We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfectly magical hidden treasure in Maui!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfectly magical hidden treasure in Maui!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This condo has been updated and is the perfect getaway in style, comfort, location, ease, accessibility and value. We will definitely be returning in the future. The grounds are lovely and everyone friendly. It feels private, quiet and yet still right near everything you need. We loved it so much, it made us want to own a condo there ourselves. After staying in Wailea and Kihei, we have decided Kaanapali has the best beach, best energy, clean, safe, and easy to just relax. With Whaler's Village next door and Lahaina just a few miles down the road, you have everything you need for shopping, restaurants and groceries. While it's run as a hotel, you don't have the daily annoyance of maids knocking on your door or entering your space. Yet you still have the luxury of waterfront access, private pool, cabanas, spa, tennis courts and quiet grounds to stroll on. The Whaler far exceeded our expectations as did condo 661. It truly was a perfect Hawaiian getaway in every way. Mahalo!!

Room Tip: Condo 661 is a very large king studio w/fully renovated kitchen and bath. Perfect for a couple, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    214
    45
    32
    11
See reviews for
183
317
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here end of November and early December. Stayed Oceanside and had a great view from the wrap around balcony.

There is no restaurant or bar at this hotel but its right next to whalers village which has plenty of everything you need.

Pool is nice for relaxing but other pools in the area are more kid friendly( slides, waterfalls).

Has a great beach with no rocks directly in front of the hotel. Easy access to beach.

Rooms have all just recently be upgraded. Full kitchen in the one bedroom suite we stayed in. Great showers. Clean rooms. Fold out couch not the most comfortable, but bed in bedroom was great. Leave doors open at night to hear ocean all night.

Staff was quick and officiant for any requests. Friendly. Including the very helpful and friendly staff at the activity hut by the pool.

Tip..... There is a list of timeshare owners always willing rent their units. It's next to the elevators near the parking garage. If your already there check it out. If not, I'm sure the information is online. (HAvent checked on that).

Stayed here with my family. Although there are other fancy resorts in the area I would gladly stay here again for the right price. Very quiet, relaxing hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Wow! What a wonderful review. Thank you for posting your vacation experience on Tripadvisor. Our entire staff enjoys reading all of our guest reviews because we are genuinely interested in improving our service in every way possible. Yes there is a board in the lower level with rentals posted but it is not available on line. To clarify, Aston Hotels and Resorts is the in-house rental program. The program maintains very high standards, provides the most flexible way to reserve accommodations and guarantees the best stay possible. Alternate methods of staying at The Whaler include: local real estate management companies, vrbo or via owners direct. Different options meet varied guest and owner needs and unfortunately, all of these choices often lead to confusion when service is required. We hope all guests find what they are looking for and enjoy many memorable visits to The Whaler for years to come.

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I have been to Maui many times and love staying in Kaanapali. This was the first time at the Whaler. I chose this location based on the reviews and they were right! We booked through Aston so this was not through VRBO. We had daily maid service which was nice. We were in room 116 and it was great! It was a renovated room, very spacious, full kitchen, nice bathroom with tub for our 5 year old. You get to rent DVD's for free! It is right on the beach and this was a perfect location because it is very sandy and doesn't have a lot of coral right next to the water. My son was able to try to body surf and had a great time. The pool and spa was perfect. I didn't use the fitness center or sauna on the bottom floor but went to look at it and it was okay. nice to know they had that. It is close enough to walk to Black Rock to snorkel, right next to the Whaler's Village which we went to a few times and easy to get to Lahaina. I loved snorkeling at Kapalua bay which is only 5 minutes away. highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your helpful and wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Maui soon. I like this review because it highlights something important: The Whaler has returned! For those who may not know, the property has undergone various renovations over the last few years. The largest and most extensive ending in February of 2012 has lead to an amazing exterior. This has also lead to many owners of these beautiful condominiums to renovate the interiors. As noted above, the property maintains a premier location on Kaanapali Beach and offers a home away from home atmosphere.

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We looked at a lot of resorts and settled on the Whaler and we were not disappointed. The location is perfect and the room was huge. We booked an ocean view studio and it had everything we needed. The Whaler is close to everything and the staff was very accommodating. I called the day before we were due to check in and asked to change my room. The person I spoke to was Becs, she changed my room without a problem and even showed us some rooms for a follow-up trip we are planning next year with the kids.

Can't say enough about this resort. If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Asked for ocean view, very nice views and it'll save you money over ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Aloha nui, your review was wonderful and we appreciate the time you took to post your comments. Return guests to The Whaler are so fun to be around. They are knowledgeable, have the best resources and often times teach us locals how to have a great vacation here. Your suggestions help others in more ways than you realize.
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We spent 5 days in unit 470 with our 2 kids under 10. Kaanapali beach is our favourite place in west Maui and we think the whaler is the best location on Kaanapali.

Hotels to the south of the whaler have coral on the beach - not great for swimming. The beach in front of the whaler is sandy and perfect for playing in the surf. If it is crashing too hard for you, walk north up the beach 2 minutes and it is calm near black rock and the snorkelling is great. Saw sea turtles every day.

As joaocpaiva pointed out there are no restaurants or bars on the whaler property. Think of it as a private condo complex not a "resort". If you are into sitting by the pool and being served pay twice the money for the sheraton at black rock. We aren't into that kind of vacation. We never even went in the pool - the ocean is right there and the surfing in Lahaina is 10 minutes away.

Having said that, the Whaler village shops are right next door and have several great restaurants and good drink deals between 3 and 5. We ate there once. The rest of the time we cooked local fish on the BBQ's at the whaler, right on the beach. The pool looks great for the kids, has a hot tub area too. Just didn't bother using it.

We will definitely return and stay at the whaler.

A few tips on rooms:

These are privately owned condos. They vary widely in decor and state of repair. Book on vrbo.com directly from the owner and you know which unit you will be getting.

Tower 1 is on the north side of the property. Tower 2 is on the south side. If you get a room facing south out of tower 2 ( odd room numbers in tower 2) you will be overlooking the whaler shopping stores and restaurants. Can be a little loud depending on the unit. We were in tower 2 but facing north overlooking the courtyard and we thought it was perfect. Left the windows open every night and heard nothing but the ocean.

Room Tip: Book on vrbo. South facing units in tower 2 can be noisy but will provide good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our first trip to Maui and the Whaler was recommended to us and we LOVED it! The location is perfect - close to everything. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is right there. Our unit was completely remodeled and was stunning. Huge double balconies with a table to eat outside. 2 full bathrooms and 1 bedroom...loved the extra bathroom and both were huge. Tons of closet space, great kitchen and so comfortable. The view was spectacular. We highly recommend The Whaler and especially unit 1112.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
A great recommendation is one of the best ways to know what to expect. Thank you so much for your review and description of The Whaler. Being that this was your first trip to Maui, we can’t wait to welcome you back. Your review is helpful. Accurate and timely information is a foundation for a successful vacation. We consider our guests to be the best in Maui. The Whaler is different for all the right reasons. In my opinion, it is important is that the rooms are designed to live in not just stay in. The people we need to thank the most is the owners. The owners provide the ability for visitors to stay in one of the most amazing locations in Hawaii. They trust us as rental managers and they trust you as their guest all in the hopes of sharing paradise. Come back and live with us for a while.

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location is very good, as well the ocean view and the beach. You also nice have a walk way along the bay and the beach. The whalers is a peaceful place and it is not very busy nor noisy. Close to the whalers you have the whalers village where you can do shopping and find restaurants, bars, etc.

But in the whalers you don't have any restaurant or breakfast options. Would be nice to have at least a bar where you could have something to drink during the day, as you are in the beach, under the sun, is normal that you get thirsty. The sauna and the gym are very small. The rooms are comfortable but they have a very outdated décor. They also could have a better cleaning service - the dishes are not properly washed. The pool is ok. The beach/pool towels are no bigger than a shower towel. They charge you $12 a day for parking.

Room Tip: It is worth to take a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your review. I was disappointed to read your heading because we believe The Whaler is one of the best values on Kaanapali Beach. I am equally disappointed to here about the poor service with housekeeping, small towels and a parking fee. I too would love to see some sort of dining option at the property. We are better than this and apologize if your experience was not the best it could have been. We have taken your comments constructively and hope you find your best destination in the future.

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.