We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow - what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My first time to Maui and I stayed here July 13, 2013 - July 18, 2013. I just read some of the recent reviews, including a very negative review due to outdated decor in room.

Fortunately, I stayed in a recently renovated room which was lovely. I don't think I would have found Napili Kai worth the money had we not stayed in a renovated room. The location is stunning...on a little bay with a small coral reef.

Things I liked:
- Did not feel nickel-and-dimed; beach towels use is free, snorkels/masks free to rent
- Gas and propane grills available
- Grounds are beautiful and quiet
- Employees are super friendly and helpful
- Love that rooms have full kitchen which helped us save a lot of money on food
- Parking your car is free
- Lovely "trail" past Ritz, DT Flemming beach
- Water sports gear rental (paddle boards, snorkel fins, wave boards) just 2 blocks away
- Couple great restaurants within walking distance
- Lots of beach and pool chairs (you don't need to rush down in the morning and stake out a spot)
- Free coolers and ice to use while you are there

Things I didn't care for:
- Restaurant food was not that good (and not worth the money)
- Room had ants by 4th day (we are not messy or dirty people at all)
- Massage spa was not very good (see my review for Makai Massage) - not worth money

Room Tip: Be sure to get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    118
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
139
279
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

When we checked in, the staff was so friendly and helpful. The resort has an amazing view! It feels very "Hawaiian" -the decor, beautiful flowers, and the way it sits along with the surroundings (not a huge high rise). We loved being so close to the beach and ocean. I loved that they even had solar panels! They had great entertainment from local places. The resort is family friendly as well as romantic if you're there with your special loved one. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Pick one with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this amazing resort from 03th to 07th of July 2013 on our first visit to Hawaii. This is just a paradise with one of the best location of any hotel we have visited. Take a look at my attached photos and you will understand what I am talking about!!

We lived at one of the oldest buildings (room 104). When we opened the door for the first time we thought that the room needed some improvement – but after some time we think that it was just charming!

The great service on this resort makes you feel comfortable. The reception staffs are very friendly and very helpful and there is nothing to complain about the cleaning!

There is also an excellent restaurant on the property (the Sea House restaurant). We enjoy the happy hour from 2pm-5pm :-)

- and yes – it was hard to leave!!! I am writing this review in Honolulu a week later and we are still missing this place. We have to save money to come back again next year all the way from Norway :-)

Best Regards

Svein-Magne Tunli from Bergen, Norway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portsmouth, nh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront studio at Napili Kai that we booked through Donna Bender of MauiCalls. It was absolutely fabulous! I still tell my husband that the oceanfront café/bar has the most spectacular view I've ever seen, and we travel a great deal, nationally and internationally. We can never thank Donna enough for recommending Napili Kai to us, and encouraging us to book the oceanfront studio. Donna is the best!

Room Tip: The oceanfront studio was worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently made a full loop around Maui. We ended our vacation here and my oh my what a disaster. There were two things wrong with this place.

1) The rooms are SEVERELY OUTDATED. Maybe they are in the process of replacing the 70's furniture and Deco but our room wasn't done yet and it was DEPRESSING!!!

2) The second problem is that we felt that each night we were there we were missing the opportunity of a lifetime to stay on the east side of the island where the scenery is beautiful and things grow! Restaurants are actually good AND cheap.

Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best things about this resort are the gorgeous lagoon, the beautiful landscaping and the amazing sunset views. The only thing I would say we did not care for were the outdated rooms. Although clean, our room was in serious need of a make-over. This was a minor thing compared to the great snorkeling right off the lagoon -- we saw sea turtles! And exploring the rocky shore at low tide was a treat. The on-site restaurant was very good and the beautiful flowers everywhere make this resort something special.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was our first time on Maui, we stayed here from June 13 to June 20. It exceeded all of our expectations, in every area! We had the ocean front studio in Puna II, which was literally steps from the water. Our room was fully upgraded and immaculate - fully stocked kitchen, ice maker, coffee maker, blender, toaster, dishwasher, so much other stuff we didn't even use! Housekeeping was exceptional, all the staff were friendly and helpful. The bathroom was small but adequate, bed was comfy, great furniture on the lanai, with nana-type doors that open all the way across. A little beach path leads to the Sea House restaurant and the beach. We ate at Sea House a few times, for lunch, pupus, and breakfast - highly recommend it. The beach is quite popular but there was always space. We saw lots of fish snorkeling there, and a turtle even swam with us twice! The resort provides large beach towels and chairs for the beach (not the lounger type, but still great). You can also check out coolers for the length of your stay. They have free snorkel equipment which we didn't use. Kapalua beach is a 3 minute walk away (they have a stand there that rents chairs, umbrellas, paddle boards, etc etc). Other things close by: Honolua Bay, Merriman's restaurant, the Kapalua coastal trail, and Kaanapali & Lahaina were short drive away. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.