We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whaler - great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Whaler - great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family stayed in Unit 121/123 at The Whaler during December 2012 and had a completely wonderful time. The unit is beautifully set up with two large bedrooms, both with king beds, a spacious living area and nicely equipped galley style kitchen. The master bedroom has an attached full bath and massive closet space. The main bath, located across the hall from the guest bedroom, is a great bonus. The living room/dining room has a great Hawaiian feel with the wicker style furniture.

The art work of Robert Lyn Nelson throughout the condo was incredible and much admired by all of us throughout our time there. During our stay, we came across Diamond Head Gallery which has Mr. Nelson’s artwork. We were fortunate enough to meet Mr. Nelson on the Friday, which is art night in Lahaina. This was an incredible experience for us and our daughters.

Having laundry in the suite is a major plus as we were able to do laundry almost every day without worrying about taking up the facilities that are shared by all the other guests.

While the condo is located at the back of the building, the ocean isn’t that far away and the privacy we had was excellent. The garden greenery blocked our lanai from the side, so we could have our curtains open without anyone glancing in as they walk by. Another great feature is that each room had patio doors, so in all, there were five patios that we could have open, enjoying the wonderful Hawaiian breeze. Because we were so close to the ocean, we didn’t spend that much time on the lanai. When we did though, it was so nice to have our privacy and so much room to relax in.

Prior to our visit, I was in contact with the owner. He was very helpful in giving us ideas of what to do/see during our visit. It was very nice to talk with him prior and I was able to contact him during our stay as well. Knowing that he was readily available was very important.

In our family, there are only four of us so the condo had more than enough space for all of us. The location is amazing: the beach is a moment’s walk away, Black Rock is a beach stroll away, next door to The Whaler’s Village, restaurants abounding, concrete walkway all along the beach, six minutes from Lahaina – what more can you ask for!! When we come back to Ka’anapali, we definitely will be staying here again. As I write this, my heart misses Maui…

Anne

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    224
    46
    32
    12
See reviews for
195
343
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was my third stay at the Whaler over the course of 20 years. All my visits, including this recent one, were a lovely experience. Each condo is individually owned, so the furnishings are different in each one. This visit we had an ocean view 1 bedroom, 1 bath on the 7th floor of Tower 2. Tower 2 is the building right next door to Whaler's Village and the Hula Grill. fyi - Tower 1 is the building closest to Black Rock. We were greeted by a complimentary pineapple in our fridge along with 2 bottles of water and a note welcoming us. Our kitchen was modern (granite countertops, stainless steel applicances) and had all the dishes, cookware, utensils and appliances anyone could need. There's 3 grocery stores all within a 5 minute drive. Our lanai was large, and was shared both by our living room and the bedroom. The lanai had two loungers and a table with 4 chairs, and looked out over the bay across to lanai and Whaler's Shopping Village. Most mornings we had our breakfast at the table on the lanai, which was a wonderful way to start our day. Our bedroom had a king bed, sitting chair and ottoman, flat screen tv and writing desk with two large closets. The bathroom vanity was in the closet area, and the toilet and shower were separate - no tub though. The living room had a dining table with 4 chairs, a large sofa unit, a tv console unit with play station and dvd player. The unit was clean and easily became our home away from home for our 7 nights . The beach was wonderful and great for swimming (no rocks). The pool had enough chairs and cabanas for everyone. We did have a brief yet poor experience at one point with the woman who works in the pool area where you attain your pool towels, and she also sells tours, sunglasses and other items. She apparently was having a bad day and chose to be snippy with my husband and made a rude comment about mainlanders. You can also rent DVD's for free in an area adjacent to the office, and we did view 3 films - a nice option. Parking was in the garage for $13 daily. A couple of times the garage was full and we unfortunately had to park in the outdoor lot out beside the entry gate - a minor inconvenience.

Room Tip: All rooms are not alike. Make sure you inquire which unit you're renting, and be sure to ask ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed here with my hubby for our honeymoon. Hotel was massive just for the two of us with kitchen. We had a complimentary pineapple in the fridge which was very nice.

The view from our room was the beach and the sunset was spectacular.
It's closed to resturants and shops. Great service even though when we first arrived there to checked in seems like the person serving us couldn't get rid of us any quicker but loved the fish pond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha and Congratulations!

Special occasions are the best moments in life and a honeymoon certainly qualifies. We appreciate your feedback and are very happy you enjoyed the Maui Gold pineapple. The grower makes a special effort to deliver them to us direct from the fields. I wish I could say that every service action was as sweet as the pineapple. I would like to personally apologize to you for what you experienced at the front desk. That is not the first impression we want to make to our guests. We hope that the rest of the team did their part to take care of your needs and your first impression at check in did not damper your visit. Just like the grower who delivers the best pineapple in the world our service team typically makes special efforts to serve our guests. I often remind my team about a philosophy from Danny Meyer called “enlightened hospitality.” It starts with how we make our guests feel. We want every guest to feel welcome and cared for. Please join us again on your next best occasion; your one year anniversary. All the best.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingtown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My family rented three condos at the Whaler. We enjoyed oceanfront views from the balcony, and beach is great (plenty of space for the family). The condos were all clean, nice and updated in furnishings and appliances. The location is also very conveniently located withing walking distance of the Whaler Village shopping mall, and the Hula Grill restaurant on the beach which we thoroughly enjoyed! Free bus transportation to downtown Lahaina is also available from the facility - very convenient. Finally, for the golfers in your family, the Royal Ka'anapali Golf Course (location of the Champions Skins Game) is right behind the Whaler. It a beautiful, challenging and fun course which we thoroughly enjoyed playing!!

Room Tip: Our condos were recently updated - I've heard that some may not be as up to date. It's wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha Nui,

Thank you for your great review of The Whaler, Whalers Village and the Kaanapali Golf Course. All are within walking distance and just minutes of The Whaler and this is one of the key reasons some guests elect not to rent a car while staying with us. There really is something for everyone at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. We hope to see you next year.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We rented a two-bedroom ocean front condo as this was my in-laws first and possibly only time to visit Maui. The condo far exceeded our expectations. Beautiful views, great furnishings, very well-kept, recently remodeled with all the comforts of home. The pool is great and beach conveniently right out the back door. Also, this is right next to Whaler's Village, where you'll find great shopping and restaurants. A great location and experience. Definitely worth the extra money!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha oe,

We are honored that your family selected to stay at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach during your vacation. A great location and experience is exactly what we strive to provide. I know my team is going to love your review and I appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. The two bedroom ocean front units are the best kept secret at The Whaler. At almost 2,000 square feet and closer to the water than any other property on the beach; I have to agree the extra cost completes the experience. As they say in Hawaii… “A hui hou” until we meet you again.


Mahalo,

Hal

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Super nice staff, nice room, great location because of black rock and whaler village near by. Only complaint or suggestion is that if you have more than two people, do not get a studio! Its too small for more than two people. Check on construction as well, we had a room next door that was doing the refurbish thing. I understand that it has to happen, but maybe unquire. I am an early riser, did not bother me but the wife not so much.

Room Tip: Make sure no construction going on next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha,

I really appreciate your feedback and review. I believe others will value your thoughts too. Two highlights to note: while the studios are over 600 sq ft, trying to fit 3 or 4 adults may seem a little tight on space. Studios seem to work best for parents with young children and /or couples. The best alternative for 3 to 4 adults is the 1 bedroom 2 bath units. The second bath makes a wonderful difference and is worth the nominal cost per night. The other highlight is the construction aspect. We do our best to limit any noise by restricting this to certain hours and days. Should you or another guest ever encounter this in the future, we will do everything possible to limit the work, move you to another unit or make it right. I want to assure all guests who reserve a unit through the in-house rental program are guaranteed to be cared for if something is not right. We hope you decide to return to The Whaler again.

Mahalo,


Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derwood, md
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel resort, daily maid service, restaurants or a bar, don't stay here. However, If you are looking for a room that is larger than your typical hotel room, with a full kitchen, this is the place to stay. Rates are more reasonable here than they are at the hotels along this stretch of beach. The beach in front of the hotel is great, unlike the beach in front of some other parts of Kaanapali that is washed away. We love it here, having stayed at The Whaler at least 6 times. Get a room that has a water view, not all do. The downside to the Whaler is that the units are owned by individuals renting their place out, so you will not have qualty control between units. Not everything will be perfect like it may be at The Ritz; but you will get a place where you can have a reasonably priced very enjoyable vacation on a great stretch of beach. We already are planning next years vacation here.....

Room Tip: There are two Towers, Tower 1 and Tower two. They are side by side each other, however not close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha kaua,

Thank you for this amazing review on Tripadvisor. Equally, I value your opinion as a Top Contributor because it shows your involvement and true thoughts about the property. The Whaler is a favorite location for so many owners, guests, and employees too. Your comment about quality control touched an important aspect for my management team. In-fact, our in house rental program just published a revision to unit standards with very specific details. All of the owners who participate in the rental program have agreed to these standards and we are working diligently on making every unit as best as it can be. We look forward to seeing you next year to be able to say, E komo mai, (come in, welcome).

Mahalo nui,


Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.