We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Whaler #1063 - Absolutely Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach to your Saves list
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Whaler #1063 - Absolutely Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Just returned from 10 days in this beautiful condo. This was our 18th trip to Maui, always staying in the hotels on Kaanapali Beach, but this experience was by far the best. Bill & Rosslyn's condo is as close to perfect as you can get. Location, location, location! It's in the perfect spot overlooking Whalers Village, the views from the lanai are spectacular - ocean to the right & mountains to the left. The condo is beautifully decorated with lots of lovely Hawaiian art, furnishings are up to date, full kitchen has absolutely everything you could want even down to spices & condiments, 2-room bath features gorgeous new shower, dressing area & closet with shelves & again every little amenity - lotions, shampoos, bandaids, sewing kit, beach chairs, beach umbrellas & even a boogie board. We certainly did NOT want to leave this beautiful place. You can't go wrong with this condo and we certainly will be returning here as soon as we can!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    214
    45
    32
    11
See reviews for
183
317
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

It was our first time to Maui and decided to stay in the resort area of Kaanapali. The whaler was in a great location, midway along the strip. Our unit had an ocean view and a good sized lanai. We were very happy there for 4 nights.

We had a full kitchen, double stand up shower, beach chair and cooler to use. We were happy to have secure underground parking so we didn't have to put the top up on our jeep each night (never know when it's going to rain in HI).

The only drawback to our unit was that we faced the Whaler Village generator and A/C units. We closed the patio door at night as the mechanical noise was much louder than the ocean. It didn't bother us that much, but I would know better for next time.

Room Tip: Don't go on the south side of the south tower if you want to hear the waves at night. We used A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you selected The Whaler for your first trip to Maui. The location is truly special. Your feedback is important and I am reminded at how the subjective tastes of all our guests and owners vary. I like to think of this as celebrating our differences. The south side of the tower is commonly requested for its sunshine and views. Like you, most guests agree that the noise doesn’t bother them too much but I agree the sound of the ocean lapping on shore at night is one of my favorite things. Perhaps, during your next visit we can host you in an oceanfront unit; they are spectacular! The Whaler is one the premier beachfront/oceanfront condominium properties on Kaanapali and our in-house rental program makes every effort to standardize the important features such as bed linens/pillows, internet access and clean comfortable accommodations.

We hope to see you and your loved one back at The Whaler soon.

Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulysses, Kansas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent 2 weeks there and would not think on staying anywhere else. Rooms are generous, very clean, and all have some sort of a view. Beach is fabulous with lots of places to eat, drink and be merry. If renting a car, please know that underground parking will cost 12 bucks a day extra.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha Kakou (all),

This is an amazing compliment. Two weeks in a private condo on the beach in Kaanapali Maui is a dream come true. Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you soon!

Mahalo, Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stepping into the grounds of this Condominium Resort, I knew instantly that I again picked well from the internet options I was looking through. The grounds of this hotel are immaculately kept ,the Koi ponds are clean and the fish healthy, the pool was clean and well tended and then we stepped straight from our lawns to the beach front on Ka’anapali Beach…………OMG this was heavenly, and I hadn’t even seen the room yet.
The hotel view I saw on the internet, ended up being the same one I saw from my room when I was able to collect the keys after 2pm. I had balcony views of Black Rock and as it turned out, the Sunset over the beach each night! Again friends I was traveling with had opted for the five star down the road (in this case, other end of beach), and whilst they had a Macys and there were Penguins and Flamingoes in the gardens, who needed those to be impressed. I had a large One Bedroom unit, very well fitted out with separate kitchen, Dining area, bathroom and walk in robe, not to forget the large balcony. A nice welcome gift, - bottles of water and a wrapped, fresh, pre-sliced pineapple in the fridge. The condo Resort is right next door to the Whalers Village shopping precinct and the choice of restaurants and cafes were many to keep you from having to dine at the same venue each night. The beach was always free of traffic early but by 9am, started filling up, then come 4.30 pm, every one was leaving to get ready for going out for dinner early. My only regret, the stay wasn’t long enough. And again I would definitely return there

Room Tip: No Restaurant on property, but There is an ABC store next door, and shopping/dining precinct also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha nui,

There is a lot to be said for taking pride in your life. The same is here for many guests, owners, and employees who choose to spend time at The Whaler. Gracious hospitality with great accommodations sets us apart from many hotels. When you stay with us be prepared to feel like you live in Maui; not just visiting. An example is our welcome gift: sweet local grown Maui Gold pineapple is a kamaaina (local) favorite. Of course, it is easy to remember why the beach at Kaanapali is one of the best in the world. We really appreciate you as our guest and Mahalo (thank you) for sharing your review. As we say here, hana hou – which means to do it again or repeat your visit.

A hui hou – “until we meet again”

Hal

Hal Nordblom
Aston Hotels and Resorts
General Manager
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have rented a condo here on 2 vacations and it is the best place to stay. This is a private condominium property but the owners do rent their units privately, throught VRBO and through Great Hawaiian vacations. There are likely other sources too. The buildings are 50 feet from the water, right on the beach, a nice pool and jacuzzi are also on the boardwalk. During the tsunami warning on October 27, 2012, the management had it all together. Everyone who wanted to move to a higher unit above the 8th floor was accomodated. The announcements were made via a PA system serving all units. The property is well-located, very clean, well landscaped and well cared for by the management and by the owners. We highly recommend that you look into renting here. These are fully stocked condos....just like having your own home on vacation. We will definitely be back at The Whaler next year.

Room Tip: October 2012 we rented #259,. Tower II. Lovely unit with nice furniture and decor...very roomy one b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a short ride to the hotel from the airport, we took the shuttle that the hotel told me about.
I wanted to make sure that I was close to the eateries , beach and shopping because I didn't want to rent a car. I had been to Maui a longtime ago and didn't want to see the sites. Just hanging out at the beach all day was what was planned. My sister wanted to see the sites so I told her to ask the hotel to arrange the tours for her. They were very helpful and she had a great time going on two tours. They set us up to go to Luau at Black Rock at the Shearton Hotel. That was one of the best Luau's I ever went too. Very good food and entertaining. The room was a two bedroom and two bath. It was very nice looking, but we did have noise two days due to some contruction work. But, they offered to move us, my family wanted to stay in that room because we were settled in already. The hotel was next to the whalers village for shopping and eating, we found the location very convenient. I would highly recommended this hotel, staff was very very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hal N, General Manager at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Aloha kaua,

We appreciate your feedback. Your review highlights a few important details that may be useful for other guests. First, the location of The Whaler is well known for its convenience to everything on Kaanapali Beach. This enables guests to only use a rental car when they need one. Second, the in house rental program (hotel) strives to provide the nicest units by having unit standards. One advantage to our in-house rental program is the ability to move our guests during interior remodel noise or other room issues. We want all of our guests to be happy with their visit. Last but not least, our friendly staff cares about every guest visit. Our guests are the heart of the operation and the reason why we love the hospitality industry.

Mahalo,

Hal Nordblom
General Manager
Aston Hotels and Resorts
The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

First of all, this trip to Maui, HI. was a surprise honeymoon I prepared for my fiance to give her on the wedding day. Our wedding was June 2, 2012 and I booked our stay here on since August 2011. Since the moment we pulled up, the bellboy was super friendly and welcomed us to The Whaler as he took our luggage. As soon as we walked into the lobby, the front desk attendant greeted us promptly with a smile on his face. He was friendly as he showed us a map of The Whaler and guided us around. We had an ocean view suite on the 10th floor that was amazingly huge. It had a full kitchen, dinning area, lanai (balcony/patio), huge bedroom, hallway to bathroom, 2 tvs (which we didn't even turn on ;-)), and more. It had beach chairs in the closet, boogie board, and golf clubs just in case we wanted to play golf at the beautiful golf course behind The Whaler. A fresh pineapple was waiting for us in the fridge also. The Whaler is right next to The Whaler's village which had shops, entertainment, and restaurants. Definately recommend The Whaler to all friends and family if they are planning to visit Maui. As mentioned above, we had the ocean view suite (Rm 1019) but The Whaler offers studios as well as ocean front suites with several bedrooms with garden views, golf course views, and ocean views. We definately recommend getting any ocean view room but preferrably a suite if you can fork up the extra cash, which is not that big of a differance in price from the studio room.

Room Tip: Room 1019 was awesome in size, view, and overall a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.