We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whales at The Whaler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Studio $229
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Steilacoom, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Whales at The Whaler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

First 2 weeks of March at the Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, Maui. We've stayed here many times over the years. We usually rent through Aston but this year they didn't have available any of the rooms we like so we rented from owner. It is less expensive but with Aston you get daily maid service and a little more attention from management. Sit on the lanai (veranda) and watch the humpbacks sport in the ocean in front of the condos. Place is getting a little dated but the owners keep the maintenence up. A wonderful place to spend a few weeks. I didn't want to come home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
The whales are one of the many reasons that make Maui and The Whaler are so special. I was sad to hear that Aston did not have a unit available for you, but glad to know you found alternative accommodations. Although Aston might be a little more in price, I hope you will find the cleaning and management team were there to support your visit. Please come back next year to see more whales and improvements. The next project is the new furniture and décor for the lobby.
Mahalo,
Hal
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    370
    210
    44
    32
    11
See reviews for
172
306
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Langley BC Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went through an individual owner and were happy with our studio unit. It was a lot more affordable for us rather than going through the hotel directly. Our studio was more dated than others we had seen but for the price we paid we didn't care. It had all the amenities including everything we needed from corkscrews to beach chairs and an ice chest. The complex was beautiful and in a great location. Black Rock was the best snorkelling we found on the island and it was at our fingertips every day. The restaurants and shopping nearby, walking distance, was an awesome perk as well. The pool looked well loved by many others, it was always busy. We never used it though as the ocean was right there the whole time. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I had never stayed at this property before and was not sure what to expect. My husband and I were delighted by the staff. A special thank you goes out to the general manager for having the true Aloha spirit. We couldn't tear ourselves away from Maui this trip and I extended our stay another 8 days. The hotel was totally booked and the manager went out of his way to try to find a room for the extra days we were to stay. The staff is wonderful and I feel they reflect the managers pride in the hotel/condo. From the bellman, pool people to the front desk they were all wonderful. All I asked for was a lanai to watch whales from and good weather and Hal gave us a great place to call home for our visit. Can't say enough about our visit here. We shopped till we dropped next door at the Whaler Village shopping center, went whale watching every other day and in between we went to the beach. Won't stay any other place except here for all future visits. Thank you so much - you know who you are : )

Room Tip: All rooms have an ocean view, great beach and shopping next door. Who could ask for more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha Nui,
In Hawaii, “ohana” means “family” and one of the first values kamaaina (locals) understand is appreciation. Maui is one of the most special places in the world because of people, culture and beauty and when you make an effort to connect with others with shared values you become a part of our ohana. Thank you for recognizing how much we appreciate our guests; your review is a wonderful gift.
A hui hou!
Hal
Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, CO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I just returned from possibly the best 9 nights of our life spent at the Whaler. We absolutely loved the unit we got. We booked from Travelocity, so you never know what you will get. But our unit was remodeled and very modern with SS appliances and a great bed. By booking with Travelocity, we got daily maid service which was real nice.

One of the best parts of the Whaler is the people. Amy is so kind behind the front desk, as our the bellboys and girls at the beach hut. Everyone seems to enjoy their job. Upper management seems to be doing a GREAT job.
The weight room is bigger than most hotel gyms and worked fine for the week. The recent remodel is really nice and the courtyard is beautiful. This is the second time we have stayed here and everything has really improved.
But location is the number one reason we stay here. Great restaurants next door, Whalers Village, Black rock to snorkel, a nice beackwalk path.. We just love it and we are planning a trip back to the Whaler for next year.

The recent remodel is really nice and the courtyard is beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha!
I always envision the Whaler as a home away from home. Home because of the spirit of service. The units are charming and location amazing; but as you said, it is the people who make the difference. Can’t wait to see you – come home soon!
Mahalo,
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my husbands and my first trip to Hawaii. We were impresses with the location and the room was beautiful and updated. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary when booking and were greated with sparkling wine and treats! Very good service and a two for one luau ticket. The pool is very simple and the hot tub was not working the last couple days which were the cooler cloudy days, so would have been nice. But it did not hamper our visit to the Whaler, we loved our room and the staff are excellent! We are ocean people and spent our time in there. Great restaurants and shopping near by, close to excursions and the housekeeping is excellent. We would go back and would want that room again!!

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial ocean view. Higher the floor more to see whales etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a garden view at the Whaler and thought that that is what we would get. Instead we got a room on the ground floor facing the back and some trees. The room was very tired looking and needed refurbishment and because of the trees and the position it faced was in darkness all day long. One goes to Hawaii to get a bit of sun but this room didnt receive any sunlight all day long. We had to turn on the lights if we came in even in the middle of the day. I had booked this 3 months previously so it wasnt a last minute booking and having to take whatever room was still available.
When we complained to the desk the receptionist there was not very helpful and all she could say was that it was fully booked and that was that.
we were offered a room a couple of floors higher but were told that we would have to pay $150 a day extra, which we declined. we asked a number of times if we could change but were always given the same answer.
As for the other amenities, the position was great just next to the other hotels and cafes and next to the Whalers shopping plaza. However, the amenities could have been better, the pool was small and crowded especially compared to the other hotels nearby and nit very welcoming, and there was no cafe or bar there that could serve anything , we had to leave the premises to get something.
I would not recommend this as an ideal place to stay in this part of the island

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed at unit 359 in the Aston at the Whaler for 9 nights This is our 3rd stay here since 2007 but the first time since they became an Aston Hotel. We love the location especially being so close to many great restaurants and a really nice beach and the beach walk. It is also one of the few hotels in this area that have condo units with full kitchens. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We did find a couple of things that we didn't like and the major one was the bed. We had a one bedroom unit with a king size bed. After the first night we realized that we were not going to get much sleep on it as it was like sleeping on cement. We asked at the front desk if we could get a mattress topper to help soften it up and they had one on the bed within a couple of hours. This helped somewhat but the bed was still really hard. We have slept in a lot of hotel rooms and I have to say this was one of the worst beds I have had in a very long time! The other thing that was disappointing was how long it took to get any hot water in the bathroom sink. I don't like to waste water but sometimes it took several minutes of running the water before the water even turned warm. For the most part our stay was enjoyable and if there was improvement in the beds I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Whaler. Your comments are valued. Here is what we are doing to improve the areas mentioned above: mattress options need to be available. If we cannot move you to another room and the mattress does not work for you then I will find a way to get a new mattress to you. Second, through research, I learned the older building did not accommodate for plumbing recirculation pumps. Therefore, we have to wait for hot water. We are reviewing to see if this can be changed. A great vacation experience should not be compromised at the expense of a good night sleep. Please come visit us again so we can show you our improvements.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.