We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we were looking for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Napili Kai Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Napili Kai Beach Resort to your Saves list
Napili Kai Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Novato
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Everything we were looking for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our families stayed at this great little resort for the second half of a one week reunion in Maui. We started the trip at the Hyatt in Kaanapali for the large resort experience and their terrific pool complex for the kids, complete with waterfalls and waterslide. If you like the splash of a big resort, the Hyatt's for you. We much preferred the very quiet beach and serene Napili Bay at this low key resort. It turns out there was plenty for the kids to do and it has one of the most beautiful snorkeling and swimming spots on the island. The beach was perfect white sand and the rooms are located just a short walk from any of the several building around the property. We stayed in Puna I and II, which is out on the cliffs of the bay, with beautiful views and you can even watch the sea turtles swimming in he bay below! We really loved the Sea House restaurant for drinks at their open air bar that faces out onto the beach. Instead of one large main pool, this resort has several smaller pools throughout, which makes it easy to take a refreshing dip anytime of the day. We also had fun at the 18 hole putting green, which is perfectly maintained and the course seemed to change every day we were there. Putters, balls and scorecards are provided complimentary right next to the greens. The beautiful grounds are meticulously maintained and plumeria trees line many of the walkways, including the small parking areas by each of the buildings. You can really save money by preparing your own meals in the well equipt kitchenette units, and the adjoining room option worked out perfect for us. We really LOVED this place and look forward to a return visit!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    134
    36
    14
    15
See reviews for
160
305
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I've stayed in Napili Bay previously but not at this resort. After staying here I will not stay anywhere else in Napili. The resort grounds are beautiful. The resort has daily/evening socials like Mai Tai social, Grammy winning slack guitar concert, lei making. All snorkel, beach and pool equipment is provided. There is a paddle board rental delivery/pick-up from a local dive shop (rental is same price as other dive shops too). Professional 18 hole putting green, bocce ball greens, massage services and the snorkeling is amazing. Napili Beach was by far the cleanest, pure white sand beach around. The onsite restaurant, Sea House Restaurant, had a nice open air bar/music plus we had one of our best meals there. Staff was wonderful and went the extra mile. I would recommend the Honolua Building because is 20ft from the pool and 40ft from the beach. Incredible view and room has AC.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Living Social deal. The hotel is excellent, the staff is very friendly. We were very pleased with our room which was a Studio with Ocean View. It was great to wake up to the sound of the ocean and the view or just have a short walk to the beach. We also saw some turtles in the water close to the rocks.
Car Parking was free which can be limited depending on the time of the day as its also shared with people who visit the Restaurant on site. Only complain is poor wifi in room, it sometimes worked and had to go to lobby area for good wifi reception. Our overall experience was great and we shall be back on our next visit to Maui!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here a couple years ago in a studio on the Lani 2 building and came back for a week in early October to celebrate our anniversary. We booked our most recent stay via their website, but went for a flight and car package which ended up being on Expedia. The intention was to stay in a studio again, but we booked the "hotel room" by mistake, and then could not make changes over the phone or online. I read many reviews from guests who insisted on being upgraded to Puna Point, but decided to find out what it was like to stay in one of the older areas and did not request an upgrade. The rooms in the Aloha bldg were being renovated during our visit. We stayed in the Keaka 1 bldg overlooking the large putting green and had a view of the pool and ocean from the lanai. The room was large and had wireless internet access, a flat screen TV, small refrigerator, coffee pot, table with chairs and a sofa. The bathroom had two sinks, a spa tub and a great strong hot shower. We got some mildew growing high up in the otherwise spotless shower a few days into our stay, so I called housekeeping and while we were out having fun they took care of the problem. We had air conditioning but only used it late afternoon a couple times due to an unusual weather pattern keeping trade winds away. Normally we opened the windows and had good air circulation or used the ceiling fan. So anyway, there we were in one of the least expensive accomodations they have, and we were treated like royalty during our entire visit. The front desk staff were very friendly and good at dealing with exhausted travelers. The maids always smiled and greeted us warmly. The Sea House restaurant created a special dessert for our anniversary dinner, and the staff at the beach hut were great at preparing snacks and drinks. The grounds are very well maintained with lush tropical plants and beautiful palm trees. We looked around and decided Kaanapali also has a great beach but it's very crowded and busy feeling. The beach at Napili Bay has a steep shoreline, so not fabulous for romantic strolls, but everyone just has fun at this beach. It's very family friendly, and all the children were well behaved. All ages from seniors to babies seem happier at Napili Kai Beach Resort. Next time we visit we will be careful to select a studio so we will have a kitchen but really won't worry about which building or about air conditioning. This beautiful low key resort provides for a very relaxing island stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Good luck on this one. I tried booking a renovated room - like pulling teeth. At first they refused to guarantee a renovated room. Why pay for an unknown? Why run the risk of getting a tired old room. Then they finally relented. I then attempted to get them to cough up the info on their specials - they certainly wouldn't volunteer this even though it's posted on their web page. Buyer beware.... I ended up going elsewhere to a resort that was much more accommodating and straight forward. Who needs the brain damage?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

When booking our recent trip to Maui I told my husband not to book a Las Vegas style hotel. I wanted a hotel with Old Hawaii feel. Boy did we win the lottery. I can't say enough about this property. We stayed in the new building Puna 2. Wow granite counter tops, stainless appliances, spacious bathroom and the best ocean view with big relaxing balcony chairs and your glass doors fold all the way back so you can open the room wide. The Sea House the best happy hour on the island and dinner too. Rosita was in charge of our room and did a superb job. All the hotel staff made us feel at home. Loved the resident Cat's. We loved seeing them great us by our room every night and morning.
A big shout out to Kimberly and Melissa for all your hospitality is #1. Loved the Mai Tai get together and you get to meet all the hotel staff.

Room Tip: ask for puna 2 or puna point
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

I struggled whether to write this positive review on TripAdvisor, due my own selfish desire not to attract too many people to this gem. Then, I realized that I'm not Oprah, and therefore don't carry too much sway with the general population of America.

Napili Kai is sitting smack-dab on top of a beautiful bay, naturally sheltered from the currents and swells. Great for snorkeling, paddle boarding, and general beach fun.

The restaurant is pretty good, definitely grab a couple pork tacos...best I've had in a while. Rent some snorkeling gear from one of the shops within walking distance, and take in the pretty fishes and sea turtles 50 yards off the beach...nice!

If you can swing it, and looking for a relaxed atmosphere for a family vacation, this is the place to stay in or around Lahaina.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Napili Kai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napili Kai Beach Resort

Address: 5900 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Napili Kai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation-style Resort on secluded beach; 3 miles from Kapalua-West Maui Arpt; 9 mi from Lahaina & 36 mi from Kahului Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Napili Kai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napili Kai Beach Hotel Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Lahaina
Napili Kai Beach Resort Maui/Lahaina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Napili Kai Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.