We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Sunset

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lahaina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Napili Sunset
46 Hui Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just returned while visiting from Sydney. If you are looking for somewhere plush, this isn't it, however if you want something with charm and all the necessities, check it out. We had an upstairs room which was lovely. The kitchen is fully equiped, the lounge room very large and the bed was comfortable. The main rooms had ceiling fans, which was all that was needed as the ocean breezes came through the apartment. They even supplied candles for our balcony table and complimentary beach bags. Nearby is a grocery/liquor store, masseuse, great restaurant on the beach and a snorkel/dive shop. A regular bus service can take you into the main town and Whalers Village. The communal BBQ is great for meeting other travellers and enjoying a drink while watching the amazing sunsets.

Thanks Napili. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the beach. Upstairs or downstairs are both excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Napili Sunset delivered again on our expectations. We had a lovely unit, # 114, one bedroom lower level with a spacious lanai and the lawn in front, shared with excellent and friendly neighbors up and down the lounge-chair area and on the beach. The sound and sight of the ocean always at hand, we enjoy having the kitchen and spacious living room as well as the comfortable king bed in the back, with a breeze flowing through and birdsong every morning. The weather cooperated perfectly, the snorkeling was excellent, and the calm, clear turquoise water was amazing, day after day.

One area where the state of Hawaii has made great strides is the smoke-free hotel ordinance. Now, if they could just join the city of San Diego and ban smoking on the beaches, that would be awesome. Fortunately, there wasn't too much of the latter, but there was some, and always, the butts left in the sand. This is every beach we visited, not just Napili Bay.

Management and housekeeping at Napili Sunset are as friendly and efficient as ever. We had no problems and were supplied with extra bath towels as needed. People who snorkel three times a day tend to need to shower more often, but there were plenty of hooks and bars to hang the towels on to dry so we could re-use them. Parking was adequate and readily available.

High grocery prices are always present in the islands, but this trip we took advantage of the Farmers Market store in Honokawai. Napili Sunset hands you a flyer for this shop at check-in, and it has a pineapple coupon. We found better and less expensive (and organic) produce at this market. By contrast, the prices at the roadside stand at Olowalu will make your hair stand on end. We also bought delicious fish to grill at the condo.

We have stayed at half a dozen hotels and condos on Maui, and this was our fourth visit to Napili Sunset. It is hands down the winner in our book. There isn't any other place we've been that has this proximity to the ocean, as well as convenient location on the island and all the amenities we like: outdoor showers, grill, chaises, and of course the laundry room with its supply of beach chairs, coolers, and floats, noodles, and boogie boards to borrow. We bring our own gear, but Snorkel Bob's is across the road next to the Napili General Store, which is also handy for supplies.

And of course, there are the sunsets. Spectacular. Convivial, with fellow condo-dwellers out on the lawn having social hour and the last swimmers still playing in the ocean below. The grill gets fired up and tasty dinners are prepared, which are then enjoyed on lanais.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor so we can walk from our lanai to the lawn and to the beach; 2nd floor units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Twenty-four years ago we strayed at this location to surprise my mother-in-law. She is now no longer with us, but she has left us this little gift. If you are not the ritzy place type, like to be a few feet away from the water and do your own cooking, this is the place. Service is excellent and the room always kept nice and clean. The kitchen is equipped with all one needs for some serious cooking (sorry, no gas stove) and the common BBQ is perfect. A small, friendly market is a few steps away if you forgot something. Internet connectivity was excellent and our Netflix worked just fine. There is excellent swimming right in front of the place and a good hiking trail within walking distance. Just bring your books, flip flops and swimming gear!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Just back from a wonderful stay at The Napili Sunset Beachfront Resort. This hotel (26 individually owned condos in a rental pool) older but maintained very well was everything we hoped for in a beach vacation. Located right on the beach, we had a one bedroom that slept 3 beautifully, there are also one bedroom + Loft and two bedroom condos, no lobby to traverse, an elevated grass lawn then THE BEACH! They have a pool also. The picturesque bay is protected by a coral reef with good snorkeling, paddle boarding and safe for little children. Convienent to a grocery, a walking trail for your daily, very good restaurants and quiet. If you're looking for a quiet, lowkey on the sand experience, this is it!

Room Tip: All the beach front condos have views of the ocean. The first floor units see grass, hedge, ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

My family and I spent 7 days at Napili Sunset. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend them to anyone.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 2nd floor. It was spacious and comfortable. With as many as six people staying in the suite on one night, it didn't feel crowded nor was I tripping over anyone. It came with a full size kitchen which was very convenient when we decided not to go anywhere. The sofa beds were great when some of my family from Kahului stayed with us. The master bedroom had it's own private lanai which was a blessing when I wanted time to myself! The views were stunning from either lanai at any time of the day. The breeze kept the rooms nice and cool. Loved falling asleep to the sound of the waves. Wi-fi was free as well as parking. There are outdoor grills available which we used one day for a family bbq!

The beach was literally 20 feet from our room. Great for a morning swim! It never got too crowded. We were able to see whales jump out of the water from the beach or our lanai in the distance. Also, there were several honu swimming too! It was awesome!

The staff was exceptional! Check-in and check-out was a breeze. We were always greeted with a smile! House keeping came everyday to clean our room. They were helpful and I am very grateful to them!

Oh! If you want to make your family and friends back home jealous, direct them to the webcam on Napili Sunsets official site! It's great!! ^_^

Really considering sending my parents there for a getaway! Thanks Napili Sunset, I hope to see you again someday! ^_^

(All pics were taken and edited on my iPhone.)

Room Tip: Beach front room for best ocean views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just came back from a wonderful 8 day vacation at Napili Sunset. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The 2 bedroom suite was great! We loved falling asleep to the waves and waking up to the crystal blue ocean. The kids spent the days boogie boarding, snorkeling and searching for turtles. We will be back again!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Our family of 5, stayed in the one bedroom unit on the ground floor room 117 just steps to the beach. the room was exceptionally clean. The room has a back bedroom with a King Bed, the living area had a pull out double and a pull out twin sofa beds. The king bed was a little firmer than I like but was a nice bed. The unit had a full kitchen which we utilized over the Christmas holiday. The commuity laundry room was very convenient as well as served as a supply room for lots of beach toys, chairs, books, etc to borrow.

I loved having the downstairs unit as it had a larger lanai and next to the cgrassy ara with plenty of lounge chairs, not to mention just steps to e beach. I had read other reviews about loa locals hanging out at night but only one niht did we hear people out on the beach between 9:30-10:00 pm.

There is free parking, free wifi and housekeeping came by daily, even vacuming our lanai every day. Like I said this unit was very clean as well as updated. The beach was great, we snorkeled, paddle boarded, body surfed and boogie boarded and our weather was excellent, we had a little rain late afternoon on Christmas Eve that we enjoyed while playing cards on our lanai.

Can't wait to come back for another visit. Well be making reservations soon.

Room Tip: I would choose a ground floor ocean front unit to utilize large lanai especially if you are going to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Napili Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Sunset

Also Known As:
Napili Sunset Hotel Lahaina
Napili Sunset Hotel
Napili Sunset Lahaina
Napili Sunset Maui
Napili Sunset Maui/Lahaina
Address: 46 Hui Rd., Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 43 Specialty lodging in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAMED ONE OF THE TOP 10 BEACH FRONT HOTELS IN THE WORLD BY FROMMERS, Napili Sunset is different from most hotels; Napili Sunset is quite literally, on the beach. Napili Sunset’s two story Kanani and Kekalani buildings house 26 units which open to an elevated lawn with a commanding view of Napil Bay, the islands of Molokai and Lanai, and spectacular sunsets over the Pacific Ocean. Napili Sunset is on Napili Bay, a quarter mile long and crescent shaped, the bay forms a beach with warm golden sand and inviting blue waters. Reefs protect the beach from large waves and provide a home for colorful tropical fish, sea turtles and beautiful coral. Napili beach is widely recognized as one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Napili Sunset to your Saves list