We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and reasonable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Lahaina
Santa Margarita, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tranquil and reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I just loved our trip to Napili Kai Everything was perfect! It is hard to be dissatisfied in Maui , but I really would recommend this place to everyone young ,old and in between ... So beautiful with Molokai and Lanai in the distance .The snorkeling at the Hotel beach was quite good and very safe. The Ritz next door to the north also had a great cove for the same. I would definatley go back as soon as possible. We also stayed a week in Molokai at Wavecrest which was a lot of fun. Hawaii there is still like it was before all us tourists arrived.We could see Napili from our Condo! We can't wait to check out Lanai next. happy trails

Room Tip: The restaurant at the hotel was very good with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    117
    32
    11
    15
See reviews for
136
273
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we loved the Napili Kai Resort. Swim in the bay, snorkel the reef, swim in the pool, sit on the beach. Each option is fabulous.

This a quiet, family beach resort with swimming, miniture golf, a 5 star resturant (Sea House) loacted on private bay with its' own reef. :ocated on the west shore of Maui, near the large town of Lahina.

An excellent gem with many options to fill your vacation time.

We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent on the bay side of the resort. The second floor has the best unrestr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I travel to Hawaii often and by far we enjoy Maui for all that it has to offer. Hiking, scuba diving, snorkeling and morning runs on the many boardwalks.
Napili Kai Beach Resort is a little gem that hugs around Napili Bay. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling off the shore is FANTASTIC. It is not crowded (per say). I guess the crowd differential would depend on your time of travel.
We always stay in the condo units and like to have access to the kitchenette. Having said that the Sea House restaurant which is part of the resort has really exceptional foods and selections.
I love the location of the resort becauae you are still close enough to access all your activities but far enough away to enjoy aloha!!
It's family friendly and also provides the exclusivity that couples are looking for.
I hope this review helps you with your Maui resort choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Napili Kai in 2007 for our honeymoon and immediately decided this is where we would spend our 5 year anniversary. Coming back 5 years later it was still the friendly, beautiful resort we remembered. The staff is wonderful and we got some great tips of places to eat and sites to see. We love that it's not a high rise resort and it's a smaller more intimate place to stay. The beach is beautiful and both times we have seen turtles. Some of the rooms were recently updated and while our room was clean it was a little dated. I'm sure there are plans to update all the buildings and hopefully for our next trip we'll get to experience that. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honolua building, Studio room and liked the location of our room. We were in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our families stayed at this great little resort for the second half of a one week reunion in Maui. We started the trip at the Hyatt in Kaanapali for the large resort experience and their terrific pool complex for the kids, complete with waterfalls and waterslide. If you like the splash of a big resort, the Hyatt's for you. We much preferred the very quiet beach and serene Napili Bay at this low key resort. It turns out there was plenty for the kids to do and it has one of the most beautiful snorkeling and swimming spots on the island. The beach was perfect white sand and the rooms are located just a short walk from any of the several building around the property. We stayed in Puna I and II, which is out on the cliffs of the bay, with beautiful views and you can even watch the sea turtles swimming in he bay below! We really loved the Sea House restaurant for drinks at their open air bar that faces out onto the beach. Instead of one large main pool, this resort has several smaller pools throughout, which makes it easy to take a refreshing dip anytime of the day. We also had fun at the 18 hole putting green, which is perfectly maintained and the course seemed to change every day we were there. Putters, balls and scorecards are provided complimentary right next to the greens. The beautiful grounds are meticulously maintained and plumeria trees line many of the walkways, including the small parking areas by each of the buildings. You can really save money by preparing your own meals in the well equipt kitchenette units, and the adjoining room option worked out perfect for us. We really LOVED this place and look forward to a return visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in Napili Bay previously but not at this resort. After staying here I will not stay anywhere else in Napili. The resort grounds are beautiful. The resort has daily/evening socials like Mai Tai social, Grammy winning slack guitar concert, lei making. All snorkel, beach and pool equipment is provided. There is a paddle board rental delivery/pick-up from a local dive shop (rental is same price as other dive shops too). Professional 18 hole putting green, bocce ball greens, massage services and the snorkeling is amazing. Napili Beach was by far the cleanest, pure white sand beach around. The onsite restaurant, Sea House Restaurant, had a nice open air bar/music plus we had one of our best meals there. Staff was wonderful and went the extra mile. I would recommend the Honolua Building because is 20ft from the pool and 40ft from the beach. Incredible view and room has AC.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Living Social deal. The hotel is excellent, the staff is very friendly. We were very pleased with our room which was a Studio with Ocean View. It was great to wake up to the sound of the ocean and the view or just have a short walk to the beach. We also saw some turtles in the water close to the rocks.
Car Parking was free which can be limited depending on the time of the day as its also shared with people who visit the Restaurant on site. Only complain is poor wifi in room, it sometimes worked and had to go to lobby area for good wifi reception. Our overall experience was great and we shall be back on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#6 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.