We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what the islands are all about.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This is what the islands are all about.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

My husband's family has been guests at Napili Kai Beach Resort since it was Napili Kai Beach Club. I fell in love 10 years ago when my fiance brought me here to be married on the grounds of the Resort.
It is the one place, in our many travels, that I need to return to over and over again. It is home, it is family, it is everything paradise should be.
It is not fancy, it is Hawaiian. Stunning grounds, gracious staff that is there year after year and to say it is relaxing is an understatement.
This is the only place I have ever left to return home and cried. I cry because it is so special and it will be another year before I can see and feel it again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    117
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
136
273
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calabasas, CA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Stayed at Napili Kai with our 5 year old for 6 days in Dec 09. We LOVED it. At the same time the negative reviews you see here all have a grain of truth, so just make sure Napili is what you want. Read a dozen or so reviews and you'll get the idea. It's an old-timey Maui resort that feels like it must have been here 30 years ago before the condomania. It shares one of the best beaches on the whole island with several other small resorts (hence the odd towel policy which is NO big deal.) Its all open air with nice sized rooms - all with very serviceable kitchens and every thing you need to prepare simple meals. Almost every room has a great view - even the cheap ones. The area is one of the nicest spots on the whole island - just ask the people across the street at the Ritz Carlton. The best golf course on the island - Kapalua ( home of the PGA event) is also across the street. We LOVED our room. One tip - beg borrow and steal to get on the second floor. The single biggest drawback of the place (if you choose to see it that way) is that everyone has their windows open to take advantage of the wonderful breeze, so you can hear and see more than what you would normally at a mega-resort. We loved it. As you can see from the reviews, some people don't. They ought to cross the street and stay at the Ritz. In comparison the Napili Kai is an extremely homey and fun place with wonderful help. Just super relaxing. We loved it. FYI I would call the restaurant overrated although you can't beat the view. Food in general in Maul is crazy expensive. Use your kitchen. The beach to the North (?) of the hotel has a little more surf and better snorkeling ( just walk to it across the parking lot.) There is an excellent high-end restaurant over there also - it all sits in front of the Ritz. There is a LONG ocean-front trail for you joggers. And the drive around the point is well worth it. Loved the laua in old town Lahaina. Buy book "Maui Revealed" for excellent travel tips. If you're adventurous all those drives (Hana etc.) are great fun. No need for 4WD (follow the book!). Great deals on the web. I might not be so happy if I paid full-price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisoco
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

We have stayed at the Napili Kai many times.
The location is great. Good Snorkeling and Boggie Boarding.
However, the rooms are really dated compared to Napili Point hotel. Particularly for the price which is relatively high.

We loved going over to Kapalua bay and had great dinner at Merrimans-expensive but worth it

The kids also liked the minigolf a lot. One of the main reasons we stayed here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

There are so many excellent reviews of Napili Kai Beach Resort, and I agree with all of them. My dad, brother (his sig other) and I came to Maui after many years away, and were immediately greeted by the front desk with Aloha, and offered a refreshing passion fruit drink. We arrived early, however the staff let us know that they put a rush on our rooms, and that we would be upgraded to the ocean view studio. My brother stayed at the Paki Maui, and my dad and I stayed at Napili. All of the staff - yes all was helpful and made us feel welcome. No resort fee, or parking fee (5stars for that) I love the half moon shaped beach, and there is a reef with tons of salt water fish to see - the cabana near the beach offers complimentary snorkling gear, towels, lounge chairs, etc. for the guests. In the morning we had breakfast at the seahouse restaurant - which is exceptional, i love the coffee and bird of paradise breakfast - and I can't forget to mention the little sparrows that fly around.. Also, you must go for a few drinks at the bar before sunset to witness the sun going down (Seahouse sits on the beach). We were sitting with some locals, and we all agreed that watching the sunset, listening to our very own Hawaiian singer/ukelele made the whole trip. We also used Napili's nice gym - Bicycles had tv's attached. Some times the hotel has specials - otherwise the nightly rate is a bit pricey. The studio had a refrigerator, was updated, and because we were on the second floor we had a great view of the ocean. At Napili Kai there are quite a multitude of birds, and I absolutely loved waking up to them singing in the mornings. What is also a plus is that the hotel has a guest room for families that arrive early (1 hr allowed daily) or are leaving. We had a late departure time, so used this room after checking out in the afternoon. My family and I will definitely be back to Napili in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Just returned from another fantastic stay in Maui. This time at the Napili Kai. The grounds and location can not be beat. The staff is friendly, welcoming. The hotel has such a great story of their almost 50 years there. The buildings are low rise, Hawaiian style... they decor has be upgraded. Putting parties, juices and coffee brought to beachside cabana everyday, gas BBQ's to use with a view of the ocean, free parking, no resort fee, on fantastic beach, No need for paying $100 a day special lounge chair, or high rise building to walk from.... this place is worth your business.
(this "free" advise comes from someone in the business, who loves Hawaii. Dont waste your vacation money by misleading ads online... ask a local travel agent who has been there!)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Very quiet place, awesome views, great beach, nice rooms. Free High-speed internet in your room. Fitness room (free). Hot tube, swimming pools, and more... I highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed 5 nghts in October 2009. We had a 2nd floor room with no AC. That's a problem for part of the evening. Our room was like a little efficiency apartment. We had a refrigerator and a small cooking area with burners and a microwave. The lawn sprinklers worked very well, they came on at 1 AM every night without fail.

The beach is in a little cove and faces SW, great for sunsets. This beach is a little narrow, but with plenty of space for everyone. However, shade is in short supply, just a few palms around. Go to the KMart and buy a little umbrella; that will make your beach stay so much nicer.

The restaurant here seems to cater to non-residents, but was good enough. Withing walking distance are two great restaurants, one next door serving locovore food, and the Pineapple Grill one block away (uphill).

This was a good place to be which is not a megaresort. There are plenty of activities during the day to interest those with the time, and quiet at night for resting.

As usual, charging a fee for every extra amenity is tiresome, but we didn't use any.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.