We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very comfortable resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Napili Kai in late February. We enjoyed the camaraderie of the guests that return year after year. The organized putting contests, mai-tai party and especially the Napili Kai's Foundation sponsorship of the Tuesday night polynesian show with local children. The staff was exceptionally social and efficient. The property is clean, being upgraded and has all the necessary activities for guests of all ages.

Room Tip: We preferred the "main" section for convenience reasons mostly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    121
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
142
284
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife, our 10-year-old son, and I really enjoyed 6 days here from March 14-20. The location is perfect, with a wonderful swimming/sunning beach on the premises and a great snorkeling beach just a few steps away. The hotel grounds and our room were impeccable; the service is very helpful and friendly. The restaurant has fabulous views and food that almost (but not quite) matches the views. The restaurant is a good value if you have kids because they can eat off the children's menu for free. My only constructive criticism was that the kids' activities while we were there were all geared to younger children, not 10 year old boys. It worked out fine because we rented a boogie board (the hotel didn't have them) and our son found plenty of things to occupy his time.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to Puna Point due to renovations in the building that contained our original room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chewelah, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were there from March 5-15th, the weather was wonderful and so was the Napili Kai. My only complaint was with Hazel that works at the front desk. She was rude and unprofessionial and she should learn from her coworkers how to deal with the guests. Would have given this place a 5/5 if not for her unfortunatley. Other than her, all the staff was amazing!! The restaurant is one of the best on the Island!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've had the pleasure of frequent visits to Hawaii over the past 15 years, both as a business traveller and a vacationer. Hands down, Napili Kai has my vote for the place that has it all!

Perfectly situated on a idyllic beach, the resort offers excellent swimming, snorkelling and amazing sunsets. We stayed in February, and were treated to daily shows of whale acrobatics seen right from the beach or the waterfront restaurant (no expensive whale-watching boat trips required!). A short walk to the next cove, and you find the turtle hangout - another great snorkelling spot. Every day, the resort offers interesting programs about Hawaiian culture, fun raffles and other events for guests. And the staff is exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable and most accommodating. Without Hulita's help, we would not have been able to obtain a much-coveted reservation for Mama's Fish House on a busy weekend.

The rooms are clean and spacious, with kitchenettes in most. We stayed in Keaka 1. They were in the process of renovating several other buildings, so I can imagine the rooms will be even nicer in terms of decor/design. As other reviewers have said, the happy hour at the Sea House restaurant is a treasure - beautifully prepared food, wide variety, and the best prices on the island.

Best of all, there is a great sense of community, from both the staff as well as the guests (many of whom visit each year) at Napili Kai. Such a joyous place and a perfect location - I will dream of my next visit to the islands and without a doubt, that visit will include me staying at Napili Kai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was astonished at the review by Aggie9797. After reading it, as question came to mind. Did he pick the Napili Kai Beach Resort on his own, or did he use a travel agent? I am a Hawaii Vacation Specialist and I have been sending my clients to the Napili Kai for years. I have never had anyone say one bad thing about it. Yes, there are some who are not interested in this type of property (one with a more 'Hawaiian' atmosphere), and would prefer the bigger, more modern and glitzy properties such as the Westins, Ritz, Hyatt, etc. Those people, I send to those properties and they are quite happy. Clients looking for a very special, less 'busy' atmosphere, I recommend the Napili Kai. I have personally stayed at the Napili Kai about 6 times and I love it more each time. The atmosphere is so relaxing, and the location can't be beat. It sits on lovely, tropical Napili Bay which is perfect for snorkeling, swimming or just relaxing on the beach. As far as not having A/C, it's never been a problem for me in all the times I've stayed there, and believe me, I do not like a warm room. There is always a breeze blowing which keeps the temperature perfect. This is one of my favorite properties in all of Hawaii.

So, please Mr. Aggie9797, next time, stay at the Hyatt, Westin or Sheraton down the road. I think that is what you were expecting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is not a one star hotel but this is the experience I had at Napili Kai. The beautiful bay is what gives it a star at all. For over 600 a night I would expect a few things which I did not receive: friendly staff, a/c, rooms updated in last century, a bar near the pool, some form of waitstaff, or even room service. I guess Im high maintenance. If you like nice resorts and service don't stay here.
In addition, the sea horse restaurant had awful food which made me sick for several days, I have reviewed that lovely experience in more detail as well. Also one star.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Amazing piece of paradise. So beautiful and so very relaxing. You never have to leave as this is the best swimming and snorkeling beach around. The Sea House restuarant serves a great breakfast , lunch and dinner. The happy hour is awesome with $6 drinks and $5 pupus . Lots of activities for the kids. You will find a nice mix of older folks who have been coming for years and families with young children. The free Mai Tai party was great ! If you like to walk everyday then you can't beat the path that takes you along Kapalua Bay with easy access from the resort and breath taking views.

Room Tip: The Lahaina wing offers nice studios with only 20 steps to the sand . You can hear the waves at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.