We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Paradise Found!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've had the pleasure of frequent visits to Hawaii over the past 15 years, both as a business traveller and a vacationer. Hands down, Napili Kai has my vote for the place that has it all!

Perfectly situated on a idyllic beach, the resort offers excellent swimming, snorkelling and amazing sunsets. We stayed in February, and were treated to daily shows of whale acrobatics seen right from the beach or the waterfront restaurant (no expensive whale-watching boat trips required!). A short walk to the next cove, and you find the turtle hangout - another great snorkelling spot. Every day, the resort offers interesting programs about Hawaiian culture, fun raffles and other events for guests. And the staff is exceptionally friendly, knowledgeable and most accommodating. Without Hulita's help, we would not have been able to obtain a much-coveted reservation for Mama's Fish House on a busy weekend.

The rooms are clean and spacious, with kitchenettes in most. We stayed in Keaka 1. They were in the process of renovating several other buildings, so I can imagine the rooms will be even nicer in terms of decor/design. As other reviewers have said, the happy hour at the Sea House restaurant is a treasure - beautifully prepared food, wide variety, and the best prices on the island.

Best of all, there is a great sense of community, from both the staff as well as the guests (many of whom visit each year) at Napili Kai. Such a joyous place and a perfect location - I will dream of my next visit to the islands and without a doubt, that visit will include me staying at Napili Kai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    126
    36
    13
    15
See reviews for
154
295
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I was astonished at the review by Aggie9797. After reading it, as question came to mind. Did he pick the Napili Kai Beach Resort on his own, or did he use a travel agent? I am a Hawaii Vacation Specialist and I have been sending my clients to the Napili Kai for years. I have never had anyone say one bad thing about it. Yes, there are some who are not interested in this type of property (one with a more 'Hawaiian' atmosphere), and would prefer the bigger, more modern and glitzy properties such as the Westins, Ritz, Hyatt, etc. Those people, I send to those properties and they are quite happy. Clients looking for a very special, less 'busy' atmosphere, I recommend the Napili Kai. I have personally stayed at the Napili Kai about 6 times and I love it more each time. The atmosphere is so relaxing, and the location can't be beat. It sits on lovely, tropical Napili Bay which is perfect for snorkeling, swimming or just relaxing on the beach. As far as not having A/C, it's never been a problem for me in all the times I've stayed there, and believe me, I do not like a warm room. There is always a breeze blowing which keeps the temperature perfect. This is one of my favorite properties in all of Hawaii.

So, please Mr. Aggie9797, next time, stay at the Hyatt, Westin or Sheraton down the road. I think that is what you were expecting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is not a one star hotel but this is the experience I had at Napili Kai. The beautiful bay is what gives it a star at all. For over 600 a night I would expect a few things which I did not receive: friendly staff, a/c, rooms updated in last century, a bar near the pool, some form of waitstaff, or even room service. I guess Im high maintenance. If you like nice resorts and service don't stay here.
In addition, the sea horse restaurant had awful food which made me sick for several days, I have reviewed that lovely experience in more detail as well. Also one star.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Amazing piece of paradise. So beautiful and so very relaxing. You never have to leave as this is the best swimming and snorkeling beach around. The Sea House restuarant serves a great breakfast , lunch and dinner. The happy hour is awesome with $6 drinks and $5 pupus . Lots of activities for the kids. You will find a nice mix of older folks who have been coming for years and families with young children. The free Mai Tai party was great ! If you like to walk everyday then you can't beat the path that takes you along Kapalua Bay with easy access from the resort and breath taking views.

Room Tip: The Lahaina wing offers nice studios with only 20 steps to the sand . You can hear the waves at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm not sure why people bother with the Sheraton next door: this place has it all in a much less crowded setting and smaller buildings, at a fraction of the price. Come for the stellar service, the ocean view and lanai for a majority of the rooms, the on-site amenities such as mini-golf, massage, plumeria trees (gentlemen, be sure to put one or two in your lady's hair every morning!), a restaurant that is more than decent; but stay for the beach. Ooh, the beach. It's like a postcard made true, complete with warm sand, tepid water, coconut trees in the sunset (it's oriented to the west), and an amazing reef with all sorts of fish. The hotel rents snorkeling gear if you didn't bring your own. A-maz-ing.

Room Tip: Reserve well in advance, and be sure to book a room with ocean view to enjoy the romantic sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you want the fake waterfalls and swim up bars, go elsewhere. Napili Kai offers genuine Aloha, a beautiful beach, comfortable rooms, good restaurant and wonderful staff. The beds are comfy, the units, many of them newly remodeled, fully equipped kitchens. Perfect for families, accessible for older folks. No rock music blaring by the pool, head to Kaanapali if you want the Las Vegas experience with tiki torches and high rises. Head to Napili Kai to enjoy Aloha. Families return here year after year. Did I mention watching the whales breach just off shore? I hesitate to submit this review, if it means getting harder to book it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

From the moment you walk in the door the view will astound you!! Almost 180 degree ocean view!! Enjoyed our morning coffee from the lanai, watching the humpback whales playing....Life doesn't get much better than this!! Walking distance to 2 amazing beaches- Napili Beach and Kapalua Beach. It was very difficult to leave. We are returning soon! The place is newly remodeled and "GREEN". Saw a wonderful article about the renovation in ISLAND LIVING magazine. Check it out!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.