We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Maui” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Maui”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Maui and we loved the Napili Kai Resort. Swim in the bay, snorkel the reef, swim in the pool, sit on the beach. Each option is fabulous.

This a quiet, family beach resort with swimming, miniture golf, a 5 star resturant (Sea House) loacted on private bay with its' own reef. :ocated on the west shore of Maui, near the large town of Lahina.

An excellent gem with many options to fill your vacation time.

We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent on the bay side of the resort. The second floor has the best unrestr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    123
    34
    13
    15
See reviews for
147
287
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I travel to Hawaii often and by far we enjoy Maui for all that it has to offer. Hiking, scuba diving, snorkeling and morning runs on the many boardwalks.
Napili Kai Beach Resort is a little gem that hugs around Napili Bay. The beach is beautiful and the snorkeling off the shore is FANTASTIC. It is not crowded (per say). I guess the crowd differential would depend on your time of travel.
We always stay in the condo units and like to have access to the kitchenette. Having said that the Sea House restaurant which is part of the resort has really exceptional foods and selections.
I love the location of the resort becauae you are still close enough to access all your activities but far enough away to enjoy aloha!!
It's family friendly and also provides the exclusivity that couples are looking for.
I hope this review helps you with your Maui resort choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at Napili Kai in 2007 for our honeymoon and immediately decided this is where we would spend our 5 year anniversary. Coming back 5 years later it was still the friendly, beautiful resort we remembered. The staff is wonderful and we got some great tips of places to eat and sites to see. We love that it's not a high rise resort and it's a smaller more intimate place to stay. The beach is beautiful and both times we have seen turtles. Some of the rooms were recently updated and while our room was clean it was a little dated. I'm sure there are plans to update all the buildings and hopefully for our next trip we'll get to experience that. I can't imagine staying anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honolua building, Studio room and liked the location of our room. We were in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our families stayed at this great little resort for the second half of a one week reunion in Maui. We started the trip at the Hyatt in Kaanapali for the large resort experience and their terrific pool complex for the kids, complete with waterfalls and waterslide. If you like the splash of a big resort, the Hyatt's for you. We much preferred the very quiet beach and serene Napili Bay at this low key resort. It turns out there was plenty for the kids to do and it has one of the most beautiful snorkeling and swimming spots on the island. The beach was perfect white sand and the rooms are located just a short walk from any of the several building around the property. We stayed in Puna I and II, which is out on the cliffs of the bay, with beautiful views and you can even watch the sea turtles swimming in he bay below! We really loved the Sea House restaurant for drinks at their open air bar that faces out onto the beach. Instead of one large main pool, this resort has several smaller pools throughout, which makes it easy to take a refreshing dip anytime of the day. We also had fun at the 18 hole putting green, which is perfectly maintained and the course seemed to change every day we were there. Putters, balls and scorecards are provided complimentary right next to the greens. The beautiful grounds are meticulously maintained and plumeria trees line many of the walkways, including the small parking areas by each of the buildings. You can really save money by preparing your own meals in the well equipt kitchenette units, and the adjoining room option worked out perfect for us. We really LOVED this place and look forward to a return visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed in Napili Bay previously but not at this resort. After staying here I will not stay anywhere else in Napili. The resort grounds are beautiful. The resort has daily/evening socials like Mai Tai social, Grammy winning slack guitar concert, lei making. All snorkel, beach and pool equipment is provided. There is a paddle board rental delivery/pick-up from a local dive shop (rental is same price as other dive shops too). Professional 18 hole putting green, bocce ball greens, massage services and the snorkeling is amazing. Napili Beach was by far the cleanest, pure white sand beach around. The onsite restaurant, Sea House Restaurant, had a nice open air bar/music plus we had one of our best meals there. Staff was wonderful and went the extra mile. I would recommend the Honolua Building because is 20ft from the pool and 40ft from the beach. Incredible view and room has AC.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Living Social deal. The hotel is excellent, the staff is very friendly. We were very pleased with our room which was a Studio with Ocean View. It was great to wake up to the sound of the ocean and the view or just have a short walk to the beach. We also saw some turtles in the water close to the rocks.
Car Parking was free which can be limited depending on the time of the day as its also shared with people who visit the Restaurant on site. Only complain is poor wifi in room, it sometimes worked and had to go to lobby area for good wifi reception. Our overall experience was great and we shall be back on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a couple years ago in a studio on the Lani 2 building and came back for a week in early October to celebrate our anniversary. We booked our most recent stay via their website, but went for a flight and car package which ended up being on Expedia. The intention was to stay in a studio again, but we booked the "hotel room" by mistake, and then could not make changes over the phone or online. I read many reviews from guests who insisted on being upgraded to Puna Point, but decided to find out what it was like to stay in one of the older areas and did not request an upgrade. The rooms in the Aloha bldg were being renovated during our visit. We stayed in the Keaka 1 bldg overlooking the large putting green and had a view of the pool and ocean from the lanai. The room was large and had wireless internet access, a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, coffee pot, table with chairs and a sofa. The bathroom had two sinks, a spa tub and a great strong hot shower. We got some mildew growing high up in the otherwise spotless shower a few days into our stay, so I called housekeeping and while we were out having fun they took care of the problem. We had air conditioning but only used it late afternoon a couple times due to an unusual weather pattern keeping trade winds away. Normally we opened the windows and had good air circulation or used the ceiling fan. So anyway, there we were in one of the least expensive accomodations they have, and we were treated like royalty during our entire visit. The front desk staff were very friendly and good at dealing with exhausted travelers. The maids always smiled and greeted us warmly. The Sea House restaurant created a special dessert for our anniversary dinner, and the staff at the beach hut were great at preparing snacks and drinks. The grounds are very well maintained with lush tropical plants and beautiful palm trees. We looked around and decided Kaanapali also has a great beach but it's very crowded and busy feeling. The beach at Napili Bay has a steep shoreline, so not fabulous for romantic strolls, but everyone just has fun at this beach. It's very family friendly, and all the children were well behaved. All ages from seniors to babies seem happier at Napili Kai Beach Resort. Next time we visit we will be careful to select a studio so we will have a kitchen but really won't worry about which building or about air conditioning. This beautiful low key resort provides for a very relaxing island stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#9 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.