We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location Beautiful room awesome service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location Beautiful room awesome service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was my husbands and my first trip to Hawaii. We were impresses with the location and the room was beautiful and updated. We had mentioned that it was our anniversary when booking and were greated with sparkling wine and treats! Very good service and a two for one luau ticket. The pool is very simple and the hot tub was not working the last couple days which were the cooler cloudy days, so would have been nice. But it did not hamper our visit to the Whaler, we loved our room and the staff are excellent! We are ocean people and spent our time in there. Great restaurants and shopping near by, close to excursions and the housekeeping is excellent. We would go back and would want that room again!!

Room Tip: Ocean view or partial ocean view. Higher the floor more to see whales etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    241
    49
    33
    12
See reviews for
206
368
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne, australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment with a garden view at the Whaler and thought that that is what we would get. Instead we got a room on the ground floor facing the back and some trees. The room was very tired looking and needed refurbishment and because of the trees and the position it faced was in darkness all day long. One goes to Hawaii to get a bit of sun but this room didnt receive any sunlight all day long. We had to turn on the lights if we came in even in the middle of the day. I had booked this 3 months previously so it wasnt a last minute booking and having to take whatever room was still available.
When we complained to the desk the receptionist there was not very helpful and all she could say was that it was fully booked and that was that.
we were offered a room a couple of floors higher but were told that we would have to pay $150 a day extra, which we declined. we asked a number of times if we could change but were always given the same answer.
As for the other amenities, the position was great just next to the other hotels and cafes and next to the Whalers shopping plaza. However, the amenities could have been better, the pool was small and crowded especially compared to the other hotels nearby and nit very welcoming, and there was no cafe or bar there that could serve anything , we had to leave the premises to get something.
I would not recommend this as an ideal place to stay in this part of the island

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We recognize our guests have the options to stay anywhere. Thank you for your great review. Your kind words inspire my team and I to strive to become the best we can be and in turn, we hope you leave inspired too.
Safe travels!
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We recently stayed at unit 359 in the Aston at the Whaler for 9 nights This is our 3rd stay here since 2007 but the first time since they became an Aston Hotel. We love the location especially being so close to many great restaurants and a really nice beach and the beach walk. It is also one of the few hotels in this area that have condo units with full kitchens. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. We did find a couple of things that we didn't like and the major one was the bed. We had a one bedroom unit with a king size bed. After the first night we realized that we were not going to get much sleep on it as it was like sleeping on cement. We asked at the front desk if we could get a mattress topper to help soften it up and they had one on the bed within a couple of hours. This helped somewhat but the bed was still really hard. We have slept in a lot of hotel rooms and I have to say this was one of the worst beds I have had in a very long time! The other thing that was disappointing was how long it took to get any hot water in the bathroom sink. I don't like to waste water but sometimes it took several minutes of running the water before the water even turned warm. For the most part our stay was enjoyable and if there was improvement in the beds I would certainly not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Whaler. Your comments are valued. Here is what we are doing to improve the areas mentioned above: mattress options need to be available. If we cannot move you to another room and the mattress does not work for you then I will find a way to get a new mattress to you. Second, through research, I learned the older building did not accommodate for plumbing recirculation pumps. Therefore, we have to wait for hot water. We are reviewing to see if this can be changed. A great vacation experience should not be compromised at the expense of a good night sleep. Please come visit us again so we can show you our improvements.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Nice low key experience. Have been coming back to the Whaler for the past 10 years. The best location on Maui with little rain (Kapalua seems to have alot of rain) less wind than Kapalua and the best beach on Maui. If you are looking for a grand hotel experience then this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a nice, clean, and low key stay then this is the place. Great location,condo living is great (can stay in and cook your own meal and sit out on the lanai under the stars and have a great diner. Nothing is better than that) We have been coming to Maui for over 20 years and you do get tired of all of the restaurant food. New grounds look nice, new facelift of the buildings look nice, pool is small but adequate. I would rather be in the ocean surfing anyway. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. The Whaler shopping center is right next door, for a quick bite to eat or some shopping. We will be coming back until we are no longer traveling to the islands, because we will be living here.

Room Tip: all rooms are different, so you have to be careful. Some rooms do need to be upgraded. West tower is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for the great review! Everything you said is true. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic holiday (8 days) at the Whaler. The property and room did not disappoint. Initially was worried about booking a studio but found it more than spacious enough for my husband and myself. Comfortable king-size bed and more than adequate and updated full kitchen/bathroom. Wonderful ocean view from room and balcony unlike some properties who promise this but you need binoculars to see! Bex at check-in was extremely pleasant and efficient and everything went smoothly. My only complaint is the guests at all resorts, the Whaler's guests being no exception, who selfishly put out towels on limited chairs by the pool then leave them unused for hours. I think all hotels should regulate this, including the Whaler. All in all, a fantastic get-a-way. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Aloha,
We are so happy to hear you loved the Whaler. Our staff strives to provide exceptional experience. Your comment on the pool chair availability resulted in hiring someone to help monitor guidelines at the pool. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Mahalo
Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Recently stayed 6 days. Enjoyed it very much. I understand that the apartments vary considerably so check out before committing. Our room (1214) was a studio which was quite large and well appointed. It was however reasonably dated but I guess if it were modern the price would be considerably higher. Views were great as was location. Concierge desk was very helpful and front desk was ok.
Pool was crowded but gardens were really nice.
I would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a higher floor towards beach if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed at the Whaler (unit 465) and found the location great and the view really nice. The property is pretty basic with smallish pool, limited deck chairs, and dated exercise room. They gave 3 or 4 grills that are available which is nice and helps offset some food costs. The unit itself is a bit worn, but worked just fine for my girlfriend and I. We spent limited time in the room and when we were most of it was on the lanai. The kitchen decent, but pans, utensils, etc. were kind of old.

Overall a decent place if you get a nice rate, but I would not call it luxury by any means.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.