We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location, amazing ocean views, definitely felt relaxed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best location, amazing ocean views, definitely felt relaxed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

This was our first trip to Hawaii. We were supposed to have a destination wedding in Mexico, but that was cancelled due to the swine flu situation. My fiance and I decided to go to Maui and tie the knot there. From the moment we stepped into Napili Kai, we knew we made the right decision to come to Maui. It was more gorgeous, tropical, and relaxing than I had anticipated. We had our wedding the 2nd day there. Everything went smoothly. There were so many places on napili bay to get wedding shots. It is usually busy around sunset, but for some reason we lucked out and there weren't very many people on the beach.

We had dinner under the stars (hosted by Seahouse Restaurant) and it was AMAZING. The BEST dinner I have ever had, excellent service, and we even got married at the site where the dinner was held. The wedding couldn't have been more perfect.

The complex is in a very good location. We enjoyed barbequing at night by the ocean and spending time in the Hankipanki Wirlpool. Napili Bay has excellent snorkelling. Some days the waves are really big, and some days it is calm. My husband bought a skimboard, as Napili Bay is on a slope. We also liked how you get beach chairs, towels, and a cooler. We signed out the cooler at the beginning of the trip and used it the whole time we were there. We also enjoyed the mini golf and mai tai party.

The room was very comfortable, amazing views of the ocean. My only complaint would be the birds chirping at 5:30 a.m. every morning, but I was already up at that time anyways.

There isn't much transportation from Napili to Lahaina. An hour bus ride or pretty expensive taxis, but we had such a good time driving in the rental car. We were able to explore and stop at the beaches along the highway.

All in all I would have to say this was our best trip ever! We already want to go back and we have only been home for 1 week. Hope this helps you in your decision!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    117
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
136
273
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Very nice people and beach. Our room was not equipted with any a/c. It wasn't broken just not there. Too muggy. Glad we only stayed one night. Dogs on beach and just sand chairs that don't recline on the beach. The pool had lounge chairs. "Free" snorkel equiptment did not include fins or any sort of live preserver. Quite a hike to the parking lot as well. No elevators. Glad we were on the first floor with all that luggage.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

Just got back from a 5 day stay at the Napili Kai and we had a great time. We have a 3 year old and really enjoyed the pools and the calm bay. Our unit was 50 steps from the beach and very well appointed. Overall, I would say this is a great place for families. The free snorkel gear, rafts& boogie boards were an added bonus. The grounds were imaculate and the putting course was great for Dad. Staff was excellent as well! Make sure you ask for a room with Air Conditioning if its going to be hot.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Lovely grounds, nice room. We had a hotel room, not condo, looks just like pictures except no kitchen. It had a frig and coffee maker and air conditioning and ocean view. It also had a couch and a table with 2 chairs. Right on great beaches (2 within easy walk) for great snorkeling and swimming, friendly helpful staff. The 3.5 star rating is probably pretty accurate. Not a 5 star but a very nice resort. Restaurant is pretty good and right on the water. Breakfast and lunch are quite reasonable---around $10-$15 per person. Better snorkeling than at Molokini at the adjacent Kapalua beach-easy walk from room, just north of hotel. The Molokini snorkel trip on Four Winds II was fun and staff was great, but snorkeling at the hotel was just as good. Stayed in room 109 from 5/17-24/2009 in Building 4 (can't remember name) right above putting greens. Had ocean view and very close to beach. All the freebies were nice. They provided coolers with ice, beach chairs, beach towels, free parking. Can keep cooler all week to take in rental car or beach towels to other beaches. Very helpful friendly staff from the maids, grounds keepers, concierge and front desk. Stayed for our 25th anniversary and had fresh flowers and champagne in room upon arrival. If you go to restaurant for a sunset meal, don't forget with being right on the beach, it can be windy and cool, but lovely views. Take a wrap and eat fast so your food doesn't get cold! Pools are pretty small but beach is only a few steps away from main pool. Nice big hot tub where no kids are allowed. Parking spots are tight but managable. Many people of all ages there...from retirees to young couples with small children. Resort probably not for young singles wanting a party atmosphere. Drinks are quite high on the island...go to the grocery store and buy it. Paid $20 for a case of beer vs. $6 per bottle.

Best meal on the island was at Roy's in Kahana (in a strip mall right on the main road). No views but great food. Try the seared sea scallops with lobster and wild mushroom risotto and asparagus! FABULOUS! Also had the appetizer boat--yummy--and the dessert trio. So good we went back the next night. The staff even remembered us from the night before and gave us a free appetizer. Meals run approx. $100+ for 2 but worth it--main dishes ran approximately $30-$35! Don't eat at Mama's Ribs and Chicken in Napili---just awful. Was surprised that pineapple was cheaper at the airport to take home vs. farmers market. Paid $60 for 6 pineapples at farmers market and they were $23 for 3 at main airport in Maui.

Be sure to take the drive to the north tip of the island. Beautiful scenery different than the rest of the island (more cliffs and bluffs over the water). We drove up the west side of West Maui from Napili north to about mile marker 42...just beautiful.

Take rain gear for the road trip to Hana. Usually raining!

If you book your trip through Expedia or Sam's Club, for some reason Wednesdays seem to be the cheapest price. Got a great deal through Sam's Club travel.

Loved this trip and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bc canada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

A lot of reviews have identified the key features of Napili Kai- homey, gorgeous location, not-so-great restaurant, bugs, nice grounds, some dated rooms, no A/C in some units. The spa isn't a spa, the tennis court long gone, and it's either family time or geriatric, depending on when you visit.

What people seem to miss, is the genuine, authentic ohana ambience. It has a real charm, unfound in most other places in Hawaii. The staff are loyal and long serving. There is no corporate ownership- just a bunch of shareholders who are basically trying to have a familiar comfy place to go every winter.

They pour pretty much all the money earned into property maintenance and redecorating. No fancy dividends for the owners, for sure!

It was built in 1960, wood frame, so that helps explain some of the deficiencies. Compare to Kapalua Bay Hotel, built ca 1982?, already torn down.

Also- like the Sheraton at Black Rock, Kaanapali, being first on the block gets you pride of place. The prevailing winds are north east, so the whole property is beautifully protected by the point of land separating it from Kapalua.

I recommend the Lani rooms, or Keaka for bigger units. Puna has a rocky foreshore, and is genuinely dated- though they are embarking on an upgrade to that wing now (2009).

You can stay at any of the other condos on Napili Beach for a lot less than NKBR. But you are getting a quasi beach resort, not just a condo- with towel service, mini-golf, mai t'ai parties, daily maid service, restaurant and bar. So- nothing like the fancy 5 star hotels, and better than most condos.

You either love it or not!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

We stayed here for the second time -- once for a honeymoon about 5 years ago, and this time with our toddler for 7 nights. Very helpful staff, beautiful grounds, excellent beach, decent rooms. From the reviews I've read here, people that are looking for the modern, upscale Resort experience may not care much for Napili Kai, but if you're looking for a classic, old school, resort experience - Napili Kai is probably for you.

One of the best things about Napili Kai is it's location - Napili Bay is protected against over development -- No building can be taller than the trees, so you won't see much in the way of modern development here. It's sort of a time capsule for a simpler, quieter time.

The beach is really nice for swimming, occasionally some bigger waves but using the beach is very calm, and for the most part, sandy, particularly in the middle area. If it's snorkeling you want, a quick walk through the parking lot takes you to Kapalua Beach.

There seemed to be a nice mix of retirees, families and young couples - but overall, it's a really peaceful, quiet place for the most part.

We stayed in the Puna II building, set back from the beach - very secluded and quiet, with an excellent lanai, and remodeled kitchen, but no AC. Did notice a few of the "invisible ants" people wrote about in the reviews, but not a big problem.

Also spent a few nights in the Honolua building, which is right by the beach and the main pool. Still a great view, and AC (which IS nice to have on the hotter days). Kitchen much smaller and not remodeled, but still decent enough to cook lunches and small dinners.

In room Hi Speed internet access via Ethernet cable was great - wireless worked very well in the Puna II room, not so good in the Honolua building.

Someone mentioned in a review that the showerheads weren't adequate to get sand off from the beach, but we had no problem with the showerheads either of us had in our rooms.

Really loved breakfasts at the Sea House restaraunt, and having drinks at the bar. You can't get any closer to the beach!

Overall it was a great experience and we can't wait to get back to Napili Kai for a third visit!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for the first four nights of our trip to Maui, and we loved the hotel. In fact, we liked it a lot better than the "fancy" place we stayed at later in our trip in Wailea. What I liked most about the property is the fact that the buildings are all only two stories high, and the general shape of the buildings blends in nicely with the coastline. It's not one of those giant hunks of concrete stuck on a beach, which is what you get with a lot of the other hotels in Maui.

I was a little nervous when I found out we were on the ground floor, as one of the previous reviewers mentioned a lack of privacy, but I think it really depends on your building. We had an ocean view studio in the Lani 2 building, and our room was completely private, tucked away behind some bushes and a grassy area where nobody walked. The room itself was very pretty, with a very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, and big, beautiful lanai looking out on the water. The kitchenette was well stocked with everything you'd need to cook meals. We were nice and cool at night with the ceiling fan and screen doors.

The beach itself was a little crowded for my taste, but everybody was so happy that you couldn't help but be swept up in it, and I ended up not minding at all. The water was clear and flat while we were there, and the calm water made it a great place to bring kids (and lots of people did). We were able to do some great snorkeling, and we saw several sea turtles!

If there's one negative I can think of, it's that the hotel doesn't rent umbrellas, and there's no shade on the beach in the afternoon -- and the sun is very strong. They had a couple of flimsy umbrellas that had been left by other guests, but they weren't great, and there weren't enough of them. But we managed to find some shade up on the lawn under some trees, so it wasn't too bad if you didn't mind chasing the shadows around with your chair. So if you are on the pale side like me, bring your own umbrella! It will probably be worth the money if you're traveling around to different beaches on the island anyway.

We ate at the restaurant one night and thought the food was pretty good. We returned a few times to the bar for their excellent Mai Tais! We also loved the little pathway going along the rocks next to the hotel.

All in all, I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anybody looking for somewhere beautiful and tranquil in West Maui. I can't wait to go back some day!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.