection.

Mahalo Nui
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    216
    45
    32
    11
See reviews for
185
330
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved the Whaler! Great large studio room, ocean view, top floor (12th),Tower 2 with comfy king size bed and full kitchen. Good location right next door to the Whaler Village and restaurants. Beach right out front, snorkeling at Black Rock an easy 10 minute stroll up the beach and little huts dotted along the beachfront offering surfing/paddle board lessons and rentals. Loved strolling along the meandering paved beach walk which goes for miles along the front of all the hotels.
Not bothered by any noise from the nearby restaurants even though they were right next door......probably due to the fact that everyone is usually tucked up in bed by 10.00pm.
Friendly staff at reception.....especially Susan at the tour desk. Beautifully manicured gardens and lawns surround the giant fish pond.
We loved having breakfast every morning on the lanai looking out over the water occasionally entertained by the whales. A coffee maker, including coffee, is part of the kitchen amenities along with a beautiful fresh pineapple which had been placed in our fridge on arrival.....nice touch.
The only downside to this property is the size of the pool.....not a real problem as the beach is only steps away......and the fact that there is no restaurant and bar attached to the hotel.
Really enjoyed our first visit to Maui......soooo relaxing. Will definitely visit again but will stay at one of the other resorts offering a few more options. Mahalo!

Room Tip: High floor with ocean view......ocean front would be the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha Oukou – (to all of you)
Thank you for your honest review. Sometimes I wish we could change our pool. The reality is The Whaler has one of the closest pools to the ocean in Maui; therefore, we cannot alter it. I believe what we lack in pool attributes we make up with our proximity to Whaler’s Village, the beach itself and the size of our units. We hope you find what you are looking for and maybe we will see you return.

Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at The Whaler in the last 2 years. There is no better place on Maui to stay in my opinion. The location is convenient to local shopping, and offers shuttle bus transportation to Lahaina from The Whaler Village. Also convenient to a number of great restaurants, all w/in a very short walking distance. The beach is fantastic, not polluted w/coral like some. The complex offers free beach towels, and chairs and cabanas are available for a fee. The staff is friendly, helpful, and eager to please. The only downside is that there is a $12/day parking fee.

Room Tip: On our first stay at The Whaler, we had a one bedroom, 2 bath unit which made it especially nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha –
Your valued opinion matters to us more than you may realize. Yes, the location is outstanding and so are the people who work here. We can’t wait to help you celebrate your third stay.

A Hui Hou…(Until we meet again)
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Whaler is fantastic. We stayed in one bedroom, two bath premium unit, one stack back from the ocean, on the sunny side of Tower 1 (facing the courtyard). The view was spectacular, whales visible at various times of the day. We often ate or snacked on the Lanai, but of course walked the beach to the nearby restaurants as well. We were quite pleased at the variety of restaurants nearby, and the close proximity of the quaint town of Lahaina. We even hiked from the Whaler to the far end of Front street for a great burger and root beer floats, but decided to learn the local bus system and hopped a quick ride back to "home". The staff is top notch, and made us feel completely welcome and one of the "ohana". Great snorkeling right on the beach, or a very short hike along the beach to Black Rock. We will be back, and stay at the Whaler, booking through Aston. No reason to look any further!

Room Tip: Views from courtyard rooms are good no matter the floor; "outer" rooms may be better on hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Me Ka Aloha Pumehana (Warm Aloha) –
Thank you of taking your time to share your experience with us. Our team loves to read about the fun and enjoyment that both Maui and The Whaler provides. You will always be a part of our ohana.

Malama Pono (Take Care)

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Whaler for the first time- Loved it! Room was clean, huge, had a washer and dryer and a fully stocked kitchen. The view from the lanai was spectacular - must have seen 30 whales from our balcony. Pool was ok, a bit crowded but why bother with the pool when the beach is steps away. Short stroll down the beach to black rock- good snorkeling and fun to jump off. There is no restaurant on sight but you have many options to the south in whalers Village. Try Maui Fish and Pasta for breakfast. Great place, good value.

Room Tip: Corner suites have wrap around deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Kakou,
Fantastic! Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Your suggestions are great. We hope you come back soon because a four night stay is not long enough.
A hui hou,
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Whaler is a very well-kept property located right in the center of Ka'anapali Beach right next to the charming Whaler Village. While it is in a great location, it also feels quite private. The units seem well-designed and quite spacious. Our unit was a corner 1 bedroom, 2 bath with wonderful views in several directions. I believe all units are privately owned and can be rented from various rental companies as well as from Aston, who operates the front desk. The two towers seem to date from the 70's, but are in good shape.

The adjacent Whaler Village has excellent dining and shopping choices. The beach in front of the Whaler is very nice and the private pool area, while not large, is very pleasant.

My one complaint is the shortage of parking. Every evening by 8:00 PM or so all parking places in the garage are occupied and the only remaining parking option is the employee parking lot at the far edge of the property. This seems to be an original design flaw, since the management has already taken over some of the tennis court space for additional parking.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a unit on the fourth floor or higher if on the outer sides of the buildings. That way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha,
Our great experience is at the heart of our operation. Your comments are very helpful. I have to agree with the parking situation. In fact, the property is actively working on solutions to this challenge. Stay tuned as more parking is likely in the long term. Meanwhile, we hope this does not deter you from visiting us again soon.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went back to Maui for our 9th visit! The third time at the Whaler. We love this resort. It feels like home. From our 1bd ocean view balacony over looking Ka'anapali Beach, we would have breakfast every day. We hang out at the pool or walk to one of the many dining options at Whalers Village. We love watching the Whales from our Lanai. The resort has large units with full kitchens! We love this place and will keep returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a inside oceanview over looking the resort to the ocean! Best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha,
Some of our favorite things are noted in your review. Yes it feels like home. The beach, breakfast on lanai, pool and walking time and of course whales which makes the Whaler one of the premier condo hotels in Hawaii.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.