We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location to stay on Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Studio $229
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location to stay on Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. It was a week in paradise. The property is located right on the water on what I would consider to be one of the nicest beaches we saw in Maui. On two different days, we saw Alaskan Humpback whales frolicking in the bay right outside the hotel. The area has shops, restaurants, and a great ocean walkway that takes you from one end of the beach to the other. The snorkelling is fantastic, with Black Rock at one end of the beach being the top spot. All of the suites in The Whaler seem to have a pretty spectacular ocean view. We spent our mornings and evenings on our lanai relaxing and enjoying the sights and the sounds of the ocean. The staff at The Whaler is very friendly and helpful. During our stay we had something come up and required the assistance of the hotel manager. He dealt with the matter immediately. You can tell that customer service is very important to them. Our studio apartment was a good size for two people. It seemed to have been totally renovated as all the appliances were new, with granite countertops, king size bed, and a new bathroom. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha nui,

Wow! We are humbled and appreciative by your amazing review. If you only have a week for your vacation in Kaananapali then Aston at The Whaler is the place to be! Customer service is extremely important to us. We want to make certain everyone’s time with us is memorable. Our team signed a commitment letter to keep our guest experience at the “heart of our operation.” These are words we strive to perform for all of our owners and guests on a daily basis. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your return. As we say in the islands, A hui hou. “until we meet again.”
.

Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    379
    211
    44
    32
    11
See reviews for
176
310
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Despite the weather we really enjoyed our stay here. We booked thru Aston and were given 516. It is updated and well cared for. Would book this unit again. Close to Black rock and not really busy staff was really friendly and our maid was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha,

I am sorry to hear you did not have perfect weather. The rain and wind last week shows the rare but necessary part of living in a tropical climate like Hawaii. Your review is wonderful because we strive to provide great guest service. Real feedback like yours especially for the housekeeping team motivates our daily efforts. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was another perfect vacation in Hawaii- our 26th trip there, but the Whaler is our favorite destination. The waves perfectly break on the beach for boogie boarders and body surfing. Snorkeling at black rock is steps away. We were in Unit 1202 again, which is the penthouse 2 bedroom that faces Lanai and the perfect sunsets, and additionally has a side lanai with unobstructed views to north Maui, Molokai, and the mountains. The kids room has 2 queen size, not full size beds, so is comfortable.Everyone is nice, especially TJ and Michelle at the beach hut. The pool can be crowded when the afternoon trade winds come in, but we stay mostly at the perfect beach. The rooms are nicely appointed, and the pillows are unusually comfortable and fluffy. We sleep with the lanai sliding glass doors open and listen to the wave all nite. Great restaurants are less than 100 steps away- Hula Grill, Leilani's, and more.

Room Tip: rooms in the north tower front and north have unobstructed ocean view since the neighboring hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My Husband, myself and our 3 month old daughter stayed at The Whaler for 8 nights Jan 9-17th. This was our 3rd time to Maui and our first time staying at The Whaler.
THe location is great. We like being able to walk to different restaurants and shopping and so having it located right beside the Whaler's Villiage mall and restaurants was ideal, especially with an infant. It is right on the beach which is also great and super close to Black Rock for snorkelling.
Having a condo was also great when travelling with a child. It was equipped with a full fridge, stove, microwave, kettle etc and all the amenities needed for cooking. THey also provided 2 beach chairs, which was also convenient.
However...
THe service was less than steller. The front desk staff were not overly friendly. Our room service was lacking as well. One day we were out of our room by 9 am, we returned at 1 pm to feed the baby and our room was not yet cleaned. We left it at 2 pm and returned again at 4 pm to find it still wasn't cleaned. They finally knocked on the door at 4:30, which was way too late and so we declined room service that day. This happened on 2 occasions.
The pool area was also not great. It is a fairly small pool area and if you aren't there super early, your lucky to get a chair. THere is minimal shade and as such we couldn't use the pool at all because of needing to keep our baby out of the sun. It is fully fenced in, which in my opinion takes away from atmosphere. If you are sitting by the pool, you very well could be at a pool in any regular complex (such as my Grandma's townhomes here in Canada). Nothing about the pool area screams Hawaii.
I have stayed at the Marriott in both Wailea and Lahaina and their pool area's were amazing compared to this as was their customer service.

I am not one to typically leave negative reviews and am usually always happy with where I stay, but I think I was spoiled in the past with my experiences at the Marriott's and as a result was a bit dissapointed with The Whaler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha,

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations. Specifically, our service needs to make the difference when the pool cannot. We definitely have our challenges on some of the busier days. Your honest feedback helps us focus on the areas mentioned. We will continue to work on improving our guest service and the interior of our units in the program. Condominiums have wonderful advantages while on vacation and it is my absolute goal to ensure our guest experience is the best it can be.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have stayed in the Whaler three times and also many of my friends stayed there on many occasions.All condos were great,and now I'd stay there pretty much in any condo on any floor and with any view. Still the best I think are condos with the Black Rock view, higher than 6-th floor.
Location is outstanding, (two steps to snorkeling,gorgeous beach,restaurants,shops ),condos are spacious,the resort is quiet and stylish. I strongly recommend it for anybody and for any occasion.
The best booking "deals" have been made either through VRBO or by contacting independent owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha Nui,

Staying at The Whaler three times is a milestone because the experience becomes a tradition. Your comments are valued and your feedback welcome. As for the best way to reserve a stay at The Whaler the “deals” could be a debate. As the GM of the in-house rental program I am biased. But this does not mean I am not a realist too. I recognize the fragmented nature of business and travel when it comes to reserving a condominium. If you are like me, you want to know what you are buying, what to expect, who is going to be there for you when something goes wrong and what level of service I am willing to sacrifice for a low rate or low quality room. In fact, this is a really important topic that deserves attention. To show my sincerity I want to share the following. I know some owners who rent on their own who do an amazing job. Equally, there are some who do not know anything about hospitality. VRBO has become the marketplace du jour. As a future guest and/or owner booking a room via VRBO tends to take a large time commitment to execute an agreement and deposit schedule with an independent owner. Alternatively, in-house rental programs exist for important reasons. In my opinion, the program remains the best way to guarantee a great trip. We call it “trip insurance.” Am I willing to pay a little more for this, yes. Here are some examples: incredibly high standards for cleaning of rooms, in house teams trained to respond to guest needs and the ability to move rooms if I want. Perhaps my dad said it best when he taught me Caveat Emptor, which means “buyer beware”. This advice guides me often. Lastly, I would like to suggest guests be very careful booking accommodations via Craigslist. This appears to be the most insecure transaction. On behalf of all the staff at The Whaler we thank you for your patronage.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My brother and I accompanied our parents to Maui to celebrate their 30th Wedding Anniversary last September and stayed 7 nights at the Whaler. We had discovered and stayed at the Whaler the previous year through a Costco promotion. We rented two studio condos in tower 2 and were impressed both times.

The Whaler is situated in the heart of Kaanapali Beach right next to the Whaler's Village. That means you are right next door to restaurants, right down the beach from snorkeling at Black Rock, and right next to a beautiful swimming beach. We had a freshly cut and chilled pineapple ready to eat when we checked in. The hotel has a free DVD Kiosk similar to redbox where you can check 2 movies out at a time per room during your stay. The pool and spa are located right along the beachfront path. The pool doesn't have bells and whistles like the neighboring hotel pools, but with a beach so close, the added amenities are not needed.

Our units were very nice and very clean. They had a equipped kitchen for cooking (we stocked up on fresh fish at Costco on our way from the airport) and a BBQ area close to the beachfront path. The views from the towers were incredible. Tower 2 looks out over Whaler's Village on one side and out over the ground of the hotel towards Black Rock on the other side.

The front desk staff was truly wonderful and made us feel welcome.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floors of tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Aloha oe,

We are honored that your family selected to stay at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach for your parents’ special occasion, thank you. A Costco membership has many benefits and so does staying at The Whaler. Location, value, quality and service are important measures great companies use to ensure great performance. The pool is so close to the ocean that according to state rules we cannot change it. I am glad you found the close proximity to the ocean refreshing as the best alternative. I will be sharing your review with our entire team so they can see your great comments. Your recommendation means a lot to us and we hope you will join us again soon.
.

Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Aston Hotels and Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family stayed in Unit 121/123 at The Whaler during December 2012 and had a completely wonderful time. The unit is beautifully set up with two large bedrooms, both with king beds, a spacious living area and nicely equipped galley style kitchen. The master bedroom has an attached full bath and massive closet space. The main bath, located across the hall from the guest bedroom, is a great bonus. The living room/dining room has a great Hawaiian feel with the wicker style furniture.

The art work of Robert Lyn Nelson throughout the condo was incredible and much admired by all of us throughout our time there. During our stay, we came across Diamond Head Gallery which has Mr. Nelson’s artwork. We were fortunate enough to meet Mr. Nelson on the Friday, which is art night in Lahaina. This was an incredible experience for us and our daughters.

Having laundry in the suite is a major plus as we were able to do laundry almost every day without worrying about taking up the facilities that are shared by all the other guests.

While the condo is located at the back of the building, the ocean isn’t that far away and the privacy we had was excellent. The garden greenery blocked our lanai from the side, so we could have our curtains open without anyone glancing in as they walk by. Another great feature is that each room had patio doors, so in all, there were five patios that we could have open, enjoying the wonderful Hawaiian breeze. Because we were so close to the ocean, we didn’t spend that much time on the lanai. When we did though, it was so nice to have our privacy and so much room to relax in.

Prior to our visit, I was in contact with the owner. He was very helpful in giving us ideas of what to do/see during our visit. It was very nice to talk with him prior and I was able to contact him during our stay as well. Knowing that he was readily available was very important.

In our family, there are only four of us so the condo had more than enough space for all of us. The location is amazing: the beach is a moment’s walk away, Black Rock is a beach stroll away, next door to The Whaler’s Village, restaurants abounding, concrete walkway all along the beach, six minutes from Lahaina – what more can you ask for!! When we come back to Ka’anapali, we definitely will be staying here again. As I write this, my heart misses Maui…

Anne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Business Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.