We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Very quiet place, awesome views, great beach, nice rooms. Free High-speed internet in your room. Fitness room (free). Hot tube, swimming pools, and more... I highly recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    118
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
139
280
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2009

We stayed 5 nghts in October 2009. We had a 2nd floor room with no AC. That's a problem for part of the evening. Our room was like a little efficiency apartment. We had a refrigerator and a small cooking area with burners and a microwave. The lawn sprinklers worked very well, they came on at 1 AM every night without fail.

The beach is in a little cove and faces SW, great for sunsets. This beach is a little narrow, but with plenty of space for everyone. However, shade is in short supply, just a few palms around. Go to the KMart and buy a little umbrella; that will make your beach stay so much nicer.

The restaurant here seems to cater to non-residents, but was good enough. Withing walking distance are two great restaurants, one next door serving locovore food, and the Pineapple Grill one block away (uphill).

This was a good place to be which is not a megaresort. There are plenty of activities during the day to interest those with the time, and quiet at night for resting.

As usual, charging a fee for every extra amenity is tiresome, but we didn't use any.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Westin Maui and then 5 nights at the Napili Kai. The Westin was a hassle from the start and we needed to be pushy just to get changed into a decent room. The Napili Kai, on the other hand, was lovely and relaxing from the start. The rooms are not luxurious but are VERY nice. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is perfect. We did have a few small ants and a pesty small cockroach in the kitchen but this was very acceptable considering all the positives. There is a very nice grocery store right in Napili and the resort even has a nice offer so that you can order a meal to prepare on your own for a very reasonable price. They have a book in the room which gives the history of the resort which made me feel that ,at least originally, this was a place with a heart for the traveler and for the Hawaiian community.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Just got back from a stay on Napili Kay Beach Resort. We went there as a family including an infant and a toddler. With two small kids, its a priority for us to have a hotel right on the beach, have a kitchenettee, and a pool. We also knew we wanted to stay on Napili beach specifically because of the kid friendly beach. The room was pretty big. Even with two cribs, it diddnt feel crowded. The lanai was also spacious. The grounds are lovely and well kept. And ofcourse, the location can't be beat!

Now for the negatives, it's pretty pricey. I do agree with some reviewers' comments that the furnishings need updating. We actually didnt mind this since with kids, it's not the foremost on our list. The most annoying thing was the towel policy. Basically, they give you cards to trade for towels and at the end of your stay, you had to bring all cards back or else you incur a $20 fine per card you don't turn in. I was constantly worried that our towels would get swiped from the beach or that we'd turn in the towels and forget to ask for the cards. It was such a pain! With two kids, I have enough to keep track of without this added hassle. For the $ you pay, I thought it was such a petty policy.

On the whole, I would come back again but with my own towels and only if I get a better deal on the rates.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

stayed for 5 nights in a beach front room. View was terrific. Paid for a ocean view room but was upgraded to a beach from room without even asking. The room was great. Loved cooking breakfast/lunch. Room was clean and quiet. The kitchen had most of the essentials one would need to prepare a meal. Also enjoyed the Mai Tai free happy hour and the daily tea party.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Beautiful views from the expansive balcony including the whales blowing by. Don't miss the snorkeling in the bay or a catamarran trip over to Lanai. Thai food close by to the sounds of folk surfer music drifting over the beach. A great birthday trip with plenty of scenery.

Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atreyu797
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Excellent food! We ate at the restaurant 3 of the five nights and they havea great bar. We were there for our honeymoon, and will be back again and again especially when we have kids

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.