We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort with an amazing beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Lahaina
Snoqualmie, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great resort with an amazing beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a week at Napili Kai Beach Resort and had a wonderful time. Our room and the grounds were clean and well maintained. We had an ocean view room and the view was wonderful and you could listen to the sound of the ocean at night. The beach is amazing. All but one day conditions were perfect and safe for the kids to play in the ocean all day. Pools are small but the beach is so good you shouldn't be at the pool. All of the resort staff were very friendly and helpful. They have daily talks and activities that are complimentary to guests...our kids enjoyed making leis. The only downside was one of the concierges was very unpleasant...to the point we almost turned around and cancelled the items we had booked. The other concierge was very friendly when we stopped to ask questions, so were were suprised at the rudeness of the other one when we went to book activities.

Room Tip: A lot of posts talk abount getting a room with air conditioning. We didn't have air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    118
    34
    11
    15
See reviews for
139
279
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Great location overlooking a very nice beach. Snorkeling is OK. Staff other than the concierge was pleasant. The accommodate the smokers with an area where you can have a cocktail and a cigar. Most of the rooms have an excellent view. Fun putting green.

Room Tip: Look for offers on Living Social
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Napili Kai Beach Resort is a wonderful place to vacation. Perfect for families with or without children. Staff is so friendly and helps you in any way they can. Activities include 9 hole putting green for children,18 hole for adults, shuffle board, bocci ball and also the use of masks and snorkels. Scenery is out of this world with Molokai and Lanai in view. Rooms were very clean, bed was so comfy and cozy. Our in room kitchenette had all of the amenities to allow us to have a meal without going out everyday to eat and was completely staffed with dishes, silverware, glasses, pots and pans , toaster, coffee pot and blender not to mention a full size refrig and two burner stove with microwave. Lanai was a wonderful spot to just relax and take some awesome pictures from ! My husband and I will more than likely return to have another wonderful vacation at the Napili Kai in the future !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Napili Kai is on target for the true pleasures of a Maui vacation. Napili and Kapalua beaches are awesome! Paddle board, snorkel, swim, and sun yourself in bliss. A great mix of waves and calm. Sorry - no huge towers, crowds, and Vegas style attractions. Classic dinning and in-room amenities that allow you to chill in peace. Ocean and beach views to die for. The rooms in Puna buildings were fab! Well appointed, clean and roomy. Sea House restaurant is solid, and for those willing to splurge a bit, Merriman's next door is a Zagat 26 for a reason. We had dinner out, but it was great having simple breakfast and lunch on the balcony overlooking the bay. Nothing like great Kona coffee in your robe on the balcony. Sunsets - perfect location. This resort exceeded our expectations - matching or topping some of our great experiences at other great destinations like Thailand or Cozumel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Napili Kai is the perfect place for a family getaway! Great beach, lots of family friendly activities (18 hole putting green, shuffle board, baci ball, and more. Great snorkeling in Napili Bay (we see turtles every time!), but close to other snorkeling sites such as DT Fleming Beach. The staff is unbelievably friendly and accommodating. An easy drive to Kaanapali or Lahaina, or a short walk to Kapalua. You'll want to come back again and again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just loved our trip to Napili Kai Everything was perfect! It is hard to be dissatisfied in Maui , but I really would recommend this place to everyone young ,old and in between ... So beautiful with Molokai and Lanai in the distance .The snorkeling at the Hotel beach was quite good and very safe. The Ritz next door to the north also had a great cove for the same. I would definatley go back as soon as possible. We also stayed a week in Molokai at Wavecrest which was a lot of fun. Hawaii there is still like it was before all us tourists arrived.We could see Napili from our Condo! We can't wait to check out Lanai next. happy trails

Room Tip: The restaurant at the hotel was very good with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we loved the Napili Kai Resort. Swim in the bay, snorkel the reef, swim in the pool, sit on the beach. Each option is fabulous.

This a quiet, family beach resort with swimming, miniture golf, a 5 star resturant (Sea House) loacted on private bay with its' own reef. :ocated on the west shore of Maui, near the large town of Lahina.

An excellent gem with many options to fill your vacation time.

We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent on the bay side of the resort. The second floor has the best unrestr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.