We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be beat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 11 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Lahaina
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Can't be beat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from our second stay at The Whaler in the last 2 years. There is no better place on Maui to stay in my opinion. The location is convenient to local shopping, and offers shuttle bus transportation to Lahaina from The Whaler Village. Also convenient to a number of great restaurants, all w/in a very short walking distance. The beach is fantastic, not polluted w/coral like some. The complex offers free beach towels, and chairs and cabanas are available for a fee. The staff is friendly, helpful, and eager to please. The only downside is that there is a $12/day parking fee.

Room Tip: On our first stay at The Whaler, we had a one bedroom, 2 bath unit which made it especially nice and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Aloha –
Your valued opinion matters to us more than you may realize. Yes, the location is outstanding and so are the people who work here. We can’t wait to help you celebrate your third stay.

A Hui Hou…(Until we meet again)
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    350
    197
    43
    31
    11
See reviews for
164
285
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cotati
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Whaler is fantastic. We stayed in one bedroom, two bath premium unit, one stack back from the ocean, on the sunny side of Tower 1 (facing the courtyard). The view was spectacular, whales visible at various times of the day. We often ate or snacked on the Lanai, but of course walked the beach to the nearby restaurants as well. We were quite pleased at the variety of restaurants nearby, and the close proximity of the quaint town of Lahaina. We even hiked from the Whaler to the far end of Front street for a great burger and root beer floats, but decided to learn the local bus system and hopped a quick ride back to "home". The staff is top notch, and made us feel completely welcome and one of the "ohana". Great snorkeling right on the beach, or a very short hike along the beach to Black Rock. We will be back, and stay at the Whaler, booking through Aston. No reason to look any further!

Room Tip: Views from courtyard rooms are good no matter the floor; "outer" rooms may be better on hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Me Ka Aloha Pumehana (Warm Aloha) –
Thank you of taking your time to share your experience with us. Our team loves to read about the fun and enjoyment that both Maui and The Whaler provides. You will always be a part of our ohana.

Malama Pono (Take Care)

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Whaler for the first time- Loved it! Room was clean, huge, had a washer and dryer and a fully stocked kitchen. The view from the lanai was spectacular - must have seen 30 whales from our balcony. Pool was ok, a bit crowded but why bother with the pool when the beach is steps away. Short stroll down the beach to black rock- good snorkeling and fun to jump off. There is no restaurant on sight but you have many options to the south in whalers Village. Try Maui Fish and Pasta for breakfast. Great place, good value.

Room Tip: Corner suites have wrap around deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha Kakou,
Fantastic! Thank you for letting us know about your stay. Your suggestions are great. We hope you come back soon because a four night stay is not long enough.
A hui hou,
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Whaler is a very well-kept property located right in the center of Ka'anapali Beach right next to the charming Whaler Village. While it is in a great location, it also feels quite private. The units seem well-designed and quite spacious. Our unit was a corner 1 bedroom, 2 bath with wonderful views in several directions. I believe all units are privately owned and can be rented from various rental companies as well as from Aston, who operates the front desk. The two towers seem to date from the 70's, but are in good shape.

The adjacent Whaler Village has excellent dining and shopping choices. The beach in front of the Whaler is very nice and the private pool area, while not large, is very pleasant.

My one complaint is the shortage of parking. Every evening by 8:00 PM or so all parking places in the garage are occupied and the only remaining parking option is the employee parking lot at the far edge of the property. This seems to be an original design flaw, since the management has already taken over some of the tennis court space for additional parking.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a unit on the fourth floor or higher if on the outer sides of the buildings. That way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha,
Our great experience is at the heart of our operation. Your comments are very helpful. I have to agree with the parking situation. In fact, the property is actively working on solutions to this challenge. Stay tuned as more parking is likely in the long term. Meanwhile, we hope this does not deter you from visiting us again soon.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went back to Maui for our 9th visit! The third time at the Whaler. We love this resort. It feels like home. From our 1bd ocean view balacony over looking Ka'anapali Beach, we would have breakfast every day. We hang out at the pool or walk to one of the many dining options at Whalers Village. We love watching the Whales from our Lanai. The resort has large units with full kitchens! We love this place and will keep returning!

Room Tip: Ask for a inside oceanview over looking the resort to the ocean! Best view ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha,
Some of our favorite things are noted in your review. Yes it feels like home. The beach, breakfast on lanai, pool and walking time and of course whales which makes the Whaler one of the premier condo hotels in Hawaii.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and had a wonderful time. When the front desk found out it was our first time in Hawaii they upgraded us to a gorgeous ocean view room. The staff was very helpful and friendly throughout. The location is great, we went snorkeling at Black Rock almost every morning and there were lots of great restaurants around. Just a short drive into Lahaina and if we go again we might try to rent bikes for the week so we could bike into Lahaina. Loved the walking path out front of the hotels to walk up and down the beach, check out the other hotels and restaurants. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked through Aston and could only reserve a 1 bedroom, 2 bath for our family. Upon arriving we asked if any 2 bedrooms had become available. Several had. We were able to walk through each and compare. All were nicely appointed, just a matter of location. We upgraded to a courtside oceanview on the 7th floor of Tower 2. What a pleasure to stay in. Views of Ka'anapali Beach and the mountainside. Huge bedrooms, fully supplied & updated kitchen, daily housekeeping, spacious wraparound lanai to watch sunrises & sunsets. The grounds are well kept. A landscaper was maintaining the large koi pond almost every morning we were there. Pool is small compared to nearby hotels but the beach is only steps away. We shopped for groceries at Safeway just down the road and ate at restaurants in the Whaler's Village next to the Aston. The Village gets loud & lively with music echoing through the evening. Tower 2 is far enough away we weren't bothered by it. During the day our condo area was quiet and low-key. We had the good fortune of a week of lovely weather after a cloudy & rainy during stay in Oahu. Highly recommend the Whaler for beach, location and quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Aloha nui,
When you reserve a room with Aston, one of the best features is flexibility. Everyone seems to have a favorite location within the two towers. We appreciate your great review as you summed up the property well: great beach, perfect location and quality units.
Come back soon for another memorable visit.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
Whaler
The Whaler Maui
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#16 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Amex, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list